Introduction to Me!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Heyo!

glenn-steemit-sm.png

My name is Glenn and I'm a new user here on Steemit.

I know nothing about this blockchain social media thing, so I'm here to explore and I guess make some money. Mostly though to learn how this blockchain technology is going to change how we do social media.

I'm an independent game developer, comic book author, illustrator, and writer based out of Los Angeles. Sounds cliche, right? But, it feels like that fits better with my personality and creative endeavors.

I used to live in the San Francisco Bay Area and I worked at a big game publisher making stuff that you probably know and love. Now I work at a startup mobile game company here in Hollywood.

Our Mobile Game

In between these two jobs, I ran my own indie game studio with a friend. It's called Prismwave. It was a two-man operation and we managed to publish two games on our own. You can find one of them on Android:

Here's is Toodle's Toboggan

It's an endless runner snowboarding, skiing, and sledding game. You do tricks and score big points to unlock new characters.

My Webcomic

On my own, I made my own webcomic for many years called This Mortal Coil.

This Mortal Coil is about a young modern Shinto deity named Kamiko. She fights yokai and demons and helps mortals who become entangled with the gods. It's an expression of my love of all things Japanese -- traditional and pop cultural.

I finished the first story of This Mortal Coil in 2016. It's entitled The Rabbit and the Moon.

therabbitandthemoon-frontcover-cropped-web.png

If you're not down with reading it on the web, I also have physical copies available for sale. You'll have to inquire me for more details as I don't really have an e-shop or Etsy page setup to facilitate it. Yeah, I know... I'm super business minded, aren't I?

I think of myself as an artist first, but producing my webcomic and mobile games like Toodle's Toboggan has taught me that I need some business and marketing aptitude as well. So, I'm working on it...

This Mortal Coil isn't dead yet. In fact there's some other shorter run comics you can read on the site.

Kindle Books

I thought I'd do another comic, but it's time consuming and not something I have in any great supply these days. Not that I ever did, but somehow I pulled it off... maybe youth or just being crazy. A little bit of both I suppose. And a work ethic.

Instead of a comic, my idea for This Mortal Coil is a book series on Amazon Kindle. I can still indulge in some art by making the cover, but I can write my story faster than I can draw it. Right now this idea exists only as a... well, concept. I need to do my research. Which genre does it fit? What are the stories -- I have a ton of ideas, but they need organization and to be built into character and story arcs. It's a huge todo, and probably something I can document here on Steemit.

Although all this talk about merging the business and art of making things brings me to my other project. Yeah, I have another one... a book series I started on Kindle which I'm trying to revive called The Mechanical Bird. It's a long story and I'll tell it another time. Here's a new version the cover for the first book:

mechanical_bird_cover_kindle_book1_v2.png

Art

I have a lot of art I've done in the past. Some of it's pinup girls. Some of it's Lolita Fashion. Some of it's 3D. All of it's original stuff by me. I used to co-run an art group up in the SF Bay Area called Drawing Meats and I had a lot of fun sketching with those guys.

Here's a sample:
"La Dominatrice"
Catherine-La-Dominatrice-color.png

Collage of illustrations I did for my Lolita Fashion Coloring Book:
lolitafashioncoloringbook-facebook-820-by-340-header.png

Which you can buy on Amazon...

Social

You can find me on twitter as @AlbinoGrimby and on Instagram with @Albinogrimby too.

So that's who I am and what I do. If you want to talk game development with Unity, Blender, or whatever I'm down. It's a subject I know a good deal about. If you want to chat about making comics and books ping me.

As for this site, I'll post my ongoing adventures in book authoring. Maybe I'll post some of my old comic strips and artwork and see if there's any reaction to it.

Until then, have a good one!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @glennsong! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

welcome to steemit

Hey Glenn, my name’s Brian - nice to meet you! I’ll definitely follow along, as I relate to your efforts to organize your fiction into book form, and to your artistry (I was born with a raw talent for drawing, though opted to waste it because I just don’t like the activity enough to work up my skill).

I believe mobile games to be a disease with no redeeming qualities that have infested video game culture and humanity in general to wicked ends, but TMC looks awesome, and I can forgive the transgression because I just have a good feeling about you! Hahahahaha

Welcome aboard, Glenn. I look forward to your posts!

Nice to meet you Brian! I don't disagree with you on mobile games, but my views on them are much more complex now that I've been working in that space for a while. Thanks, I'm glad you think TMC looks cool.

Welcome @glennsong! Your art is pretty awesome.

Many years ago when I was an aspiring young child, I want to be a video game programmer/developer. I think I researched that I would have to go to Seattle, which at the time had the only "programming" school and it wasn't even considered as part of a college education. Not sure how my life would have turned out if I had taken that path.

Oh yeah, Digipen. It was a vocational school, but now a lot of colleges have game development programs. I do recall reading about Digipen and I wanted to go there too. It was (no pun intended) the only game in town. I spent my time as a kid/teen learning how to code on my own. Making games is fun, but hard work. Nowadays there's a lot of ways to learn how to make games online and off. There's lots of free tools, tech, and outlets to (self-)publish games too. It's a wide open world, but pretty daunting too.

That was many years ago (25 years to be exact). Now I am in the boring field of finance.

Re: direction of your steemit - Maybe you can release your stories and art once per day on this platform. Steemit isn’t productive to produce too much materials over a 24-hr period anyway. Perhaps go into detail about the piece. Good luck. It’s still a relatively young medium.

Thanks. I have plenty of material I can reuse from other platforms that could see new life here. I need to figure out a post schedule and what's reasonable with the amount of time I have.

Welcome @glennsong

I take this opportunity to invite you to join STEEMSCHOOLS is a business school in steemit, where you can learn:

  • Publish professionally
  • Generate more profits with your post
  • Earn money just by commenting

We have live classes on DISCORD every day.
JOIN UP https://discord.gg/Sf6YH6j

ALL LIVE CLASS.jpg

Hello! The company has great prospects and I want to become a friend to do more ;

Hey tatyanablog, it's nice to meet you!

Welcome to steemit @glennsong. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Hello, glennsong! I wish you make many new friends here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) All the Best

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Hey cheneats! I hope to make new friends from around the world here as well. I'll check out the discord channels!


Welcome to Steem @glennsong.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Congratulations @glennsong! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13