Week Five of Flower Garden Update.

in #hydroponic6 years ago (edited)


Hello all,

I wanted to share some photos with you in regards to my first indoor hydro grow. I hope the quality is up to par.

I hope these sights bring as much joy to your heart as it does mine. I think I have found a calling. I want this to eventually be my main source of income so I can donate as much time as possible to what I enjoy doing the most, growing.

I learned a lot in this grow. For instance the value of a 55 gallon drum for sure. It's crazy how much water these things intake. I'm at about 30 gallons a week of water alone.

I as well learned the value of monitoring the ppms in the drum. The plants intake of water was so high that it was common for the ppms to Spike to the point I had to move and replace the water at times to level out the intensity.

I did burn my plants a little. I caught it and fixed it in time to where only the edges burned. Which honestly has been my only hardehip so far for my first grow.

The pH level, as well, had to be monitored. While I was on a drip system (during flower only), I dripped through a two inch layer of hydroton and into the rest of a two gallon smart pot filled of a 70/30 coco perlite mix.

I do not suggest smart pots used for a drip system until at least the second week of flower (after the stretch). Hand water till then or the roots will grow out of the pots and split it at the seems. It is a pain in the ass so make sure to use bigger than 2 gallon pots no matter what. Maybe fives would make watering and feeding less difficult.

Well I hope this helps some. Any comments are highly appreciated. And thanks in advance for any upvotes. Enjoy the night. Special thanks to #modernmom420 for all your help while I was away at work.

Sort:  

Loving that! first time hydro?! im waiting (un) patiently to get the chance to have my first go also! but maybe not this year lol :(

I put this post up for curation to @canna-curate for you.. Welcome to Steemit and keep them posts coming ! You were growing in soil \ coco before?

Oh yeah, good luck on getting that grow going. I think I'm gonna put up a post about how I started my grow from bag seed with no capitol at all. Weed only gets better with improvments of course, but it's alot like sex; when it's good it's good, when it's bad it's still good. Lol

I grew in soil outdoors. Took the money raised from that to provide capital for indoors. This is my first coco grow ever! Pretty exciting too. They grow super fast!
Thanks for sharing this post. I'm still pretty new to the platform and learning everyday. I am going to check out @canna-curate right now.
Thanks again!

The prettiest plants in all of the land 🤩

Believe and ye shall smoketh what you sowed. 🤣

All those plants are beautiful! Would not have guessed it was your first hydro grow. Well done sir! 👏🏆👍

Thanks... Much appreciated!

Great Job :)

I would use non-fiberous ties in the future. You're doing a smashing job for a new grower. Congrats :D

Your right about the trellis. I had already spent my money on the bigger items. I will upgrade for sure on the next cycle. Thanks for the heads up though it was not on the top of my mind.

Yeah these cords mess up the buds a bit, cause the leave the fibre everywhere. I learnt the hard way :)

Didn't think about that... Did you have to do anything special to fix that... I'm almost done flower at this point.

You got a 6.96% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @liquid-mike!

Congratulations you've been chosen by our curators at Canna-Curate for great cannabis content! If you'd like to join our curation trail or delegate steem power you can see how and the benefits here. Or if you'd just like to have a chat about cannabis you can join us on our discord server Steem Powered Cannabis

SPC Banner2.png

I really do appreciate that. Thank you and I believe I started following you guys yesterday. I will double check though. Thank you.

Welcome to steemit cannabis community! So you started outdoor and went indoor. My story is the opposite, I started indoor and the went outdoor... but I had to go back to indoor eventually due to legal reasons :)

Yeah the outdoor setup I had just wasn't what I needed to grow quality bud. It was good weed, but bottom shelf at best.

I also wanted to move indoors so I could have a more consistent supply for my patients and the local dispensaries. Trying to build relationships with them all.

The legalities are killing me. I feel ya though.

Looking good! Well done!

ENJOY!

We do look forward to drying and curing. I honestly in pretty good on my skills last year but I have been looking up a drying box setup to extend the drying. The humidity was so low last fall that it had to be Jarred by day three and it really ate into the taste of the bud. It did smell as good as top shelf... The high just wasn't what it would have been.
It's a much better grow this time around... Almost stress free! Knock on wood.

I see... happy for you! ;)

I meant to write, I got pretty good on my skills last year due to all the problems I had to overcome. It created good muscle memory. I realized after reading this I was too high to be on here at that time writing lol.

Congratulations @cannabisguy420! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Looks nice..

You can always send me a sample :)

I wish I could. Maybe one day the government will be able to see their evil ways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70