Update on The Brunner Renovations - Real Estate Investing

in #investing6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! It’s been a while since the last real estate update! The renovations on Brunner are just about finished! We're just waiting on a few of the smaller finishing touches and the first showing is this Thursday! Some of the small things we still have to finish are:

  • Installing the appliances
  • Installing the mirrors
  • A few missing electrical sockets
  • A few lights

The transformation of the project has been phenomenal, but has taken longer than I expected. My "longer" estimate from the beginning of the project was that we would close the house sometime in May of this year and seeing how we're already having the first showing on April 5th, I imagine that we'll meet that estimate!

Below are the before and afters of the house so far, note that there's still a few of the above missing items from these photos! The realtor and a professional videographer will be creating a video to showcase the house on Thursday as well, stay tuned for that! I'm excited to see how that turns out!

Kingsford is still coming along, we're building the first floor out as we speak, some poor weather out here in Chicago has caused some delays, but we should be back on track soon enough! I'll make a lengthier update on that project soon!

Family Room

BeforeAfter

Kitchen

BeforeAfter

Master Bathroom

BeforeAfter

All said and done the renovations cost about $35,000 which is about $10,000 more than we estimated before starting the project. I really think the additions that we made will help the house sell a lot faster and at a slightly higher price range. We have the first showing on Thursday this week!


Thanks for reading!

QOTD: What do you think of the before and after shots? In my opinion, the pictures don't do it justice because it really feels like you're standing in a brand new house in person!

Sort:  

Beautiful work .. just amazing
The place looks really wonderful, creativity
Thanks for sharing

I wanted to ask you sometime this week how the projects are going. Am glad you have moved up so far and almost to finishing. Yea, you are right, though I get the differences and the rooms looks quite better but the photos don't tell it all. I have seen such happens a lot so I know the difference is quite more than what the photos are showing. I like your dedication, you will go high places in no time.

Thanks @lordjames! I'm glad that Brunner is going to be off my hands soon! It will be a big weight off my shoulders, to be honest! Yeah the photos definitely aren't showing the whole picture, maybe the video will do it justice! Thanks again my friend :)

35k is a good deal for that kind of renovations though. and over time the house itself will increase its value.

Yeah 35k is less than what it probably would've costed for most people, I shop around a lot and try to negotiate the best deals. Something that I learned from watching people like Elon Musk is that you should aim for a seemingly impossible goal (like renovating for 25k) and do anything you can to get as close to that goal as possible, but even if you're a little off, you're much better off at that point than what you would've been if you had set your aim at a more "reasonable" goal!

From your questions and opinions, I think that's right. like entering a new house. but the topics here are the changes that occur. before and after. became an inspiration to us. I'm a mechanical engineer. understand the meaning before and after.
so my conclusion is very good. because it provides a new idea in home renovation. so it can be a reference. My suggestion, colors that need to be adjusted.
that's all from me.
regards

Thanks for your thoughts! Yeah it really looks amazing, I'm glad to have the renovations done and hopefully I can close on the house soon and release the weight off my shoulders!

It's looking good! Are you planning on adding any crown molding? Or is it not too popular over there. The granite you used is the best that what I use for my investors as well. I like it, recessed lighting around the home is a major plus all the time. Are you installing the same stainless steel appliances? Overall I really like it, the glass door is a real nice touch to the bathroom

Thanks!! No we're not planning on adding any, but we could if the buyers request it! Yeah I love this darker colored granite compared to the lighter one that was in earlier, it really stands out, especially against the flooring! We're getting new appliances, the ones that were in there weren't great, to say the least! I really appreciate the kind words! Hopefully we'll see it sell soon!

I look forward to it! I forgot about this project you kept it in the back since the carb diet took over.

Yeah the carb diet definitely took over the majority of my posts here on Steemit, and fitness definitely is a focus in my life, but I still spend a lot of time on the real estate (Kingsford and Brunner right now) I just don't talk about it as much as fitness. Hopefully I can put out some more real estate stuff, I still would love to do a vlog, I just have to find some time to edit footage - recording is easy, but editing is a huge pain!

Very nice comment @jason7282

That is a beautiful house. I am really intrested now is seeing the rest of your projects as they develop. Great craftsmanship! Have a nice day

Thanks for the compliments! You too :)

That marble top for the kitchen looks really good.

QOTD: What do you think of the before and after shots? In my opinion, the pictures don't do it justice because it really feels like you're standing in a brand new house in person!

Haha yeah it doesn't seem like much was done. The toilet does look like lotsa work has been done. Great job man!

Yes! I'm especially proud of how the kitchen turned out, it truly makes the house feel like it's stepped up to another level!

Haha it's kind of funny that all these changes are made but it still looks so similar! I think it's just the fact that the whole story doesn't get depicted well in pictures. When I'm standing in the house in-person, it feels completely new! I'm working with someone on doing a professional video to showcase the house and I'll post it to dtube when it's done, maybe that will do the house more justice!

Wow that's gonna be awesome. Can't wait for the video!

I thought about you and your projects yesterday! Looking good!

Does your diet affect your abilities to manage this?

How is the drone?

Thanks, I appreciate it! Yeah the diet can weigh down on me during the day sometimes and it's definitely harder to eat when I'm out and about from project to project and meeting to meeting - I usually just order some water, coffee or tea while I'm in meetings which is kind of weird for some people who meet with me.

The drone is good, I haven't flown it much lately, but I'm planning on taking it over to Brunner when it's done and also taking it to Kingsford to get some nice shots soon!

RIght on! Can't wait to see the footage.

Interesting and very useful post, A very beautiful house. It looks very nice and perfect! Overall I really like it, glass door is a very nice touch for the bathroom but I think it would be nice if the pairs of glass that is a bit opaque not too plain.

Thanks! I agree on the bathroom, it definitely adds a nice touch! Some people like the clear glass versus opaque, I'm kind of on the fence about it. The clarity of this glass makes the bathroom look a lot bigger and less claustrophobic IMO.

Wel done job by you Dear @khaleelkazi, really i learn lot of things from this post, and thanks to you for it, well thanks for sharing with us, Thanks Alot.

Thanks for reading!! What did you learn from the post, did you like the before and after photos?

It was awesome, as I said, I love the before and afters!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97