IFC - S1:R30 entry; Spotlighting the Most Important Thing

in #ifc6 years ago

The Rules: Create a blog post about the most important thing that, in your opinion, needs more attention.

No sense in burying the lead. I mean, I could be selfish and say the arts, or education, or that everyone should really get to know Jesus Christ (not the church, but the person and teachings of Christ, mind you), but that won't solve the greater issues, IMHO. In fact, I know plenty of artists, educated people, and even Christians (well, they say they are, but...) who are nothing but toxic horrible individuals. So? What is my answer? Kindness. Now, I'm not saying everyone should just "be nice". That's not the same, and there is certainly a darker side to "nice". Being "nice" just means not hurting feelings or coddling one another.

Nope to the nope.

Kindness.

Kindness can mean being nice, but it can also mean tough love. It can mean doing and saying what is difficult in order to help a person be better. Kindness helps us reach our potential in a positive manner. Kindness is an avenue for understanding and tolerance when we may not get along. Kindness is a pathway to peace - between brothers and sisters, between cultural divides, and even between nations.

If more people would adopt kindness as their default approach - their filter, if you will - to every single thing, then this world would change for the better.
People, and even animals, are generally terrible, toxic, etc. for a reason. Kindness helps us find that reason and help that horrible individual cope, and hopefully heal. Kindness, essentially, can heal the world.
Ultimately, kindness is this: treat others how you would want to be treated, be positive, exhibit compassion for others, be of use to others, and maybe most importantly, love yourself and love others.


My #steemgig posting: https://steemit.com/steemgigs/@har5h/create-professional-illustrations-andor-graphic-designs-for-you

Follow my Patreon and become a Patron to see some of these projects come together!

Sort:  

Kindness definitely is a way of life. I am glad you went with this as being the most important thing, because to me it definitely is!!!

Kindness is key!!!

That's awesome, @charisma777! I'm glad to see I'm not the only one. lol.

I was once that individual myself the key to happiness lies in being kind to others as you would like others to be kind to you.

How do I agree more than 100%? Is that a thing? lol. Such great, solid advice!

You could copy and paste any comments to @davemccoy for a start!!! His latest post on dust gives some great pointers on that!!! Just passing the info along!

Agree with you sir. Thanks for resteem the wonderful post.👍

I like this one. especially the part where one has to say something hard or difficult in order to make somebody be better.
Its totally what I had to do today to reassure someone.

Good for you, @kenneth1! It's encouraging to hear other people's stories like that. It's not easy, but sometimes we have to do it. Keep up the good fight, man!

Hello @har5h, It would appear we have similar thoughts on what would truly make the world a better place. I hope you don't mind but I have linked your post to my entry post. I think you took a more educated high road whereas mine was more like slinking down an alley.

@jbreheny, I don't mind at all! Thank you very much. I really enjoyed your post as well, and to show my appreciation I resteemed your post. :)
Good stuff, man!

Awesome! I'm glad you said that because if you had wanted me to remove it and I couldn't find my posting password... well nuff said. :-D

It hit head nail on the head.. Kindness can make you feel so much better, just seeing the looks on people's faces after you say something or do something unexpected.. Like just saying thank you or holding a door open..

Loading...

Kindness is super important. If only people were just more kind to each other, that alone would change the world so much for the better. It can be difficult at times depending on where you think I think cause society kind of conditions it into you to be a jerk especially in the US.. It's almost like being as ruthless as possible is celebrated here and I think that's one of the biggest problems in the world.. But how do get through to some of these ultra ruthless kind of people? That's a difficult question indeed... Thanks for the awesome entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43