My First Post

Hi Steemians,

My name is Ashleigh Chanel. I am a brand new blogger from Australia and this is my debut blog post! This is the only social media platform where you will find me... for now.

Photo1.jpg

First, a few questions for you: Do you think it should be a human right to breathe clean air and drink clean water? Do you think immunizing children should be compulsory? How do you feel about breathing in smoke during hazard burning to reduce the risk of bushfires? Do you or one of your loved ones suffer from a chronic illness? Do you have access to the medications and equipment to manage and reduce it's effects? If more than half of a country's population are children, but about half of the adults are incapacitated by chronic illnesses, and the country could only afford one or the other, do you think the priority of the government's budget should be education or healthcare services?

I'm incredibly passionate about public health, which is why I'm studying a Master of Public Health and absolutely loving what I'm learning. I'm realising the bigger picture at global, national and community levels and also how public health decisions are made economically and ethically.

PHQuote1.jpg

My main focus is on non-communicable (chronic) diseases such as cancer, diabetes, degenerative brain diseases, cardiovascular diseases and analysing the various different cause and effect relationships that lead to the increase of their prevalence. Determinants of these chronic diseases range broadly, such as geographic locations, income levels of countries or regions, cultural norms, population characteristics, governments, education levels, and I'm sure you can appreciate there are many more.

I'm also fascinated by environmental health; that is, how the environment impacts human and wildlife/ecology health. For example, air pollution, water contaminants, foodborne disease, exposure pathways, exposure level guidelines and effects of climate change. A representation of what public health does in this space is how Australia has prohibited smoking cigarettes in public spaces such as playgrounds, inside pubs, restaurants and outdoor cafe eating areas to reduce the general population's exposure levels of inhaling the second-hand smoke.

Img1.jpg

I have so much to share with you as I go through my uni course and beyond! I will be blogging about public health information that I find interesting and will share my analysis and thoughts. I'm looking forward to some valuable comments and discussions.

Photo2.jpg

I also have a lot of love for food and all sorts of tea! I follow a plant-based diet and although I get creative and make things up as I go in the kitchen most of the time, I will share my recipes and tips with you too. If you go ahead and follow any of my recipes, I would love to hear how it went and see a photo!

Photo3.jpg

If you follow me, please comment to let me know what country you're in and/or from and what you think are the public health issues there. Or give me some recommendations for tea to try. Thank you!

Happy to be here! Let's begin.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

let me know what country you're in and/or from and what you think are the public health issues there.

Germany and we are suffering of Morbus Merkel;-(

Here is some advice I give to newbies on steemit:

  • never just copy a text or publish a photo/video without explanation. Always add some text and never forget to add an image to a text.
  • Always use all 5 tags for more visibility.
  • here is an interesting site where you can look up the stats of your account and others.
  • this is another stats site where you can see your reputation and what to do to climb up the ladder. (commenting other posts is very important).
  • there is even a help site for Steemit where you can find explanations for the site's functionalities
  • if you want somebody to read your article or follow your conversation, mention their username (don't forget the @).
  • commenting other posts is very important because you get "curation rewards" which means Steem Dollar from the pot for the article as a reward for the interaction.
  • learn the Markdown styles to format your posts (you can find how it works in a link on the right side below the text box)
  • A lot of votes on steemit come from bots that you (or others) can pay for a vote. Depending on the bot, you end up with more $$ than you had before.
  • All bots work pretty much the same way: You go to your wallet and click on the little arrow next to the Steem Dollar amount. Then click on transfer, fill in the name and the amount and add as memo the URL to the article for which you want an upvote. Very simple.
  • Here is a site where you can compare the performance of difference upvote bots.
  • As far as I know, the best upvote bot currently is @rocky1.
  • There are also resteem bots, but I don't find them too useful and don't know which one is good.
  • Be careful with your password and watch out for scamming attempts. Several big accounts got stolen and now they try to lure others into giving away their password by posting comments with links to fishing sites.
  • you have several different passwords. Whenever you have to use a password and it is not stated differently, use the active key and as little as possible your owner key! The latter is the big key to your account and if that is gone, you account is gone.

I will follow you now. (<- always add that to a comment when you intend to follow the person who wrote the article. This way, you increase the likelihood that they follow you as well.)

