Hola! Newcomer here! Excited to explore a NEW WORLD!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

My name is Myriam. I'm 33 years old and just moved to the US to continue my graduate studies in the field of International Relations and Political Science in Houston. I've done different things in my life. Studied English Literature, then Anthropology. I worked as a typist, secretary, translator/interpreter, teacher, researcher, writer...

But my oldest dream has always been to become a war correspondent or investigative journalist. Though I have not achieved it yet. But I'm not planning on giving it up though people around me keep telling me that I need to settle down, have kids, grow roots.... But I dont feel like it. I like traveling around the world. I've been to many countries but there are many more countries that I've not seen yet. I also love living in different countries, not just visiting; I love to get to know people of other cultures and sampling different languages. Learning languages is another passion of mine; and stories... I like reading and telling stories, in words and in pictures.

IMG_1198_Fotor1.jpg

Few years ago it seemed like I was straying from my dream, that my life was becoming the repetition of work, earn money, spend. But now I finally feel like I'm doing something which I was supposed to do and it might sound corny but it feels like every step I've ever taken has played a part in getting me here, where I am now. Everything is finally and slowly starting to make sense. It's weird... after so many years and doing so many things, you'd think I should've made sense of my life till now. But the truth is no. I'm still looking for that sense of belonging, not to a place, cause I've never felt at home anywhere... but to a passion. and it feels like IR is the passion I've always looked for.

Nice to meet all of you. I hope I can find and make good friends here.

DSC_0309.jpg

Sort:  

Hey Myriam! Welcome to Steem! We're glad to have you here!

I am a Steem curator and have started a new series "The Daily 5" where I pick five new Steemians to share with my followers that they should know about. I have selected you as one of my five for today. Your post has been featured in my post you can find here: The Daily 5.

Unlike some of the bots and follow 4 follow spammers you will find in the Introduction tag, my work is 100% human and without any required response from you. While I invite you to come check out the post and interact in the comments, nothing further is required but that you enjoy your time here on Steem!

Have a great day! Looking forward to seeing more of you on the platform!!

I was born in Texas and lived there for most of my life. Some say Texas is like another country. Glad you made it to Steemit.

I'm loving it. I've not been able to see much of Texas but what I've seen has been amazing. People are by far the best thing about this place. I honestly didn't expect to find such kindness in strangers.

Hello Myriam! Welcome to Steemit! It's nice to meet you. Wow! I actually thought many times about how the work of war correspondents is dangerous, it's very interesting to me that you have a dream of becoming one! I also get you on what you have written about belonging to a passion. I feel at home everywhere because of my passion. I've found your post through the post of @mikepm74, who wrote about you in his Daily Five for December post. My experience on Steemit is that I should have read FAQ earlier, should have read more posts on what advantageous strategies to take here on Steemit, and I should join Discord, PAL earlier :) please ask if you need any help! Besides, I strongly recommend following Mike, he was the first person to welcome me here, has always been helpful to me and publishes many useful, proactive and simply wonderful posts ;) Thank you Myriam for your interesting introduction post. Hope you will find Steemit rewarding, I myself as an inspiring artist feel very lucky for joining Steemit! Good luck and all the best, Klaudia :)

Thanks! I know my mom always says I'm crazy for wanting to do this, but I find it very rewarding, you know, reporting the reality on the ground.
Many thanks for your kind words and useful tips. I'll certainly read FAQ and check out Discord. I'm also happy that I found this place!

Great! See you on Steemit, Myriam :)

Welcome onboard! Hope you'll find it great in here..

Thank you! I hope so. actually I'm very optimistic about this new community.

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @myriam to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64