A Steemit X-Prize - A Competition to Brainstorm Ideas for Promotion and Marketing

Introduction

I was listening to Ned talking on Steemspeak yesterday and he mentioned that any member of the community can engage in outreach and spreading the word about Steemit.

This is very true. For many projects in their infancy there is not a huge budget for marketing and promotion. This does not have to be a hindrance though.

Viral marketing successes have shown us that a good idea can be as effective as a million dollar marketing campaign.

With Steemit we have a strong and vibrant community. There is a lot of potential brainpower that could be tapped for promotional ideas.

Further competitions are a great way of tapping into that kind of potential Whether it is our own weekly photo challenge or the X-Prize - they really seem to help motivate people to come up with creative ideas.


Idea for the Prize

Whilst listening to Steemspeak I was also noting how I've hit 114 Mega Vests and I was about to power up to make it 115.

Then I had another thought -that 1 MegaVest won't make a huge difference to me but it could raise someone who is a new user to being a superuser level account.

I also realised I had not done anything to celebrate and thank the community after reaching my long term target of 100MV.

So what better way to celebrate than have a competition where I reward a fellow Steemian with that 1MV worth of Steem and make it about Steemit promotion ideas?


The Competition - the TLDR part

I will power up one person's account by 1MV if they come up with the best low cost idea for promoting Steemit to other people.


Rules

1. Comment with your idea below. (You will get extra points if you can actually put it into practice and show some results).

2. State what you like the most about Steemit (in case I can't decide between a few users this could act as a tie break).

3. Any level account is eligible to enter but for any high level accounts e.g. superhero or above I would suggest that you nominate another lower power user to receive the prize.

4. You have one week to come up with ideas. The deadline will be 6pm GMT next Saturday (26th November 2016).

5. Resteems and other types of sharing are appreciated but not mandatory.

6. If any other users would like to match or add to the prize fund to make things more interesting please let me know.

7. I will make the final decision about who wins but I will take community opinion into account too.

8. The rules may be changed in the event of unforseen circumstances.

9. Be sure to have fun!


Thank you for reading.


If you like my work and aren't already, please follow me and check out my blog (I mainly discuss photography but I do other topics too) - @thecryptofiend


Photo Credits: All photos are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Some of my other recent posts


Are You New to Steemit and Finding it Confusing?

These resources may help:

  1. For a Quick FAQ - Try this
  2. To learn about Markdown (to help you post) - Try this
  3. Need to know Steemit Etiquette? - Try this
  4. Need some free images for your posts? Try Steemit4free - make sure to check which images it applies to.
  5. Need to talk to a human for help? - Try the chat
  6. Need Mentorship? - Try Steemprentice - here is a link that explains it, and here is the chat channel.
  7. Need a Free Image Host that works with Steemit? - Try SteemImg - it automatically produces markdown and html links for you, as well creating thumbnails and more.
  8. Need to Buy or Sell Steem/SD? - Try this tutorial for Blocktrades.

(Want to use this list in your own posts? - download the text file formatted in Markdown here.)

Sort:  

Operation Proud Face

Simple. Free. Ubiquitous. Effective.

The simplest and most cost effective method of promoting Steem would be to utilize our profile pics on those other social networks.

Given that we Steemians, each have hundreds of acquaintances who already know, like, and trust us... because, well, we're awesome... we each should be able to leverage our social capital to soft sell Steemit.com

Unlike posting our steemit links on last generation social networks, which can be throttled to reduce reach... a Steemit branded profile pic promotes Steem every single time you interact on Facebook, Twitter and so on...

I think that there should be a standard design for a Steemit promotion profile pic:

* white background 
* your smiling face
* @your_steemit_handle
* the Steemit logo

Perhaps there could Steemians who mass produce these for others in exchange for Steem.

Interesting idea:)

Edit: thinking about it more this is simple enough to be an easy thing that everyone can do. If we could have a little automated widget that you could click to generate it even better.

The concern for me would be about how soon social networks would start cracking down on this or if they could crack down on it?

I like the idea a lot though because it is a simple and easy form of advertising which deals with the idea suggested by @winstonwolfe and others where you let others find things out for themselves by creating curiosity.

If 'Operation Proud Face' wins the Xprize... the prize purse can be split between the 1 to 10 steemit users who best implement the idea. Thanks.

Personally I think this is a great, inexpensive idea. It's one of those guerrilla marketing type tactics that rather than directly stating the message attempts to invoke people to ask the 'what is that' questions or perform the search.

