[@PSA Introduciton] You are losing STEEM by doing SBD to STEEM Conversion

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

PSA Icon Large.JPG

Steem Dollar conversion to STEEM uses a currently incorrect assumption

The assumption that the conversion process makes is that 1 Steem Backed Dollar (SBD) is equal to $1.00. At the time of this post one SBD is equal to $1.573 which means that by doing conversion you will be missing out on $0.573 worth of STEEM for EVERY SBD converted. You are far better off using the Steemit Internal Market to trade your SBD for STEEM at the current market rate. This will remain true until the SBD price is less than $1.03.

Announcing the @PSA account

I, @leongkhan, have created the @psa account in order to inform Steem user about mistakes they are making that are causing them to lose money or creating security risks for their accounts. Our first campaign is tackling the all too common conversion of SBD to STEEM using the wallet tool while SBD is worth more than $1.

I send out messages to accounts which the blockchain indicates are using this tool to warn them directly instead of hoping that they will stumble across a warning post.

If you have an idea for other messages that need to go out or would like to support the cause, please let me know in the comments below. I'm working writing a script to automate this process, if you are good with Python and can do it quickly I'd gladly take the help.

Disclaimer

Rewards from this post will be used for messaging capital and this account will also be used to upvote posts as I see fit.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! enjoy it here
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Welcome to Steemit @psa :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Lucky me, I am one of the people listed above! I did get your note though and I will definitely be doing this in the future! Thanks for the tip!

I had posted about this about two month ago, though didn't have the nice charts to go with it! But my latest post might be of even more interest, as it's worth potentially even more than that in savings:

Link: DON'T POWER UP YOUR POSTS WHEN SBD IS WORTH MORE THAN USD!

Welcome to Steem @psa I have sent you a tip

Thank you so much for the warning! I have unfortunately already started converted a bunch of Steem Dollars but going forward I will not make this mistake again.

thank you! upvoted, resteemed, followed... but I guess it's too late for my conversion this time?

I do not know of a way to stop it.

no biggie @psa - next time.

Good idea to dedicate an account to this I've spent a couple of nights posting a comment in every post I found with the 100% power up on telling them to go 50/50, than using the internal market, but I gave up on that in the end.

Still, since I'v been keeping an eye on it the amount of SBD out there has risen from 1,600,000 to over 2000000 is just about two weeks, so I guess that quite a few people have got the message...

How do you go to 50/50?

When you post a new topic, you have a box somewhere on the right side of your sceen, just below the box where you entered your text.

It's besides "rewards" and just above the tickbox "upvote yourself"

Ah, fantastic, thanks so much!

Welcome to Steemit @psa!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here!
Unfortunately, I can not make an upvote of your record - my steem power is still small. But in the future I will come back and do it. If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me.
Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and I hope you will follow me.
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

GJ, @psa. Thanks very much.
Followed and resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62