Cryptocurious Software Engineer, New to Steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

It's me, Roscoe

My name is Roscoe Hart. I'm a 23 year old software developer living in Brisbane, Australia. It all started when I was 7. My brother introduced me to floppy disks before he inserted one into the family computer...

Whacky Wheels. The first computer game I played.
Whacky Wheels. The first computer game I played.

I fell in love instantly. It was magic to me, that by pushing buttons on the keyboard, I could change the outcome of this world inside the screen. But my curiousity didn't end there, I needed to understand how this was possible and how I could harness this magic myself.

Years later, I stumbled across GameMaker, a drag n' drop game builder. I created many small prototypes and attempts at cloning my favourite games. Each time, my ambition got the best of me. Not long after reaching a milestone on my lastest project, would I fall in love with the next hot idea. I soon started feeling the limits of drag n' drop and was once again, I was hungry for more. It wasn't until completing a degree in Computer Science, learning various programming languages, that my lust for programming power was finally satisfied.

I'll never forget you, GameMaker
I'll never forget you, GameMaker

Currently, I work full-time as developer for a multinational corporation that provides software and services to the telecommunication industry. It's a challenging job at times, but I consider myself lucky that my job and my passion are one in the same.

Over the last few years, I've focused my learning in web development. I'm a huge fan of the JavaScript ecosystem and enjoy the rapid pace at which it is evolving. I've learned to use many different frameworks and tools by creating small web apps for fun or as entries for Hackathons.

Speaking of Hackathons, check out my most recent entry, Rangoli Studio. It's a tool for drawing and designing mandalas, inspired by the rangoli I saw in the streets of Banaglore, India. It's a bit rough around the edges as I only had two days to complete it, but I plan rework and re-release it soon.

A simple mandala, created with Rangoli Studio
A simple mandala, created with Rangoli Studio

Recently, I've been learning about blockchain technology, and so far, I'm amazed at what I believe will be possible one day. I think we're headed for a future where everyone can be given equal opportunity and be rewarded fairly for the value they contribute to society.

With so many half-baked projects under my belt, I see Steemit as a fantastic oppurtunity to share my creativity with the world. I plan to polish and open-source many of my past projects and blog about the progress of my latest works.

I hope you look forward to seeing my creations as much as I look forward to sharing them with you!

Roscoe.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit mate.

I lost many hours to game maker back in the day.

Make sure you join teamaustralia

Thanks. What's teamaustralia?

It's a Steemit community made up of Aussies. They are nice people who will help you out. The person who runs it is @choogirl. Just post a message on the post linked below and @choogirl should add you.

https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-update-25-01-18-and-happy-australia-day

You really are a champion :)

Thanks. Wouldn't have even seen this one if he didn't take your advice and join TA.

Great, thanks again. I'll head on over and join.

Welcome to the site! Those wheels sure do look wacky, I can see why they would inspire you.

Hey Roscoe :) Welcome to steemit and team Australia i'm looking forward to your future posts :D x

Welcome to Steemit and Team Australia. If you need any help getting going then please let me know.

I have a similar story to yours. I wrote my first game when I was about 14. It was just a text based dungeon crawler type thing, but it was cool in the early 80s :)

What tools, languages do you use for work? I'm historically more of a .NET and Microsoft guy but I'm trying to learn Linux and Python at the moment.

Hey @buggedout. Thanks for the welcome and mentorship!

Python was the first language I learned at University so it's got a special place in my heart.

At work I use a number of languages like Java, Perl, C++ and a scary in-house language called EPM.

For personal projects, I usually write webapps in JavaScript/TypeScript with React.js for the view, MobX for the state and a collection of complementary libraries.

I really enjoy front-end development so that's where I try to focus my efforts.

Sounds like you've got the right sort of skill set for this platform. Definitely hit me up if I can help you with anything on here and I might hit you up right back for some help with my Python code! :)

Welcome to steemit. Hope u've a nice stay here

Thank you!

I think we are a part of something truly special here, and I welcome you! Another early adopter to this amazing technology.

Thanks for the welcome!

Welcome steemit mate you will find all you need here. Great community around here and quite supportive too

Thanks, I'm glad to be a part of it :)

Sick games bro. Welcome to steemit, follow me if you want to see some gameplay. I'd be down to play some of yours too!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Loading...

Congratulations @roscoeh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59