Hello, Steemit! Time to Introduce Myself

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Hello, Steemit! My name is Mon Cope. I am a Doctor and an Artist. Never separately, but always both.

I have constantly made it known from the start that the two things I am strikingly passionate about are Art and Medicine. Albert Einstein, at the peak of his fame for his Theory of Special Relativity, has been known to say, “After a certain high level of technical skill is achieved, science and art tend to coalesce in aesthetics, plasticity, and form. The greatest scientists are always artists as well. I couldn’t agree more.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This is me, excising a Ganglion Cyst of a patient at the Outpatient Department. Taken last January 2017.

When I am not in the hospital, my tools of trade are: sketching, digital collage, mixed media, freestyle writing, and video editing (--this, I recently just started). Most of my artworks have a recurring theme of Medicine. Here are some of them:

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
An artwork I have submitted for an Online Art Exhibit entitled, "The Anatomy of Being Human". This was in 2014.

Image and video hosting by TinyPicPersonalized gift wraps; handpainted and digitally rendered into patterns, 2016.

Image and video hosting by TinyPicA page from my journal, 2018

In my efforts of merging these 2 concepts—Art and Science—in 2013, my friends and I launched the Organization of Health Artists of the Philippines (OHAP) a gathering of artists who are adept and passionate in the field of health sciences; we fondly call these talents and creatives as “Health Artists”—the shapers and heroes of the conceptual age. In OHAP, we have generated fundraising art exhibits, gigs, and workshops for the pursuit of health promotion and education, for the endorsement of the talents of the Filipino health artists, as well as for extending our help to those who need us the most.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

In OHAP, I have almost indispensably lived and learned John Keating's best loved quote, "Medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for." And since then, it has become my way of life.

Despite my busy schedule, I still like hanging out with my family, friends, and colleagues. My mood most of the time is introspective. Everyday, I make sure to put into whitepaper the things which have transpired for the day. I’ve learned that the biggest lie has always been this—Nothing of importance happened today.

Thank you for taking time to read this (I get a bit chatty sometimes lol ). I am excited to create more art and to write letters to you in this long run. And similarly, I will be awaiting for posts at your end. May we all stick together in this wonderful journey. :)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @monicacope! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you for notifying me. It’s been really helpful. All the best to you and your endeavor 😊

Great intro Monica :) Hopefully you are not entirely right with the connection between being a great scientist and a artist - I want to be a doctor to, but I have 0 artist skills!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for sharing promising newcomers!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Art comes in all forms, I believe. And it’s definitely not the end-all and be-all of becoming a great doctor. 😊 I’d like to wish you luck on your chosen path to be a doctor. It’s gonna be really hard but absolutely worth it. 😊 Good luck and cheers!

Also, thank you for resteeming this post! I followed your @welcoming account and it's good to see like-minded people in there. Keep it up! :)

Amazing Talent!

You're very talented; that was a beautiful introduction - welcome to Steemit.

Thank you! 😊

Awesome intro, Monica! It's so cool to meet someone balancing these two ambitions. You have a great perspective.

Aww. Thank you. Much appreciated! 😊

Welcome to Steemit @monicacope..Nice post! All the best!

Welcome to Steemit, Monica! :) Your artworks are simply amazing! I find them very beautiful, since you've incorporated them so well with medicine.

I have mixed feelings (fear and excitement, mostly) for starting medicine next year. I just don't know what to expect except very demanding academic requirements and sleepless nights... do you have any anecdotes or tips you'd want to share? :)

Thank you so much! I’ll ne writing a blog about that! So excited to share it with you. I’ll tag you in it for sure 😊

Awesome! I'll definitely look forward to them! :D

Congratulations @monicacope! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you! :)

hi @monicacope welcome to steemit.im @lorner.

Thank you, Lorner! 😊

Hi Monica. Welcome to Steemit - I'm sure you're going to love it here.

I really liked your introduction because I was fascinated to see that you are both a doctor and an artist. Your artwork is extremely good and I like how you’ve been able to combine the two. You’re very talented.

I will follow you on Steemit because I’m intrigued to read your future posts.

In the meantime, good luck with your Steemit journey. :-)

P.S. These following sites will help you a lot on Steemit. I use them myself and so I can definitely recommend them. They’ll make it a lot easier for you to keep track of everything.

https://steem.makerwannabe.com/ (You can monitor those who follow and unfollow you)

https://steemstats.com/#!/ (This one is great for monitoring your account and statistics)

https://www.steemnow.com/ (This one allows you to monitor your voting power)

Let me know if you need any help with anything.

Giles @tam-lin

It's fun to merge the Art and Science, but it's never easy. But then, I can't imagiine doing other things apart from these 2. :) I'm still getting used to the technicalities here in Steem, so thank you for the informative links. They're of great help. Best of luck to us in this journey! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43