You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sunday Musings on "Charting Your Own Course"

in #independence5 years ago (edited)

In most cases, we are not alone with our decisions — we have spouses, partners, children, elderly relatives to consider.

So true! Family responsibilities are often the trap.

Luckily my path less travelled was chosen early on in my life. The path led to a non-violent crime which is now legal in my country. It allowed me the freedom to visit over 25 countries during that period.

When responsibilities of a child came along in my early 30's my programming skills, which were largely self taught, made me ready to surf the Dot Com Wave of the 90's and continuing into the new millenium until being sidelined by $3/hr, talented, Chinese and Indian programmers.

Working from home as a contract programmer and homeschooling with my daughter allowed us to continue to live our lives to the beat of our own drum even after reaching that second big trap... school age.

The end of my career was spent in Tech Support for the corporate giant, AT&T. They at least allowed me to work from home. 😎

My advice would be to find community, seek self sufficiency and help to decentralize central authority one step at a time. Oh, and follow your heart. ✌💛

STEEM On!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63700.42
ETH 3084.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83