You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Speculation is Fact!!! Why? I thought of it. The only true fact is my arrogance.

in #informationwar6 years ago (edited)

Very interesting post. Two points to add:

Religious truths are not factual truths but from an metaphysical perspective not necessarily factually untrue either. Allegory is literal and metaphorical.

Christ the Son and Satan are the archetypes of good and bad man. To worship them as deities is idolatry.

Sort:  

Yes. I used the word facts repeatedly for a reason.

Truth is subjective. The truth as we know it differs in each of us based upon our own knowledge and experience. We can only work with the information and things we have encountered. Yet if we are wise our truth changes as we encounter new information. It is ever changing, or it should be. It is only when we try to lock it into stone and resist any change that it becomes dangerous.

There is also the idea of things being probable. We often do things based upon probabilities, yet there is always an outlier that is outside of that probability.

We kind of have to do this. Take risks. If the probabilities are high, then the risk is low.

Some people take risks (lottery) even when probabilities are low. :)

Yes, they are archetypes.

I don't worship anything.

Nor will I.

Though I do think there is a creator. I simply think it is far more vast than anything written in the primitive words of man. Many things we discover we don't even have the words or the understanding to explain until later. As we answer questions we often then have more questions than we started with.

This is not to say there is no creator. It can instead be a glimpse of how vast everything truly is, and in the wake of that the presumptions of written religions seem nothing more than the product of arrogance and speculation of man to me.

I look at the golden mean, fractals, quantum mechanics, and many other things and to me those are glimpses into the word of a creator. Vast things that I'll never solve, but I'll keep trying to learn more about.

If I could solve them... the adventure would be gone.

I view death as the same. A chance to continue the adventure. I'll learn what is to come of that when my time comes. Hopefully, not too soon.

I appreciate the precision of your language and share much of your view here. But I do not share your disapproval of worship. I wonder what is sacred that is not deserving of worship (besides Self, of course)?

Why I mentioned idolatry (above) is that just as idols themselves are only the physical representations of deities, likewise Jesus, Mary, Satan, the saints, all the angelic figures are not God but personifications of His will; so neither are they worshiped in His place as Him, except by idolators. Proper worship respects its object or image for what it in fact is: if an idol then as an idol, if an icon then as an icon. Thus idols are worshiped as representations of deities, icons as personifications of their wills. Indeed, idolization of Satan must be doubly blasphemous because you unseat God the Father from Primacy and because you worship a graven image as divinity itself.

Loading...

If you do some research @eskmcdonnell, you will find out that 'Satanists' do not actually worship any deity at all.

I believe I understand perfectly well. Even the non-theist Satanists focus their worship on Satan in place of on God (much as Christians often wrongly prioritize Jesus or the text of the Word for veneration).

The point you are trying to make is correct, I would however like to clarify the terminology you are using as the word truth is currently being smeared and distorted to steal the true meaning of the word and concept from the English language.

Truth is true independently of the perceptions and beliefs of any individual, that's what makes it true. A truth can not "be a truth, but not a factual truth".

What is true is what is or what has been. Truth is not subjective nor open to interpretation, truth is not something that can be decided, it stands alone.

Not trying to nit-pick your comment, language and terminology are used in a major way to distort our ability to communicate with one another. In this case the word 'truth' is not being used correctly and I find that the general understanding of this concept is currently under attack.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87