Not too long ago there was a billboard in town with just the phrase Use Your Noodle.com or something like that. Not saying what the product/service was in anyway, just 'daring' people to look it up or goto the site itself to find out.

In the case of Steemit, I'm a rather big fan of new non-crypto, non-tech people 'learning backwards.' For example, I tend to wait to explain the Steem -> Btc -> fiat process until they have $ in their accounts and want to actually do their first withdrawl. (Which I personally think is important for new users to do at least once, even if for a smaller amount, to know it's 'real.') This gave me more time before their 'eyes glazed' over since they were more motivated to understand things that were a bit more new/complex compared to what they were used to.

I'm going to produce a video made up of clips filmed by other Steemians. The idea is similar to another one of my video projects, "Just A Second", which is a 1-second-per-day video for each calendar year. For this project, however, instead of one second per day, it'll be one second per Steemit member.

Here is the post I created outlining this idea, as well as showing one of my videos from 2013 which shows the concept in action. :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@winstonwolfe/i-have-an-idea-for-a-steemit-video-i-need-your-video-contributions-to-make-it-happen

Thanks for sharing. I'm going to have a really hard job deciding on this one because there are so many great ideas!

I never even knew about this competition when I wrote this post
https://steemit.com/advertising/@beanz/using-the-baader-meinhof-phenomenon-to-advertise-steemit
It costs absolutely nothing to change your profile picture on social media. But since social media is what we are marketing here, I think it is on social media that we should be promoting steemit.

My idea is simple:

Every active steemit user could be promoting steemit without even trying to convince people to join. People are more inclined to explore something they find themselves than something a friend pushed them into. (Not that I would discourage people to encourage people to join).

The frequency illusion is a commonly used phenomenon in the marketing world. Just seeing steemit 3 times is 3 different places is enough to make somebody think it's everywhere and significant enough to look into.

I've changed my whatsapp, viber and other messenger apps to the photos above. I also shared the steemfest photos on facebook, and photos are the easiest thing to get onto your friends feed so I would encourage every attendee of the festival to do the same. It also cost me nothing to upload a vlog about steemfest.

If every steemit user did the same, it wouldn't be long before their friends would come asking about it like mine have.

As for what I like most about steemit. The community and the possibilties as expressed in my vlog

Great idea. I think I remember you suggesting it before.

I love that steemit throws all previous social media sites to the side with the financial incentives. My idea is that we pick a day and everyone blasts steemit through the 'old' social media sites (FB, G+, Twitter, whatever you do). We explain that you GET PAID to post and upvote. I have brought people into steemit that I have never met, like @apolymask and then he brought over @rustysmetals (and who knows how many more).

I like this because we have a great community here, and we can easily plan ONE day to blast steemit out to the universe - for FREE! There will be so much steemit talk going on that people will be bound to see it at least from one of us. Word of mouth is still as strong as it has every been, maybe even stronger! Then we can watch for the new people (25 rep) who will start posting shortly thereafter and comment and upvote their stuff. Make them feel welcome.

Great idea. I think it would need to be done in the right way as there is the issue of sites like FB shadow blocking content. It has been suggested that using url shorteners may get round that - I don't know enough about how they block content to know if it will.

I've heard using the url shortener and an image link works to get around the shadowbanning.

Yes me too but I am not sure if that is based on actual evidence or speculation. It depends on how the blocking/banning works.

I heard it as 2nd hand evidence, they had done it successfully. But that's still different than seeing it myself. I had seen some users even pay fb for steemit campaigns. I'll need to test it myself when i get a little time. I do suspect using fb will be difficult and they'd probably notice what worked for us and close those holes as time went on

@thecryptofiend

I saw this post last month for getting some analytics from shortened urls
https://steemit.com/howto/@future24/tutorial-how-to-shorten-and-track-your-steemit-links-english-german

EDIT: Saw you're experience on this url shortner. Definitely valid concerns. Thanks for letting us know how it went, even with it not being something you think is good to use. Sure there is some other option out there. :)

I suspect you are right. I posted my links today using a shortener - it would be useful to have some analysis tools to monitor if it make a difference - I will need to see if I can find some.

Thanks - I remember seeing that. Will try it out.

Edit:

Ok I tried that URL shortener but I won't be using it. The way it uses redirection means that is could potentially get flagged as being a malicious site and also means that the link does not generate a thumbnail or title which relates to the actual article. The analytics are nice but not worth the risks in this case and I would not recommend using it in it's current form.

Am liking this idea more after letting it percolate in my head a bit. We could have some targets to get everyone to share and like each other's posts on Facebook etc. to get them trending? Is that possible am not clear on how trending works on these other platforms.

