Top 3 Kidnappings (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–23 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago

“Those sickos seem more deranged than your typical psychopath in any other country.”

Nothing to see here. Hmmm, what's that!?

On the surface, Japan is a very safe, pleasant place to live. However, just under the veneer of safety and security (or just behind the door, or maybe just under the tatami mats), things are not always so fine.

While your typical Japanese person is easy to deal with and relatively trustworthy, that is not the case with the psychopaths and sociopaths.

In fact, those Japanese sickos often seem more deranged and twisted than your typical psychopath in other developed countries. Particularly the two sickos mentioned in #3 and #1 above. And there are more like them. More than a few, actually.     (Image source)

May we have our citizens back? Please. 

At different times over the past few decades, North Korea had furtively abducted several average Japanese citizens from the beaches and other coastal areas along the Sea of Japan (aka, the Korean East Sea), in order to help the North Koreans in spying on Japan.

The issue of the missing people remained a mystery for years. When the facts of the kidnappings finally came to light, the Japanese gov’t actually debated whether they should request that the abductees be allowed to return.   

Interestingly, some of the surviving abductees preferred to stay in North Korea, where they had decent lives and decent standards of living.        (Image source)    

   Introduction to – “Notes from Under the Tatami Mats”  (right-click on title)

Top 3 Crimes against Humanity Suffered by the Japanese
Top 4 Crimes against Humanity Inflicted by the Japanese
Top 4 Reasons for Japanese to Commit Suicide
... and more

Links to my Other Series …

      Introduction – "Intro to Vocab-ability"   (right-click on title)
      Guide – "Guide to Entries"   (right-click on title)
      Index– "Index" to all Chapters and Sections   (right-click on title)

      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"   (right-click on title)
      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"   (right-click on title)

Images sourced from Google Images, unless otherwise indicated or unless my own.
Sort:  

Japan looked like the safest country in the world when I traveled there, I had no idea. Well, I heard about Yakuza a little, but didn't really think to look into it.

Unfortunately, crime against women and children is rapidly increasing. The same goes for Turkey, many child murders and child abuse occured over the past few months. It makes me sick :(

Yes, Japan is quite safe, but definitely not 100% safe. I also lived in Singapore and worked with some Japanese women in Singapore.

They told me that they felt 100% safe in Singapore, but, when home in Japan, they sometimes felt as if they were not totally safe. Several of them said that, and they each said that there was a distinct and noticeable difference.

Nevertheless, it's true that Japan remains one of the safest countries in the world, for both residents and tourists.

And, I hope the situation improves in Turkey. Good luck!

They may have been brainwashed and maybe just maybe, if they are allowed back they may act as spies for the North Korean government.

The world is no longer safe

Good points. I like your 2nd observation, that they may spy on Japan for NK. It's make a great story!

I was super lucky that the triad member left me alone. When I was 13, a gangster boy in school kicked my chair and pulled my hair on a daily basis. I decided to join the Taekwondo Club. After being bullied for 1 year, I had enough so I slapped him in the face. I received black belt at age 16. I could have ended up like Junko Furuta. Back in 2001 in the state of Sabah, there was a young woman who was killed and chopped up by her boyfriend. Her remains were left inside a bag in a hotel. The murder case was still unresolved until today because the murderer had a rich dad. My friend had a beautiful relative. She was kidnapped on her way to Penang and never found until today. They believed that she was drugged, crossed the border into Thailand and sold off as prostitute by human traffickers.

Yes, there are psychopaths in every country. Glad you survived!

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

Awesome summary of DLive. The idea is fantastic and it's clear that's where the greatest rewards are ATM. My issue is I have no idea what I would live stream about, other than my dog doing her silly things. I would live stream during travels but I don't have any travels planned in the near future. But this is definitely something that I will keep in mind for the future.

Summary? of DLive? Not here ...

what a great narration of stories and hope the victims can get the justice they deserve!

You got a 33.36% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @majes.tytyty! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

Nice post! I really like it if you follow me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59