Goal: Get Off The Housing Grid

in #informationwar5 years ago

thegrid_3.jpg

The digital age police state revolves around knowing where people live and where they are going.

  • Who's buying what?
  • Who's going where?
  • What's trending?
  • Can we create a trend?

The corporate oligarchy wants to know everything it possibly can. Now they develop AI to sift through all that information on everyone. However, a key component to this is KYC. If you don't have a way of cross referencing the info with an actual person, the data is useless in this context. Without the cross reference, the reputation of that account stands alone based on it's own documented actions.

What happens when citizens of the world can start moving into crypto towns/cities and live life completely off the financial grid? Shop online anonymously. Travel anonymously. Pay rent anonymously. KYC is bottlenecked at this simple junction: housing.

The grid only knows where you live because you announce it every time you move. You tell it with your phone's GPS. We tell our bank, we tell the post office, we tell everyone else.

house-foundation.jpg

We are approaching an era where we may not have to divulge all this information to the grid. People are starting to learn (very slowly) that their data is worth money. As time goes on more and more people will strive to protect that data. Privacy is going to be the number one political issue at some point.

Whenever I type searches into Google now about certain products I now get messages in my junk email folder advertising those products. Gee, could Chrome be selling me out? I wonder.

I personally have a very unique living situation. I pay rent without any paperwork. It's all verbal agreement. However, I'm still completely on the grid due to the various reasons stated above like banking, car registration, centralized exchanges, and every other KYC I can't think of at the moment.

Conclusion

Crypto is going to allow us to make all of our financial activities private. However, that means nothing if the grid can track our locations through an ISP and identify who we are. The road to decentralization is long and comprehensive. It's not something we need to be worrying about now, but it is something we should be considering about as we prepare for the future.

Sort:  


I'll have to check out Solar Energy again when we move to our new home. It would be interesting to see what the break even is for the solar panels or if it's even worth it or allowed in our neighborhood.

As someone who has had there identity stolen recently it will be nice to be able to not have to worry about that one day (hopefully).

Teaching:

You are right concerning the good news regarding crypto. The hard part is teaching people how to use Duck Duck Go, Steemit, Ubuntu, Bitcoin, Bit Torrent, Proxies, etc, etc.

Private & Public

The good news is a person can have private accounts and public accounts on the Internet as opposed to only one required account that is connected by force to your one identity online and offline in all areas of your life.

Separation of Powers

So, in other words, you can have multiple identities, accounts, and you can find ways to keep the different accounts separate from each other if you want and you can keep some of the accounts as backups and some of them totally private.

Separation of Privacy

So, to some extent, governments, tech cartels, etc, always try to know who is doing what like you said.

Connecting Dots

They will always try to spy and see what is happening online and offline. So, sometimes, they may see your accounts, but if you are lucky, they may not know that some of what they saw was you.

Unable to Follow

They may see your public accounts. But then, maybe you could have some private accounts online that does things that they see but may sometimes struggle to connect to you. So blockchains, cryptocurrencies, Bitcoin, Ethereum, etc, and especially Monero may help people with privacy, etc.

Very interesting thought approach. I agree this will slowly become the norm if we succeed with decentralization. I support this kind of living for sure. Off the grid is always better than on grid. I like to feel "free".

Whenever I compare West and East cultures I feel way more free in the east. In the west, everything is connected and on-grid.

Trying to live totally off the grid is an interesting, yet quite far fetched an idea.

The grid only knows where you live because you announce it every time you move. You tell it with your phone's GPS. We tell our bank, we tell the post office, we tell everyone else.

Sell the house, buy a trailer, move around, how will the grid know now xD

Whenever I type searches into Google now about certain products I now get messages in my junk email folder advertising those products. Gee, could Chrome be selling me out? I wonder.

You need to start using Brave, I'm really amazed by it, encryption, tracker protection, ad protection, no information stored, and the best, they've already released multiple things google was doing that were against the EU's laws, they've been hitting google hard.

https://brave.com/google-gdpr-workaround/

Right now we need to make the KYC but in the future it will be another story. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oi you still use Google to search? I've been using Presearch to do it (they do sell the info but you at least get paid in crypto to search) and from there my engine is DuckDuckGo. On my phone I use the Brave browser for almost everything. I think you've probably heard of both, but I at least think they're better than google and chrome.

I look forward to when society balks at the KYC process when they understand how insidious it is. My two big crypto investments besides Steem here are unfortunately KYC but I'm hoping to transfer them to cold storage wallets once they get to a value I'm enjoying that way I can take the proceeds off their platforms and into my hands. Housing done through smart contracts seems like an interesting idea that I've seen floated around. I wonder how good it could be when done outside the KYC process.

How's your physical health? I know you said you've been exercising and trying to stay more active, wondering how that's been going for you.

Privacy activists created https://prism-break.org

Like you said our data is worth something.
Actyally i have always believe that crypto have a lot to offer to the world space, it just not yet realied now that is why

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85