The Time When I Had a Brain Tumor

52CFEF18-98BE-4A8B-A6DB-9E6E0953AD0F.jpeg

Hello Fellow Steemians. Before I start sharing my adventures with you, I thought I might share something a little interesting about myself. When I was 14 months old I had a brain tumour removed from my right temporal lobe.

EB4538AE-7D41-433B-A92F-48D059FB747F.jpeg
Me before going into surgery.

It all started when I was two months old. I began having petite mal seizures, often described as ‘staring episodes’. Not only was I having these regularly (up to four times a day), I was also vomiting and sleeping unusual amounts of time. At the time, I was diagnosed with epilepsy and was immediately put on drugs to help control the seizures. However, the drugs were not working and the seizures kept occurring for longer periods of time and more regularly. My poor mother at only 21 years of age must have been scared.

8B9167B1-E730-4E9C-BCC0-F5C3C9EFB754.jpeg
My mother and I before my operation.

Then at 14 months of age, I had a grand mal (convulsing) fit for 90 minutes! I was then shipped off by ambulance to the Royal Children’s Hospital in Brisbane, where I was hooked up to an IV and given a cocktail of drugs to help control the fitting. After many tests, they had discovered what is called a grade 2 astrocytoma (a large abnormal mass of astrocyes, a type of cell which is found in the central nervous system) on my right temporal lobe (the front right part of my brain).

The tumour extended through to my right carotid artery (one of the two main arteries that goes up the neck and supplies oxygenated blood to the brain); and right optic nerve. After the removal of the abnormal mass, a portion of my second and third nerves were left exposed, however still intact. As I was young, my brain was still rapidly developing, therefore my recovery was excellent (although I did have left sided weakness for a few days due to the nerve exposure). I am lucky to say that I don’t have many permanent effects as I would have if it occurred later in life as the brain adapts much better in the younger years.

6F42D756-668E-4B64-B9D4-87C671662060.jpeg
Me not long after the operation.

So, what side effects do I still have today? If you read my first post, you will notice photos of me where I can leave one eye straight and the other turned in. I can make this happen due to the muscle weakness in my right eye. Sometimes I find this harder to control if I am tired or really excited. In saying this, I am also blind in my right eye. But you’d never be able to tell as I can do pretty much anything that people with vision in both eyes can (except jobs that require 20/20 vision). As I explained before, two of my nerves and part of my carotid artery were left exposed and on occasion (maybe twice a year), I can get extreme migraines down the right side of my face (shooting pain caused by the nerves). This usually only happens when I am stressed or get hit on the head.

I do believe that I am very lucky, as the tumor has not returned (I usually get a scan every 5 years). Below I have included some of my hospital notes/letters for those with a bit more medical knowledge can gain more insight into my condition. But if you have any questions feel free to ask, my medical knowledge isn’t too shabby, although I am no doctor. 😊

8683B2FD-AFEE-41A5-BAF5-CB1D99160216.jpeg

C0F54B95-010F-47B9-AA78-57EC6460F7FF.jpeg

05375A8B-0E48-46D7-8236-AD6A311A350B.jpeg

15A01D08-DA58-411F-9037-612722D4212D.jpeg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @karliesadventure to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome to Steemit Karlie. I was actually in mid-process of writing a post... about facing adversity, although it is not anything quite like your experience, nor is it medically related. I do discuss about when things seem to be on the down-and-out, they can get better or even get worse (in my case). But one must always climb out and the resulting challenge only makes one stonger. Thanks for sharing your story! Always keep Steemin!

Exactly. I am very lucky. Hopefully whatever you are dealing with gets better soon. Stay strong :)

If you have the time, you can visit my last post. It was a past experience that I dredged up and wrote about.

Wow. What a story. My dear, surgeries are never easy, especially for the family and loved ones. My heart goes out to your Mama, from the photo she seems to be a very strong woman <3

I am pleased to meet you :) My friend @retiredinsamar introduced us :) If you need any tips or advice please do not hesitate to ask- the rebels who are drawn to Steemit are an amazing group, truly the most supportive and encouraging community I have encountered online by far. If you are needing anything we are here for you. And I write a lot about how to succeed with Steemit, so please take a stroll down my page and know I am here for you. I know what it's like to be the new kid, so I promise to sit with you at lunch :)

Thank you @arbitrarykitten. Will do. :)

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit @karliesadventure
following you now.

Congratulations @karliesadventure! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is why I come to steemit every day! I saw your fresh account so I wanted to personally welcome you. Have an upvote and we're all waiting to hear more from you!
As you are new to steemit and it can be hard for newcomers to boost their steem power so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.
PS! If you would like to get free cryptocurrency by airdrop then www.powtoken.com is giving away free tokens to everyone who signs up using only a facebook account!

Hay it shows that you really fell more pain then any other I welcome you here over steemit nd wish for your better future

No pain now. Happy with where life is taking me. Glad you enjoyed my post.

Thank for your response over my comment boss

I have been here since June 2017, and still loving it!

Hi, How r u you, I follow you in Steemit, please follow me.

Congratulations @karliesadventure! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64