PopOrgy is finally on Steemit

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone,

E297E5FD-714C-4909-9CC5-AA53E201D95C.gif
Gif Source
Now that I have your attention, I hope I didn't insult you.

I’ve finally realized that I needed an actual introduction post. I learned about Steemit from my classmates in a class about social media. I’m currently a student studying broadcasting media and have no idea what I’ll do after I graduate next year (I hope).🤞🏼

37E81102-BD5B-41FF-9FF2-E8BF3B4B77B2.jpeg

My name is Albert & as you can see I'm slightly paranoid of my face being all over the internet. After taking a course on social media at the university level, I began to question why I had posted what I posted on other platforms before.

EXAMPLE
Facebook. I haven't really posted there in ages because as a friend, who passed away so young, told me once that it was truly selfish and pretentious to feel that your opinion is so unique and valuable (amongst the billions of people in this world) that you must comment on everything that catches your attention.

27183726-CA17-4123-AD2B-2F391AAE458B.gif
Gif Source

I suppose that you learn to appreciate privacy, anonymity, and learn how technology can be used to suppress, harass, extort, intimidate, or even endanger the billions of lives of social media users. Especially, now that facial recognition software is being used and widely available.

6176469C-BA94-422C-BFCA-181984AE7D26.gif
Gif Source

I hope I didn't scare you

I mean social media platforms also have benefits and that's why I'm trying this again after being suspended from Twitter

F587D66C-4FEC-4E94-A2B3-9A2D1C5EB2AC.jpeg

What fascinates me

Anything related to POP CULTURE catches my attention. I use to be very anti-mainstream culture like how hipsters are preceived to prefer, but I learned to appreciate pop culture after taking a class on the history of pop culture (yes, that university class actually exists at San Francisco State University).

I hope to enrich Steemit with different types of content mostly related to pop culture and art.

I have other hobbies and interests but I feel pop culture is highly underrepresented on this platform. I know it's kind of junk media but it really is a reflection of our current society. Here's a LINK to my first posting on pop art to give you an idea on what I want to cover.

Fun Fact about my blogging experience

I once wrote an extensive blog all about the sleazy over-the-top film Showgirls and it's revelance and contribution to our culture. 😂🤣

B71ED27A-42BA-4AB8-A1F4-BAB1D99B31A8.jpeg
Source

Thank you for your time.
F223FEA3-7D0C-4C73-9209-D211E1D2394B.gif

Sort:  

Welcome, poporgy! Wish you a great journey here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) Be Happy

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to Steemit Albert
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you too although you first gave me the finger😂😂
Blogging thats what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I just write.
But be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11.
The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Thank you for the welcome. I will download that app. I appreciate your links and will definitely check them out.

How is the steemit journey?

Hi, I'm still trying to figure this out. I was going to post about everything that deals with pop culture, but I'm having a difficult time trying to find my niche. Also, I'm not sure if I'll join those automatic voting system groups or if I'll have to pay for bots. I'm not sure. The more I read and look at successful posting, the more I'm convince that they pay for bots. I don't know if I want to go that route. What do you think?

I agree, I dont use any bots, I am here 5 months and doing the little things I know. I vote till My power is doen to 89-90 and than stop. I post atleast twice a day and have t got a niche. I post things that happen in My life. I set a goal to do this 6-12 months and then decide if I want to stay.
Pop and music are big tags just start and See
Well keep in touch

Cool, this sounds like a plan. I think I'm going to cover trashy pop culture as I find it somewhat amusing. Besides, I haven't really found it on here yet. You upvote? You never upvoted me lol jk. I try to upvote but my vote isnt worth anything yet. I still try. Yeah those bots are weird and autovoting ruins looking and seeing content. Thanks for the heads up. I added you to follow. I need to look at who I follow because sometimes people just reblog and reblog content I don't care to look at. I need to be more selective who I follow. Cheers

Facebook and YouTube and Twitter suspended me.

Why @joeyarnoldvn ? They blocked me because apparently they considered 4 consecutive tweets about joining some alt coin's air drop spamming. I've tried numerous times to get it unblocked but so far have been unsuccessful.

i was blocked for talking about world war 2

Te deseo Éxito, Saludos de parte de @ydavgonzalez.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65