Hello Steemians! I don't normally post my pic online, but when I do, it's captioned with Morse code

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

About Me

My name is Raven, and I came to Steemit by way of wanting to stay relevant in a rapidly changing world, and by researching income diversity. I am a self admitted nerd and love exploring conspiracy theories, relating them to science fiction, and linking them to 'reality'. I like that I can nerd out whenever I want and still feel good about it.

As a  member of the 8 to 5 working middle class, we have to rely on a modest community garden space, working odd jobs, selling homemade products, bartering, and plain just helping someone else out. A few months ago, my partner and I decided to start our own garden care service. Not only will we be helping ourselves getting off of that wheel, we will be helping others with food security in a sustainable way.

Waking Up

My true awakening began in 2000 when I was immersed into the depths of ‘conspiracy theories’ and learned that my favorite sci-fi after school series creator Gene Roddenberry was a time traveler and created the Star Trek franchise to help lead us into a new way of living. How cool is that? I think I would dig living in the 24th century of the Star Trek universe. You? 

Studying the mysteries of life requires a cool head, critical thinking, life experience, and humor. Otherwise, we'd always be preparing for the next apocalypse. 


Full Steem Ahead

Here are of some of my interests. Which of these would you like to read more about?

* DIY home, body, & wellness care and the science behind it: dishwashing detergent, all-purpose cleaner, lip butter, lotion, soap, shampoo, hair rinse, tooth powder, salves & ointments, activated charcoal and bentonite clay.

*Land stewardship, food security, and sustainable lifestyles: gardening, composting, small spaces big diversity, ecosystems, micro-climates, food forests.

*Ethnobotany: focusing on historical and contemporary cultural uses of plants. I wrote a thesis asking the questions: Is it food? Is it medicine? Is there a difference?

*Exploring income diversity: Is it a hobby or a business? How we went from container gardening to a home garden care business in 5 years (OK the business part was just conceived, but it will be exciting to share the journey with you!)

*HAMM radio operator's licensing: I bought the Technician manual so that's a start.

*Science fiction, conspiracy theories, and emerging technology: There's a little truth in all of that woo woo.

Sort:  

Hey Raven! Welcome to Steemit community! You've made great introduction post, keep it that way. There's audience for everything. so good luck to you and steem on!

Hello! Thank you. I'm very excited to steem-binge my Sunday away on my first post.

I love it! I up voted and followed!

You sound like someone me and my community would get along with haha, I think everyone falls into the fear trap of conspiracy theories. Eventually, after a break, iv been working some more magic back into my life! I promised I would never let magic escape, so instead of focusing on super serious conspiracy theories, I figured id do some inner spirtual growth and help the world through plants and permaculture! When all else fails, we still all need to eat and breathe delicious healthy things :P

Yes! I have been focusing on inner work too, and I'm loving life so much more. Did you know that Oregon State University offers a free Permaculture course online through Coursera? I know there's nothing like practical experience, but it helped me take the next step to growing coffee. haha. Thank you for your magic.

Hi! nice photos and introduction
I would like to barter with you with with my follow for karma ^^

Hi @ravenauspicious, glad to meet you here
Welcome to new family btw you have an amazing way to introduce morse codes :)

Welcome to Steem

A new Steemian ^^ hello @ravenauspicious I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Hi Raven, welcome!! I hope you will have good time here!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61410.76
ETH 2867.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61