Introduction: expectation vs reality

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

I’m @gabeboy and I am deeply convinced that you’re not interested in my real name or a photo of me holding a sheet of paper with the date and a sentence ‘I love Steemit!’ or something similar. By the way, I’m a very private person and you should respect this! In additions, my dog looks more impressive :-)

introduction.jpg

I’ve been here for a while and I’m giving you a typical introduction post with comments based on my experiences.

Let’s jump to the usual (ass-kissing) part:

First of all, I am really happy I found about Steemit as a social network. I've been waiting so long for this moment! I thought that the approval would last forever! I am extremely eager that finally, I could join this great community!
I’m so excited! It’s an excellent opportunity to establish new connections, relations. I’m pretty sure that I will find real friends here!

(Just to make it clear, steemit.com approves tones of spam accounts every single day. Only ordinary human beings have to wait so fucking long…. Good start, isn’t it? You aren’t having seconds thoughts, are you? You have no clue what awaits you here. Complete ignorance, crapflood on trending page, flag war, despair. Yes, you’re right, you have all the reasons to be excited. The dropout rate is above 80% in a year. You’d rather post with #introduceyourself tag when you have made your decision in a few weeks that you can stay here.)

Skills

I can hardly wait for discovering this unbelievable place!

(I’ve been here for five months, I’m still waiting for discovering this place. The site is so simple as a friction drive. With the same features. Yes, it’s still beta. For a few years. If you need some information you have to search for hours, and you’ll find thousands of helpful posts of users full of contradictions. Be sharp!)

I'm interested in cryptocurrencies, blockchain, computer, photography, art, farming, movies, psychology, science, history, and ballet-dance.

(Oh shit! Are you sure that you didn’t miss anything? Bell-founding, maybe? I love polymaths!)

Promises

During my journey here on steemit.com I will produce quality content for my precious followers. My dream is to be a full-time Steemian! I have my skills to grab the attention of the people and I can just hope that you will appreciate my blog with your upvotes! My aim is to be a useful ‘steem engine’ of the Steemian Community.

(Wake up, Dorothy, you’re not in Kansas anymore! It does not matter how talented you are in any field on your list! At least at the beginning. Your remarkable posts will be blown away by day-dreamers’ crapflood. And sooner or later, you’ll realize that hardly anybody gives a shit about the quality content. These local cretins can use the bots like Yoda the Force, others have all-mighty friends. While you spend a few days with research and writing, you’ll rewarded by 3-5 upvotes worth $0.0, someone post a photo of a fart of her fiancé and he’ll receive $600. Sooner or later you’ll come to the point that there’s no sense in investing hours in your post. It’s more than enough to learn a few tricks, investing in Steem or SBD and you’ll have a tiny corner at the big-fish’s table.)

Consequences

And now, the comment section starts being flooded by honest or pretended welcome messages, and even some bots start commenting this post…

WELCOME ME TO STEEMIT.COM!

@gabeboy

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. I wish we can be friends through common interests :)

I am a bot. We noticed you used the 'introduceyourself' tag for the 2nd time in 5 years so you are being blacklisted for tag abuse and for being a complete knob head.
Please refrain from taking the piss out of Steemit as the whales will cry whaletears as they count their millions of circle jerked SP.
Other issues:-

  1. Your whale arse licking was a pathetic effort
  2. That was MY fiancee farting and it was worth much more than the pathetic $600 it recieved.
  3. Dogs cant be members. Unless you join the new steemit monsters card game and spend at least 100sbd on virtual cards that dont actually do anything then make a post about it bemoaning the fact you only got 1 elite card.

Welcome to Steemit, I look forward to some 'quality content' like what the whales post. Posting quality content is the best way to earn peanuts which you can then feed to the spam monkeys.
Please DONT follow me, I wont follow you as I only follow whales for their 0.01c upvotes a d to be honest, I have too many fuckwits fo!lowing me already. Thankyou

PS this comment was self upvoted for gree....errr visability

PPS please join the #whalebaiters discord channel which I havent started yet but every spammy whale fucktard seems to have one but this one will be where we secretly discuss the best tactics for massaging whale egos in the hope of getting an upvote....just as an example, jerrybanfield likes being complimented on his sexual prowess and exyle likes his beard stroking

Yes, yes, yes! My 'amazing' journey here would be so fucking boring and desperate without bots like you, @nathen007! :-D

incredible :-D

LOL the promises of making big money is the reason so many people come (and then go) from Steem - people come expecting crazy gains and only earn a few dollars in their first weeks (if they are lucky!). You need persistence on here thats for sure!

I agree with you. Persistence is the key.

Looks a lot like real world with "elite", "middle class", "workers" and "all the rest forgotten souls". I'm still newbie here, just looking around and let's see, what happens...

Great post and welcome. I see you're up and running :)

A very good post depicting the Steemit reality. I joined back in February and I noticed all the things you described. Nevertheless, I will say a sincere 'welcome'. Steemit is not an ideal world but it is a better thing than Facebook. 🙂

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Welcome to Steem, @gabeboy!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2850 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : Back to normal - Change in resteem feature.

Bienvenido a la gran familia Steemit, tienes la oportunidad de crecer, recibiendo clases de Negocios, Liderazgo, arte, poesía y comunicación, por eso te invito a participar en esta importante escuela.
Únete aquí
https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G
Welcome to the great Steemit family, you have the opportunity to grow, receiving business classes, Leadership, art, poetry and communication, so I invite you to participate in this important school.
Join here
https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G

Enlace: https://steemit.com/@nellita66Steemit_Schools_LOGO.gif

https://discord.gg/Kkbkewk

Ingresa aquí para detalles.
https://steemit.com/steemschools/@nellita66/steem-schools-ultimate-challenge-5000-sbd-prize-steem-schools-invitation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80