Hey Steemit, @Jckento here, and this is my Introduce Yourself post!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit
My name is Julio, I’m a 27 years old guy from Venezuela, I have a day job as lawyer, but what has really brought me to Steemit is my love for all things gaming, board games, fantasy, Sci-Fi and some real world history sprinkled in too, I guess you could call me a full blown geek.

jckento pic.JPG

Let me tell you a bit about myself then, I’m married to the wondrous, beautiful and talented @milo.mar (we had our first wedding anniversary last April) and related to the also beautiful and talented @mariandreapf (my sister) and @tsukuyomi (my cousin). I went to law school at Caracas and I’ve been a lawyer for almost five years now and It’s been my day-job ever since I graduated.

Like many of you I’ve always loved gaming, and I’ve spent countless hours immersed in these imaginary worlds of awe and challenge and I always loved the stories behind them, mechanics were a big part of it too, but what has always gripped me about games were the made-up realities behind their plots and worlds, their stories.

Then came that day growing up when I discovered that there were genres for those games and movies I loved like fantasy and Sci-Fi, that discovery expanded my horizons to the vast well of pop culture that is modernity and introduced me to the likes of Tolkien, Lovecraft, H.G. Wells, Bram Stocker and many more.

My favorite gaming franchises are Metal Gear, Castlevania, Final Fantasy, Kingdom Hearts (yeah really) Dark Souls, Civilization, KOTOR (almost all of the Starwars games really), the whole of Nintendo’s first party intellectual property (Mario, Zelda, Metroid and more) the whole of Blizzard’s IPs too, and a bunch of great indie games like Sunless Sea, Terraria, The Binding of Isaac, Minecraft, and much, much more.

All those wonderful stories captivated me, and they have stolen countless hours of my free time, awakening in me the drive to create my own stories. At first these were simple stories to the games I imagined as a teen, but then I discovered player-oriented development tools such as the Starcraft and Warcraft Map Editor and that’s when I really had the opportunity to channel my creativity. Entire weeks were spent plopping trees and tweaking units’ attack speed (the old war3 map editor had the most hilarious stuff you could mess with)

And then there was Dungeons & Dragons, I was already in my twenties when found out about it, I mean, I knew about it before, but like many others never really paid it any attention until someone invited me to play, and it was AMAZING, the possibilities were infinite.

923823984.jpg (Photo by @lizfernandezg, she's my mom btw!)

Then I wanted to be a Dungeon Master, it took me couple of clumsy tries but when I managed to do a good job at it, I had found a way to channel my drive to create worlds and stories and bring my friends and family together to play in them.

So this is probably what I'm going to spend most of my steemit energy on, world building and storycrafting in games, so probably a lot of D&D for now.

I think that’s a good enough intro for now, so to summarize (TL;DR), I’m a gamer, I love world building and storycrafting and I’m currently DMing a ton as a result of that.

Alright! so, thank you so much for your time, I hope we get to make and share a lot of good content and have fun in Steemit! Feel free to contact me, at [email protected]

Cheers!

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform. Nice to meet you as well. We happy to have you here!

I am very happy with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Here are link you might find useful:

http://www.steemapps.info/

This blog is a list of the best web apps interconnected to Steem Blockchain. Moreover, any useful feedback on our blog would get back a shared reward. (COMING SOON)


Continue doing good post.
Kind Regards,
@lytieulong

Cool! I'll check those recommendations out

Welcome to steemit mate, looks like you've got mostly bots so far, but so I'll try be a bit more personal!

Great to have yet another geek on steem! Look forward to seeing what you have to share re some of those games especially the Final Fantasy franchise which I love the concept of but have never gotten in to!

keep up the good posts mate :)

Nice! thanks for the warm welcome, I'll be sharing a ton of content in the comming days, so be sure to drop by and we'll have a nice chat about the topic at hand. I'll also make sure to check out your posts, so let's make the community grow.

Cheers bro!


Welcome to Steemit @jckento!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

More bots! good bot.
pats head

Welcome My love <3 <3

Thank you my dear wife :DDDD

Welcome to Steem, @jckento!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2325 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.

Cool, thanks bot!

Welcome bro@jckento😀

Thanks @drekkelly, cheers mate!

This is my actual mom guys, thanks mom!

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 6k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from--> click link
https://discord.gg/dKsHwVz
Join the steemschool on discord channel today

Well hello there, those are some interesting topics you named there, I'll be sure to check it out.

Thanks for commenting!

@jckento, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!

Please give me a follow and take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam.
(tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Thanks @introduce.bot you're a good bot!
pats bot head

Welcome Julio! One of my best friends is Venezuelan. I have been keeping a close eye to whats happening in your country, hope the situation improves soon!

Hey! thanks for the well wishes, times are hard but we'll pull through

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97