To make a long story short: education.

More practically, for a couple of weeks, I am releasing educational material on steemit, and so is @justtryme90 for a few months, see here.

In addition, I am about to release educational material under the form of single self-consistent posts, whose link will be shared with students. In the future, I guess this could serve as a good advertisement for te platform, and potential attract new users.

Note that there are also others releasing educational material on Steemit (I noticed some python and c++ articles at some point in the past). Maybe could all of this be collected under the @steemstem banner (see here). Organization may be the key for visibility here.

These were my two cents :)

Good ideas. Having professional learning materials is certainly one way to attract new people:) I will check out Steemstem.

We are at the moment really thinking hard about what to as for promoting science and technology on steemit. Don't hesitate to pass by the chat.

Sure. Which channel? Also have you seen the project Pevo presentation from Steemfest (link) - I completely forgot about this project until I saw this again today and it looks really exciting.

I discussed already long long ago with @pharesim about pevo, giving the good things we have developed in particle physics with respect to a better diffusion of science.

OK cool will head on over when I have a moment:)

It would be easier if I could see all the posts on a tag, not just the Trending.

For my quantum mechanics posts, you have the #qm-lessons tag, while for the chemistry lessons, you have the #chemistry-lesson tag :)

For the rest, I agree it is harder to find.

Search and discovery is a problem that needs to be tackled and I understand it is on the platform roadmap for Dan and Ned.

Video testimonials.

I think the easiest way and fastest way for us to market the platform would be through short videos submitted individually where we each express what Steemit is and why we like it. We could create a community incentive, like you've done here, so that users get involved. If we made it a month long event where the goal is to post your video on your own social media sites, we could start a trend across multiple platforms that should get noticed.

Personally I'm going to do this with my next Steemit Open Mic entry and post it to numerous social media sites. I've expressed the reasons why I like Steemit many times on blog posts but I think doing so more personally via a video interview would be more engaging.

Steemit is a community run by each other and that's what I like most about it. Of course there are devs working behind the scenes but ultimately it's up to us to make it thrive, and this call for promotion is just more evidence of how important community involvement is here. With Facebook censoring alternate news outlets soon, Steemit can replace that. With it already being a blogging platform with incentives for rewards, it can replace Reddit. With developers like @picokernel working on photo threads, it could replace Instagram. The list goes on. There's virtually limitless possibilities when it comes to the Steem blockchain, assuming we can continue scaling upwards. This place gives people the opportunity to show their full potential and in fact begs them to do so.

I will add my testimonial video and links as a reply to this comment once I've submitted it all. I think it's important for us to do our individual part and an incentive for video testimonials would definitely be a step in the right direction. After seeing videos from users like @beanz and @andrarchy following their experiences at @steemfest, I was inspired to do the same in regards to using Steemit for the last 5 months.

Short 3 minutes videos aimed at our own individual social networks will spread the word like wild fire.

(If my idea wins, I would like to nominate the @thirstyrecords account to receive the reward.)

Thanks for a great response mate. I think it is a great idea. As long as I don't have to appear on camera lol (I have a face that is suitable only for radio). Also love the uncensored news/content idea @sykochica - has already suggested that.

haha! I don't think you necessarily have to have your face in the video, you could do a video with a voice over and some screenshots of what you do on the platform. The beauty of this idea is that anyone can get involved. With the creative mindsets that we have here, I'm sure we'd see a lot of different and unique submissions. If we hosted some sort of competition for the most creative Steemit testimonial video, I'm sure everyone could get involved.

Yeah, the uncensored content/news thing is already happening so I don't think we need to promote that. Or, we could add it in our testimonials ;)

I could've done it better but in the video I give a shoutout to Steemit and its creators. I think something more along the lines of "how Steemit has worked you" would be better, but this was off the top and from a very tired man. Whether or not this idea wins your prize, I still think it's something worth creating an incentive for. I'm willing to work with you and others to make a steemit testimonial challenge happen

https://steemit.com/openmic/@senseiteekay/soul-searching-original-music-steemit-open-mic

Yes I think it is a great idea. Also you know you and thirstyrecords always have my support:)

Even if you don't win we should definitely take this forward and work together on it - the potential value from doing this is much greater than that the tiny 1MV for this. Let's wait until this is finished and we can look at plans for doing this.

I'm actually thinking of putting together a group to look at marketing ideas on an ongoing basis. Would you be interested in this?

I will put the video aside so I can give it a proper watch when I have a moment. Today has been a bit of a crazy day outside of Steemit!

