You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chrysocolla Pendant : How to wire wrap a cabochon - How to: Weekly Contest by @robali123

in #jewelry6 years ago

I don't know what to tell you - I am amazed by your work with every post you push out.
And I've finally figured out why I can't, even with a fairly detailed walk-through, get my mind to accept how it's done. It is basically the opposite of what I do - I find the shape in the material and remove the stock until it's out. You find the shape in your mind and add until it's done.

That's why every time I see one of your work, I have a picture of a little grinder in my mind and I'm trying to visualise how I would grind/carve what I'm seeing ;)

Sort:  

Thats a really interesting thought. Ive recently been watching lots of smithing videos and my underlying thought is always how frustrating it looks. Pounding a lump of steel slowly slowly into the right shape. It boggles my mind a bit. Wood carving i can manage. But with the metal youre squashing it as well as then taking away material. I think youre right we literally are oposite ends of the metalworking spectrum!

I just last night watched a guy making mokame gane? Using zinc and copper. Im assuming its quite a difficult one to do and wont be a very useful blade but it looked stunning

Mokame gane does look awesome, in knifemaking they usually use them for guards or even scales, but you are right, it's a pain i the ass to make it and you can not make a (good) blade from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98