You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inktober day 6: "Dripping Ghost"

in #inktober6 years ago

Somehow it doesnøt really matter that much to keep to the rules when the misremembering leads to such a strange piece of art!

Also nice that you incorporate the weird world of the youngsters in your drawing:) I remember how interesting it was to discuss all the new things happening in my youth with more mature people who didn't need to, but just was curious and interested in what we were doing. Now it is me having that role, and you too it seems.

Sort:  

I'm always intetrested in 'what's the latest' even though I'v mostly lived in the 18 and 19th century even when I ,myself, was young :)

I also learned from a fellow steemian that 'dripping' is youth slang too, so now we'll see if that crops up in my daily language ;)

Funny so many things we share. I guess that while I identify with those same lost centuries it also gives me the freedom to take in what is new. Staying in the eighties and nineties like most of my peers would choke me up.

Even when it WAS the 90's I wasn't there. The grunge movement in fashion was high tilt when I was an undergrad at Uni and my 'rebellion' was I wore corseted floor length Edwardian skirts, high necked tops and lace up authentic Victorian boots! I felt the only way to go the real 'individual' way was back and back I went. Sometimes I threw in some 1920's outfits, cloche hat and all. I got stares, but hey I felt better and more energized than many of my fellow students who Literally would go to class in their sweats and PJ's. I guess clothes just were a way to time travel a bit.

I never dressed in accordance to fashion. When I was young I found it unmanly to concern myself with that sort of thing at all and now i wear jacket and tie. My social skills was influenced by Alexander Dumas and Walter Scott novels which must have seemed strange in combination with my intellectual redneck personality. I always had this role. The first seven years of my life was spent in Denmark, Norway and Sweden, so when my parents finally settled I was used to being different, and never really ditched that role.

I always enjoyed the people who go their own way. Often they are the most fun.

It does seem we 'oddballs' eventually find our own. No matter where I go, it's like we have a 6th sense for one another. The odd find the odd, I suppose.

just to butt in here, I believe the lead singer of Ghost is Swedish. (fun fact?)
and also...what is dripping slang for, dare I ask (I suppose I could google)
edit: I have scrolled to find my answer ;)

That is a fun fact. You think I'd know since Steph has gone on and on about it, but I mostly just glaze over and think of myself in pretty dresses while she yammers away ;) ...Did you get your answer for dripping?

haha. yes, i did see the link someone posted further down the comments. I'll use it often, i'm sure.

My life is wonderfully full of oddballs. In my wife's family they even collect them - all her uncles are like that. Alumni they call them and the more strange persons you know, and the more crazy stories you can tell the better. Sometimes when one of them comes up with a really odd person they can even suffer from alumni-envy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82