Hello! I am also new to this platform, a pleasure, greetings from Venezuela :)

Hi @exbroker, nice to meet you. I have read about the malaria outbreak in Venezuela and the shortage of medication for it. How is the situation from your perspective?

Venezuela ended with this epidemic in the 60s and now it is back, for nobody it is secret that in Venezuela there is a serious problem of supplies, it is really very difficult to obtain medicines to fight this disease. Most of the patients that come to seek treatment come from state Bolivar, which is a state located very central Venezuela, where it has been a titanic task to get the medicine that should be administered to attack the parasitosis that attacks the liver and red blood cells. It is very serious that preventive actions are not being taken to stop the epidemic. When in the sixties it was possible to stop malaria, it was done with very simple strategies such as fumigation, use of repellents, distribution of mosquito nets, which is a very economic measure, it is vital to reactivate antimalarial campaigns that were successful and that have declined. At this time there are no sanitary control measures, there are no vehicles for antimalarial work, there is no money for insecticides. People are suffering, there is a health and humanitarian crisis but nevertheless Venezuelans remain strong and we always hope.

It is a devastating situation for the people of Venezuela, particularly Bolivar to not be supplied with the medication needed to fight malaria! Thanks for pointing out the importance of preventative public health and environmental health measures to combat the burden of malaria in Venezuela. It is so important to maintain the basic procedures that have been successful, such as distribution of mosquito nets and repellents to the population.

The financial burden on the country's economy is significant because there are flow-on effects. While it is resource-intensive and costly to procure and distribute the medication for treatment of malaria and also conducting the fumigation you mentioned, the reduced productivity of the nation as many people are likely to be too sick to work is a key consideration. In turn, the nation's economy would be weakened due to reduced foreign trade.

Thus, it is in the government's interest to address the short-term effects of the outbreak to protect the health of their people by spending the money required on treatment and preventative campaigns. However, as you alluded to, whether the country can afford to provide their people with treatment and prevention is where it becomes a crisis... I hope to address the issue of developing countries being in debt to developed countries in my future blogs.

Thanks for sharing your perspective of the malaria outbreak in Venezuela. Great to hear that Venezuelans are remaining strong and have hope!

Hello @ashleighchanel. Welcome to steemit and nice to know you. Hope we can be friend. (^^;)

Hi @fieza-hussin! Thank you and it's lovely to meet you too! :)

Thanks for the read Ashleigh and Welcome! I'm in the healthcare field in the US and work at a nonprofit that attempts to bridge the gap for patients that can't afford traditional dental care. The main issue I see here, from my very little experience so far, is access to care based on finances. I look forward to reading more in the future!

Thank you @youphilme. The US is a unique case in regard to public health. Though it is a high-income country, it is an outlier compared to the others. Its per capita healthcare spending and mortality are much higher. It's great to hear nonprofits are working to bridge the financial gap for patients in the US! Ref: http://www.commonwealthfund.org/interactives/2017/july/mirror-mirror/

Hello! Welcome to Steemit!

welcome to steem @asheighchanel :> I live in Canada, but I originated from Philippines. In PH, we have bad practice in disposing trash so we don't really segregate Bio and Non-Bio. Lots of health issue if u could imagine

Thanks @donwel. Yes, I can imagine the health risks of not segregating Bio and Non-Bio waste at a large scale. The spread of viral diseases such as HIV/AIDS would be a major concern.

Hello my name is @tissuesurgeon, I am new to this channel, I invite you to follow me in this community and generate a good friendship, see you soon

Hi @tissuesurgeon, thanks for the invitation. I have followed you. Congratulations on your Nursing studies! I look forward to information about Ghana and the medical work there.

Welcome !! Nice to meet you. Follow each other and come see my blog and vote.
I will upload beautiful pictures and designs myself.

Welcome to Steemit! Lets follow and upvote each other! i blog abount Recycling and envorinment!
Regards,
@leranion

Thanks @leranion. I look forward to reading your posts about recycling and the environment.

Hello Ashleigh . I would like to tell you that your introduction hooked me instantly and now I can't wait to see more posts from you. Would you be kind to create them as often as possible because I do think that the Steem Community deserves a person like you.

Thank you and have a nice day/night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48