Hi, Mayara here. My introduction to steemit and advice to fellow starters.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

outandrelaxing.jpg

Hi, I am Mayara from Fortaleza, Brazil. I am a language instructor. A fitness aficionado. A student of life and above all believer of live and let live.

workmode.jpg

I trained as a Portuguese instructor in a college here and for a while, I've been teaching in Centro de Educação Profissional Jornalista Cristiano Donato.

IMG_20180510_144625_228.jpg

IMG_20180510_152044_554.jpg

I have been learning English language ever since I began to talk because my mom knows a little of it from travelling English countries in USA and Europe. She was a nurse and worked foreign mission in most of her career. Though late now, her impact, memory and achievements still remain with me.

While growing up, I was exposed to English literature books, fictional story books and motivational/works of biography.

I stumble upon this sites name on a Quora.com answer. A simple Google Search then gave me an idea of what it was but visiting the website confused me at first.

Sites and reviews mentioned it to be social media and then as the millennial I am,

IMG_20180510_152013_244.jpg

I was thinking to see a site with two to three posts and then I saw long reads. Some great, others average and a large part mediocre.

You can guess I came at the time the bots 's no bots debate was ongoing. The whales raping reward pool debate, the haejin/berniesanders showdown, the dmania debacle and the yallapapi sharkeschool initiative.

All good overall. My opinion and from the little I learned here is that everyone contributes to the growth of steemit and in the end those who stick around will reap even greater rewards than what is obtainable now.

Why do you join steemit?

Everyone should answer the above question I think. If not openly by way of a post, then in his heart.

I believe by having a definite purpose which should include improving one's self, this site will grow in unique and quality contents.

thought.jpg

My own answer is, I joined because I see it as an opportunity to improve my written English, interact with people from different parts of the world. And then lastly earn to support my writing and reading habit.

More about me

maya.jpg

I am not much of an outdoor person. I spend time with my friends mostly indoors and sometimes at a beach.

outandrelaxing.jpg

I have only been in a relationship once. Lost the love of my life to a car accident. Ever since then I've been numb about opening up to potential partners. Is this something good or bad, I'm still trying to figure it out.

My contribution to the steemit community

You'll be reading and salivating on Portuguese recipes from me. You'll also read about lessons and short summaries of books I read.

I am also an advocate of medical marijuana, therefore you'll be reading about medicinal properties of it.

I'll also be posting on fitness and with images from workouts to make everything enticing. I've to admit, I'll be reading posts much more than I can write because reading improves my vocabulary and give me a glimpse of life outside the shores of my country.

To new entrants here, I'll advise you take time to familiarize yourself with the platform. That's what I've been doing the first time I signed up and was waiting for approval. Unfortunately I wasn't approved, had to buy this account through blocktrades.

Therefore take your time to read anything and everything on how to succeed here. When writing, write your heart out then organize it. Use a language that is relatable yet knowledgeable for effective communication and lastly be your own harshest critic for proper editing and quality posts.

Thanks and apologies for poor quality of the images, it was taken with my Android phone.

Nice to meet you all.

Sort:  

hey Mayara, welcome to this great community

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Thank you for your kind words.

Thank you for your kind words.

@miss-izzy, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!
Please take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam. (tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Thanks, I'll read it.

Welcome to Steem, @miss-izzy!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2351 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.

Hey I like your post its cool, Follow back pleaseLetter Gothic-01-01.png


Welcome to Steemit @miss-izzy!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

I have an Android phone too. Brazil is cool. I want to go there. I'm from the USA & was in Canada, New York, California, Hawaii, Vietnam. Love your fun photos. You are lovely and smart. Yeah, the bot debate is interesting. A bot is like Google Ads in some ways or it can be. A bot is like a program or a thing, like a feature which can cost money. Facebook makes billions of dollars each year off of people. But the people don't get that money. Facebook has ads. They make money. And bots can help people make money too. I'm Oatmeal. Nice to meet you, Mayara or Miss Izzy.

Thanks for the explanation. I also hope to one day visit the USA.

Welcome to this community :)

I appreciate. Thanks

Hi @miss-izzy! Welcome to Steemit community!!!

HELLO AND WELCOME TO STEEMIT WISH U SUCCESS ON STEEMIT
@miss-izzy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71