Thanks :)

I'm definitely interested! I think it's something we all need to get involved in if we want to see the platform grow. We've all spent a lot of time marketing ourselves to audiences here on Steemit and now it's time for us to market Steemit and return the favor.

It's okay if you run out of time, I basically said all I need to say here anyways :D

Press releases well written with a grabbing title can have amazing results with no out of pocket expenses. It's much easier and effective to have someone else promote you than for you to promote yourself.

Interesting it is not something I am very familiar with. Do you have any personal experience of this? Is it the press release itself that matters or the source that is putting it out?

Years ago as a musician, our band would submit press releases regularly and often they would get published and would draw much more people than a paid ad. This was done on a local level but there is no limit on how many sources you can send to. Editors of all forms of media are always looking for items of interest to fill in their space or quota. The key is to make the process effortless to the editor by having a well written release. As an example, Wall Street Journal, Forbes or Marketwatch could all use the monetary slant of Steemit.

Once you establish a relationship with an editor it doesn't matter your status as they can count on you for supplying them with well written content. There are rules to writing press releases that are available online. It's always good to accompany the release with a good quality relevant image.

Cool thanks for the information:)

I have a simple and good idea

Let's take the exemple of Forfaty(check the page on FB like they are doing short videos and include the picture of their games (steem) or something like that. I am sure that short funny videos are the best way to make people search and ask what is steemit and how it works.

Sketch Videos are the best way to attract a large number of people!

Exemple: you're in a club and then you go quickly outside to check something; a girl comes after you and asks what's happened and you tell her you have a big WHALE vote! HAHA :)

Thanks I will check it out.

We can make (also) a contest of funny videos that promote Steemit in a creative way.

Yes humour is definitely a good way to get people's attention:)

How about a fiat currency gateway removing the need for "non-crypto" users to get into bitcoin... Steemit can draw many people into crypto, but it would be easier if they didn't have to learn about exchanges and all that when they first get started.
Being able to send money from a bank account to a gateway site for steem power seems to me like it would make things a lot easier for new steemians, who don't know about crypto yet.
I know all this can be done via bitcoin, but bitcoin is slow and unstable. Regular people love the stability of the dollar. If Steemit wants more users a US $ gateway needs to be made.
I found this from The Morning Task Manager.

Isn't one of the main reasons for using a crypto currency rather than a fiat currency the fact that a crypto currency spend, purchase, donation, whatever cannot be reversed while fiat currencies and gateways like credit cards and paypal can all be reversed at the whim of the spender?

So somehow your fiat currency gateway will have to provide some sort of irreversible spend, and that might be complicated by rules and regulations of the fiat currency provider.

I hope you can find a way to set up a fiat currency gateway. I would be tempted to use it.

Like a bank wire?

I'm probably mistaken, but I am under the impression that in some cases bank wires can be reversed. I'm certainly not well versed in what transactions can or cannot be reversed. And, what's worse, I would be interested in buying so little steem at a time that the cost of the wire transfer would exceed the cost of the steem -- a real disincentive.

I guess not a bank wire, bank deposit, take your cash and deposit in their account at their bank... no reversing that

I think you are mistaken. They can't be reversed. What is called reversal is not actual reversal which is described in my other response.

Fiat currency gateways already exist for bitcoins. There are usually terms and conditions that prevent them being reversed. It (reversal) is not something that the end user can do anyway - it has to be done through the bank. Further when you reverse a transaction through your credit card company or bank that is not AN actual reversal of the transaction. The credit card company pays you back and then tries to recover funds from the recipient. It is not a true reversal. I don't think this is a problem for a fiat gateway - regulatory/legal issues are the real problem.

That would be a killer feature for sure. A lot of people have been asking for it and not just for Steemit. That is one of the main feature requests we have been making for nearly every crypto I have been involved with in the last 3 years. I think the main hurdle is regulatory issues relating to AML laws and also the different unique laws as they pertain to specific nations.

If someone could figure out a way of doing it, it would be massive and big news in the cryptocurrency community at the very least.

I suspect it is only a matter of time before it happens though.

Thanks for the link.

Build a site like localbitcoins.... only altcoins... The users are responsible for claiming and covering their own income tax. If records are kept of identification and trades it would at least be legal for Canada, and likely other countries too.

Why not try to get localbitcoins to accept Steem? I have already asked our local equivalent which is called Bittylicious but they are not interested at present because they don't see enough demand. I suspect that may be one of the issues that we may come up against. It has to be worth it for whoever starts doing it and right now they might not see it as a good business proposition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75