It's a CHICKENPIG!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey there! My name is Beau White and I am a hyperrealist and figurative oil painter from Melbourne, Australia.
I’m interested in, and compelled to, represent the weird, creepy, grotesque and silly in my art. It’s how I view and interpret the world. My work could be summarised as playfulness and joy holding hands with fear and the unknown.
I'll be using Steemit to showcase my artwork and other things related to my artistic practice and career.

Chickenpig-45cm-x-33cm-Oil-on-panel.jpg

As my first post to Steemit, I thought I'd start out by introducing you all to Chickenpig (oil on board 2012).
This painting was created back in 2012 for the group exhibition TABOO at Last Rites Gallery in NYC curated by Jon Beinart @beinart.

Chickenpig-Detail.jpg

The intention of this piece was to create a grotesque, yet undeniably charming, chimera type creature that could potentially be the horrific result of genetic engineering gone mad, or perhaps the miraculous product of a forbidden romance in the farmyard.
Chickenpig in reality is a sculpture I made from Super Sculpey which I coloured with glazes of oil paint and photographed for painting reference.

interviewpic2.jpg

Me in my studio with "Vanitas No. 1" - oil on board 2017
To check out my other work and join my mailing list Click here

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Find you trought @beinart :) The paintings look really awesome and can't wait to see more! And great shirt btw :D

upvoted and following!

I love this, it rides the line between Awww that's adorable and Awww, help me, which I really like. I love story in art and a narrative is always uppermost in my mind when I am making art so I love to see it in art that I view. This has volumes of narrative and story. I also have personally hatched chickens many times and when those eggs that don't make it get cracked open (becaue I have to see what happened in there) you are often faced with stages of develpment that make you feel both aww cute and aww poor thing. Though I have never had one with hooves :)
Amazing. @beinart is introducing me to so many amazing artists, you are nailing it @beinart!

Thank you, amazing piece. It made me smile and when art does that, it's magical to me.

I'm glad to hear that. Some people frown at it :)

Our group of artists is growing exponentially on Steemit! Great - I found you because a friend resteemed your post (which now I also did) - following and upvoting!
I bet @beinart got you into this - so welcome to Steemit!
The best art posts I am also sharing on my twitter account, so here is yours, but check out my twitter page, scroll down and see what I shared there lately (most of it from Steemit).
https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/994902999330893826

Thanks @thermoplastic :) Yes, Jon is responsible :D Also, thanks for the share on twitter!

Welcome! Nice to have you here with us. Let me know if you have any questions by listing them here, and I will try to answer them for you. Good luck!

I like weird, creepy and grotesque stuff, so I am looking forward to more of your posts. :D best of luck here :D

Love you Bobo!

Love you too, JonJon!

haha - you guys are hilarious! Hugs to everyone - and our community here is growing!

AWESOME - I think you will be noticed!

Welcome to Steemit! It's good to see talented artist joined the community. You have very nice art in your gallery :).

-upvoted-

Holy Shit dude that first image looks amazing the one with the coins on the eyes is cool as well. Will be checking out your new stuff and welcome to steemit from South Africa

Greetings, beauwhiteart! I wish you an awesome journey here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71