Wants to wear your shoes...Not awkward at all

in #humor5 years ago

I heard somewhere yesterday (on the interwebs) that the Queen of England has a person whose job it is to wear her shoes and break them in prior to the Queen wearing them. I’m not sure how legit that information is because…Well, how legit is any information these days? It sounds legit though, I mean it sort of sounds like something a person of royal stature might do.

Thinking about it at first I thought it might be a little precious of old queenie to employ someone to do that although on further thought I figure why the hell not? It’s not her fault she was born into a royal family and so she may as well make the most of it right? Lord knows it can be so annoying to break in your own shoes right? Also, it provides employment for some poor sod who otherwise might not have a job. So, it’s not all bad I guess. I wonder who the official Royal shoe breaker-inner may be and what sort of qualifications they may need. The same foot size and shape to old queenie for one I’d say!

This morsel of [legit/non-legit] information made me think about what I would employ someone to do for me if I could. I don’t mean someone to mow the lawn or wash my car though, I mean on a more base level, more personally. You know, back in ye olden days royalty and nobles would employ (or force) someone to actually taste their food to ensure it was safe to eat prior to consuming it, so that’s what I’m talking about. What thing of a personal nature, a fundamental thing, would I employ someone to do? Of course it’s all speculative and “just for fun” as I don’t have the funds to employ someone to do such tasks…But if I did? Here’s a few things they'd be doing, including their actual titles:

Couch-spot readier – This person would need to have the identical body shape, height and weight as me. Their job entails pre-preparing my spot on the couch in my lounge room including warming, positioning of cushions and of course most critically, the correct shape and depth of the bum-depression.

Corn chip crumb collator - How annoying are those little crumbs of corn chips that collect in the bottom of the packet or bowl? They drop everywhere when one tries to pick them up and eat them, are too small to enjoy individually so a collection of them is required and they are a bugger to dip into the salsa. Well, that’s a thing of the past with a corn chip collator on-board! This person’s sole function is to collect these offending crumbs into a clump suitable for my consumption. Yeah I know right? Who wouldn’t want that job?!

Clothing warmer - Ever wished your clothing was nice and toasty when you get dressed on those cool winter mornings? Well, wish no longer! This person’s function is to wear all of my clothes prior to me putting them on (shoes included). When I am ready to dress they remove the item, hand it to me and BOOM, it’s warm and toasty.

I’m not royalty, at least not as far as I am aware, however if I was here’s three position’s I’d need filled. Sure, it might seem a bit lazy of me but think about the three people who would be gainfully employed because of my laziness. I mean if it’s ok for the Queen of England to have a shoe breaker-inner then why can’t I have my corn chip crumbs presented in a more edible and easy-to-consume manner?

I’m curious about what some of you may have your employees do as well, if you had the ability. Maybe you’d have a pubic-hair-picker to remove said hair from cakes of soap on your behalf or even someone to wipe that eye-booger from your eyes when you wake up in the morning? I’m sure there’s someone out there who would be happy to get paid to do that job.

As for the queen…Well, I’m sure she has many more important things to do than break in her own shoes so I’m not surprised that she has somebody else do it for her. It would be interesting to know what other tasks she delegates out however for me I’m just happy to know there’s a shoe-breaking-in industry and that it’s alive and well. Feel free to comment with your own tasks you’d like to delegate out. The crazier the better to be honest because I want a laugh! Oh, I thought I should clarify...I do not think the legs in the image belong to the queen, but I'm pretty sure the lad in the image is indeed the queen's shoe breaker-inner!

Image by dynamic77creation on Pixaby

Sort:  

Easy! During winter a toilet seat warmer! LOL! You can reallly get your imagination going here if you think about it!

Oh yeah...Good call! I bet the queen has one of them...Donald Trump and Richard Branson too...

Posted using Partiko Android

I would happily be your Tikka/Kahles tester, and break it in well for you so your pristine shoulder did not have to take the wear.
:)

I was just thinking I need one of those! 😂

I was load-developing yesterday (post coming soon) and have a sore shoulder today...

Posted using Partiko Android

All mine are NSFW, so I won't be telling you...

Yeah, I figured there's be a few of those...Maybe the queen has some too?

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol haha :)

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hmm, a bed warmer. This person makes sure the sheets are toasty before I get in.

:)

Or maybe just clean the kitchen and make dinner. I really don't like cooking.

Another perfectly legit employment opportunity for someone...Official bed warmer! I don't like making dinner either...But I love eating it! 🤔😋

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope the shoe breaker-in person doesn’t have athletic foot. Poor Queen might catch a foot fungus. Personally I don’t like putting my feet into shoes or slippers other than my own.

Maybe the queen has someone who suffers the foot fungus on her behalf? 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I am imagining that the queen has hired someone to carefully inspect her hired shoe breaker-inner before each breaking-in. Like maybe the feet are first examined with a magnifying glass for impurities, then bathed in rose water - that sort of thing.

I would not require a shoe breaker-inner. I would save those funds for the person that is going to carry me from the couch to bed every night when I decide I am too exhausted to walk there. Finding someone should be easy - no experience necessary, just needs to look something like the guy pictured above.

Haha...Yeah, she probably does the small test too!

So, off-to-bed-carrier...Sounds like you have high standards...You'll probably get a lot of applications though. A good example of another good employment opportunity for someone to perform this necessary task. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I'd take a chauffeur, but I get nervous being passenger; I'd rather drive. If I had somebody in the back, reading posts to me and typing/posting my responses as I drive, that'd be cool. Hey honey, is that your brother's old place coming up on the left?

🤔😂 Yep, I want one of them too! I could use them to answer dum dum questions at work as well.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.417 which ranks you at #2241 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2245).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 199 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97