My one big question after Ned's announcement about Steemit, Inc. laying off 70% of it's workforce...

in #informationwar5 years ago (edited)

IF Steemit, Inc. disappears altogether, can the Witnesses keep the current platform up and running as it does now....i.e. or, does Steemit, Inc. somehow have the ability (should they choose) to TURN OUT THE LIGHTS completely, when they leave?

Do we have a techy here with the ability to confidently answer that?

TIA....

Sort:  

It will keep running if Steemit, Inc disappears. The one main thing that will be tough to support is all the image hosting because the images aren't stored on the blockchain. They are stored on centralized servers.

When I first got on Steemit we had to host our own images so people were using a lot of different solutions to do that.

What would likely happen is the blockchain would likely stay at Hard Fork 20 indefinitely and then we would most likely gravitate away from using Steemit.com and more people would be using eSteem, Busy.org, Steepshot.....etc to connect to the STEEM blockchain.

So the short answer is everything would still be here but we would most likely be more fractured up in the ways that we posted to the blockchain.

Thanks, Brian. Much appreciated.

I thought the blockchain was forever? JK

Yeah, it would be weird to one day not have Steemit.

I think we may need to start getting read for that possibility.

Thanks for the lead. Just signed up and credited you in my opening post.

How's it work over there as far as rewards?

I already have a Coinbase account where I've been converting my meager steem earnings to BTC. They have ETH there, I think..so am I all set, or do I need some other wallet just for Minds?

How many members do they have?

Thanks, again.

I haven't made the plunge yet.

LOL...well I guess I'll get my own answers as I go...

Thanks again for the lead.

they've been around a long time, they have about a million members.

Naw...more like 30,000 I'm guessing from the totals of those signed up to different forums. It's a pay-to-play, which means its a lot more sustainable (maybe) than some place else which will go unmentioned, but you have to have a cell phone or some texting app thing on your computer to participate in anything financial there, so I'm out.

oh very interesting, I didn't know about the app thing so I will mark that off my list of possible choices to move to. Someone on here recommended Trybe, they are using EOS and he has made more in a few weeks than a year on steemit.

Curated for #informationwar (by @commonlaw)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 8,000 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 200+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Join our brand new reddit! and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The_IW!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call Pt 11

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01