You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The day my new husband slpit his trousers!

in #humour5 years ago

Funny memories. I keep on meeting many new words. Yet I think I understand why I meet some many of them in your writing. You are South African and I bet the word usage over there is slightly different than in the US. Don't you think?

Sort:  

Absolutely Mgaft1.
I am of British descent so I speak what we think is the King's English........not that it is superior in any way, just more formal/proper. I'm intrigued by the grammar that people in the US use. The word 'gotten' is not a word in my opinion but it is also being used more and more by kids and even in the written word.
Everything must change and even I enjoy some slang expressions. Good for fun but not for serious writing.
All the best with your writing and photographs.

Ah... That's what it is. For a non-native speaker, as I am, all English is a novelty: King's English or peasant's English. Though since I live in the US I am more accustomed to Americanisms. There's also a proper American English and a folksy way to say things. And I ain't no all of it, too. )

I do feel certain propriety in your writing as if you sit on a chair with a very straight back and drink tea, holding the china cup with two fingers. )

hahahahaha! Yes, I do try to sit with a very straight back. I see so many retired people looking 10 years older than they are because they slouch....noses drooping onto their concave chests!
When I catch sight of myself in a shop window for instance I want to look sprightly and on my toes, not as though I'm about to keel over into my grave.
Thank you for the laugh! You have assessed my quite accurately.
I have however, a very naughty streak in my personality and love funny jokes, even when they are played on me.
Your English is pretty good. My second and third languages are ok but I cannot write in them as you do in English.
Well done.

You definitely have a funny bone in you! Though it is very dry humor as British humor supposed to be. My favorite is Winston S. Churchill's quote
“My tastes are simple: I am easily satisfied with the best.”

I wish I could give you good advice, but I am puzzled myself. It's as if some users are only allowed a certain number of views and that's that.

I am here from 2016 and it used to be a nice place to accumulate cryptocurrency. My short stories used to make (+/-)$20 each. Right now it's a hit and miss. Although misseses happen much more often than hits. A couple of weeks ago I wrote a quite silly story for a prompt and it unexpectedly made me $15 bucks or so and lots of views. By now I cannot understand why? So, I don't know. If I ever figure it out I will undoubtedly tell you.

Cheer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82