Trade mill Worker to Digital Product Designer - Here is My Journey and IntrosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Paresh Khatri.jpg

Hola friends , my name is Paresh Khatri a Product Designer, from Surat, India. I was introduced to Steem few days before by @ekitcho and today by writing this introduction so many memories are again coming alive.!

Coming from a lower middle class family from India, for me even owning a drawing book was dream in childhood. But my likelihood towards drawings and art had just started.

I was always very bad in studies , but with drawing the time just flew by. Biggest hit life gave me was when I was forced to drop my education in 12th due to our financial conditions and I was told to search for a job to support family. So thereafter , I started to work in a textile mill on daily wages.

weaving-textile.jpg

Along with this my passion towards art grew and I started looking for ways to make this as my career.

Till the time I reached 20 years of age I had sold umbrellas, snacks on street and now I was working as a delivery boy and also at the mill for our daily needs. This was the time when my cousin introduced me to the world of designs.

Knowing that my hobby can also be part of my income , I immediately was interested and started learning it. But the question was to have, first a computer and then have internet access to learn online. So I decided to join a IT company as a Office boy who serves you tea, does office work and sometimes get to work on computer too.

5-gui-photoshop.jpg

Thanks to my guru (mentor) Mr Ashvin Savani (that time was owner of this firm http://www.avinashi.com) who was happy to see a young boy passionate about design. He started allowing me to access PC after office hours where now i could learn UI/UX .

From here my journey began, in morning I would be a office boy and in night a student hungry for learning. I loved to sleep in office just to save time from going home and coming back and wanted to just learn. After 2 years of learning, the boss saw my design work and was very impressed of my work. He took a chance and sent my designs to a client. And yes that got approved. (My first design attached)

bfs.png

The most happiest day of my life and you can say most strange day in office was when a office boy got promoted as Junior Designer. My first salary as a designer was Rs1500 and i was gushing with happiness.

After this I never looked back, learning and working 16-18 hours a day everyday made me better day by day. After working as a designer for few years I started freelancing and was blessed to be part of design community. Slowly getting clients and working on new styles daily finally I managed to earn enough to own small house on loan

My parents being skeptical about how I will payback the loan I was confident on my hard work and new found talent.

Its that day and this day , I am now in this industry since more than 10 years and have worked with companies like Adobe, Groupon, Housing, Salesforce, Kayako, Lux and many more. (Please check of my work below.)

()

preview (1).png

homepage (1).png

Explore more at http://www.dribbble.com/kpdesigns.

I love to write, speak and travel making new friends. Design is my passion and this passion made me meet my love of life ( now my wife :) ) Sonika Sharma too, who too owns a IT Firm (who would have thought that a guy like me would go such a good catch) . Couldn’t have wanted more in life . Love, passion, beautiful life, family is all required for a man to be RICH.

Currently I will be working with awesome folks at @busy and @steemconnect to disrupt cryptocurrency so follow us for all future updates :)

So this is all about me.... @kpdesigns on steemit now. Will share more things about me in my blogs, on this amazing platform. Hoping to get your much support.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit :D

Welcome here !!! Another one becoming steemians by @ekitcho !!!!

Good thing that you have diversified your skill work. Keep it up.

Very nice introduction! I am a strong believer that hard work is always rewarded- and your story is very impressive how you have overcome all these adversities with your great determination!

Thank you so much :) I really appreciate those kind words.. and to succeed you only need determination and hardwork.

Inspiring story Paresh - do you work remotely now or if not, where are you based? PS - I think the exponentially increasing number of jobs in IT (and awesome platforms like Steemit) make a location independent life more viable everyday. I've been working remote for software companies the last 4+ years and could never go back to an office job. The last one I had was for 6 weeks...well paid, but boring as hell. I left for a remote job (and took a huge paycut but could care less) and never looked back.

Hey Jordan,

Thanks man. I have done job for like 2 years after I left my mentor's company and after that its been almost 10+ years I have been working as a freelancer. Myself cant imagine going back to 9 to 5 job and sitting at desk anymore. We should connect over facebook or skype as being from same field we might get a opporunity to work together someday :)

looks like a cool stuff you handle with you PC there.. still man you look like pablo escobar but in a good way :))

Congratulations @kpdesigns! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello I am @sakhone😊

Great to connect with you :)

follow my profile

You do good works :)
Welcome on steemit bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60