You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nothing Like Homegrown Asparagus

in #innerblocks5 years ago

We love asparagus here. I tried to grow it decades back, but the asparagus beetles were so voracious, they chewed through the row cover to get it. That was before I started amending the soil to balance it. I probably could grow it fine now, but starting an asparagus bed is very labor intensive.

Asparagus and fiddlehead ferns, our 2 we look forward to in spring. :))

Sort:  

I am sorry to hear you had issues with your Asparagus. Luckily, we haven't had to deal with any pests yet, but I may do some reading about these beetles in case I start to notice something.

It has definitely become a staple around here this time of year :)

This area is reknown for growing asparagus, huge fields of it at one time. So the beetles moved in....mono-culture, a wonderful thing....not!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89