DIY gardening- - Indoor wall NFT hydroponic system

in #hydroponics6 years ago

Have to give it up to up to @CarpeDimus.. his post on NFT builds definitely inspired me to build one myself=)
If you like DIY projects, this is definitely a fun one. Overall I'm pretty happy with the design, and maybe would make only make some small changes for any future builds.

IMG_3610.JPG

I like to take time to plan things in my head before doing the work, focusing on the what the end design should look like and then thinking through each step to get there before diving into the project. Its a really fun process for me.

IMG_3559.JPG

IMG_3568.JPG

IMG_3577.JPG

Transplanted these lettuce and herb seedlings from a humidity dome and T5 light. They spent a day or so under these cups to help with the transition to a new environment and brighter LEDs.

IMG_3595.JPG
IMG_3591.JPG

Used these amazing 4' led bar lights from Thrive Agritech. They were generous enough to send me a few to work with to consider stocking at our hydro store. I initially reached out to them because these lights have one of the highest efficiency ratings (2.2 umols/joule) and each light is only 58 watts. I'm also really impressed at the spectrum and ability to observe and spend time with the plants without the lights hurting your eyes.

IMG_3611.JPG

IMG_3612.JPG

IMG_3614.JPG

This is my first time working with NFT, so I'm looking forward to seeing how things turn out=)

Let me know what you think! For you experienced growers, what were the issues that first came up with working with NFT? What lettuce and herbs have you worked with that grow best in non-climate controlled environments?

Thanks a ton for your upvotes and comments. Find me also at our Green Dragon website or facebook

Hope to hear from you!

Sort:  

That’s an impressive looking set up fantastic, cheers mike

thanks mike!

Hello @guanyu,

I know I am a bit late, I was feeling a bit sick this week and didnt had a chance to check out your post till now.

Awesome work my friend and I am happy to hear that my post inspired you to finally put your skills to work!

I also wanted to tell you that I picked your post for my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest in association with Minnow Support Project.

Your post will get an Upvote and a RESTEEM by @msp-curation bot!

Thanks for writing awesome content and if you have some time, make sure to check out some of the other posts from this week.

Sustainability Curation Digest #4 👨‍🌾🌼👩‍🌾 by Carpedimus - MSP

Keep up with the great work :) and thanks for sharing!

Thanks for the inspiration my friend👍👊 Hope you feel better soon!

Great job

Wow, this looks really great! Imagine this green wall right into your kitchen!
Amazing job! Congrats!!

thanks @mdosev! as the technology and sustainability improves hopefully more people will grow their own food like this=)

It would be really nice... at least you will know where your vegetables and herbs are coming from!

Dude, this is an amazing setup. I'm gonna check it out and see how can I adopt it and adapt it to my garden.
Got any specs on the machine you use to distribute nutrients?

thanks for saying @albertozambrano👊 there is just a submersible pump in the reservoir below that lifts the water to the top by the small pipe on the left. I'm using a 400 gph pump that is adjustable and dialed back a little to make a slow, steady flow of solution which drains back into the res.

Followed✅ Upvoted✅ Resteemed✅

Please Follow https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68