You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Steemit X-Prize - A Competition to Brainstorm Ideas for Promotion and Marketing

in #ideasfactory8 years ago (edited)

I love that steemit throws all previous social media sites to the side with the financial incentives. My idea is that we pick a day and everyone blasts steemit through the 'old' social media sites (FB, G+, Twitter, whatever you do). We explain that you GET PAID to post and upvote. I have brought people into steemit that I have never met, like @apolymask and then he brought over @rustysmetals (and who knows how many more).

I like this because we have a great community here, and we can easily plan ONE day to blast steemit out to the universe - for FREE! There will be so much steemit talk going on that people will be bound to see it at least from one of us. Word of mouth is still as strong as it has every been, maybe even stronger! Then we can watch for the new people (25 rep) who will start posting shortly thereafter and comment and upvote their stuff. Make them feel welcome.

Sort:  

Great idea. I think it would need to be done in the right way as there is the issue of sites like FB shadow blocking content. It has been suggested that using url shorteners may get round that - I don't know enough about how they block content to know if it will.

I've heard using the url shortener and an image link works to get around the shadowbanning.

Yes me too but I am not sure if that is based on actual evidence or speculation. It depends on how the blocking/banning works.

I heard it as 2nd hand evidence, they had done it successfully. But that's still different than seeing it myself. I had seen some users even pay fb for steemit campaigns. I'll need to test it myself when i get a little time. I do suspect using fb will be difficult and they'd probably notice what worked for us and close those holes as time went on

@thecryptofiend

I saw this post last month for getting some analytics from shortened urls
https://steemit.com/howto/@future24/tutorial-how-to-shorten-and-track-your-steemit-links-english-german

EDIT: Saw you're experience on this url shortner. Definitely valid concerns. Thanks for letting us know how it went, even with it not being something you think is good to use. Sure there is some other option out there. :)

I suspect you are right. I posted my links today using a shortener - it would be useful to have some analysis tools to monitor if it make a difference - I will need to see if I can find some.

Thanks - I remember seeing that. Will try it out.

Edit:

Ok I tried that URL shortener but I won't be using it. The way it uses redirection means that is could potentially get flagged as being a malicious site and also means that the link does not generate a thumbnail or title which relates to the actual article. The analytics are nice but not worth the risks in this case and I would not recommend using it in it's current form.

Am liking this idea more after letting it percolate in my head a bit. We could have some targets to get everyone to share and like each other's posts on Facebook etc. to get them trending? Is that possible am not clear on how trending works on these other platforms.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.87
ETH 3515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.12