You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TED Ideas Need Splaining: Can't Say I didn't Warn Ya!

After the simplistic comments to the videos, I'm not sure if I should even write this comment, but what the hell. I am not a big fan of Ted talks in general, especially when they branched out to x format, but whatever. Now as far as the videos, the first one (van der Bruggen) I found very sexist, she states right away that she'll be talking about men, because there is no "obvious" evidence about women paedophilia, after which she continues to reinforce that statement with whole bunch of statistical examples: "as many as 80 thousand men, your brother, your husband", etc. It was pathetic, if you don't have enough data, don't push the sexist agenda, that's all I'm saying. Now, for the second video, mind you, that she was painfully lethargic in her speech, crack head? I doubt that.
There is nothing more ignorant, then trying to avoid the uncomfortable discussion, weather it's about pedophiles, religion, sexism, or any other subject. I didn't find anything even remotely normalizing paedophilia in neither of those lectures, on contrary, they both say, the percentages are very small. It's the lack of education and information about touchy subjects like that, that creates simplistic comments like yours (try not to get offended :). At least in the second video, she defined the paedophilia properly, because unfortunately, most people don't even know what that means. It only applies to preadolescence, once puberty kicks in, by definition it's not paedophilia any more (just an FYI) Sadly it all gets bunched together by uneducated media and individuals. I know, it's easy to get all self-righteous and jump on the ban-wagon (no pun intended :), I used to be that person myself, trying to highroad, whenever I got a chance, but then I grew up, and realized that there are all kinds of people, and before I turn my reptile instincts on, I should think and see all sides of the story. Oh, and before you try to take "you're probably a pedo" road, this is purely academic discussion for me. It's merely to open a dialog on some informed, intelligent level, if possible. No worries, I like 'em young, as much as the next guy, but not that young.
©Of course this is just my opinion and I could be wrong :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70