'Might' not be starting work yet

in #job5 years ago (edited)

I use 'might' quite a lot, not liking to commit to much. But when you are a future employer, and one you've already signed a contract with, using the word 'might' in a sentence regarding start date is really not cool in my opinion.

That's the situation today though. Having just flown to Valencia and re-registered with the tax office, I received a call from my recruiter. I don't quite remember what the said exactly, some bs about departments coming under review, and that he would know more by Friday. Errr, how about last Friday, you know, the one where I hadn't flown to a new country and booked accommodation already?

It's cool that he was up front, and I don't blame the consultancy firm, but if you are looking to restructure your business, surely the first thing on hold is recruitment. I don't see how this restructuring wasn't on the cards for weeks/months, and how they allowed my acquisition to progress - especially to he point of interview and contract signature.

The advice to me this morning, 'get yourself down to the beach and have a few beers'. Oh, and 'don't spend the 1000 euro advance we've given you yet'. Ha! I do remember reading the terms on that and as much as I now want to piss the lot up the wall, I don't think I'll be able to get away without repaying, even if the job ends up not happening.

It's not beach weather anyway, so I decided to 'get lost' in the city for a few hours. My ex would laugh reading this, knowing I've already had a year in Valencia with her, and that I did continually get lost - and I hate getting lost, or wasting time, as I crudely and (to many, including her) inaccurately call it.

After the news today though, that is just what was required, and actually, I realised I do sort of know my way around - the bars. Luckily, I also reached the main square just before the daily Mascleta. If you see (hear) one thing in Valencia, it has to be this 10 minute wall of noise which shakes your ribs and leaves your ears ringing. Sold it well didn't I?

I also managed to walk past some graffiti I didn't recognise from last time, and that is next..

IMG_0986.JPG

IMG_0987.JPG

IMG_0988.JPG

IMG_0989.JPG

I love that the shops/residentials get the artists in to jazz up the outside with something more than two fresh coats of paint. This would not be OK in the UK, or some dick would ruin the job with their own shitty tag or something crap.

Despite the job uncertainty, I'm feeling alright I guess. I suppose I just have to treat the city as a holiday for the time-being and hope for the best, which bizarrely is a job 😬

Alright, I hope the photos are the right way up, and that readers are having a more settled week than I.

Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

Oh man, that really sucks! Gives me the same weird feeling like the company my boyfriend hired when we still lived in Spain, and were about to move to Budapest. The recruitment part messed up BIG time making promises they didn't keep. Like first telling him he'd be located in Belgium town A for 6 months getting his salary PLUS 2000 euro every month for costs.. and a week later another person said it would be in Belgium for about a month only (salary plus the costs for a month) that's like a HUGE difference.. we already planned out some things to have a good start here in Budapest and everything got messed up every week until we left.

It didn't end there though, once we were here, it turned out he would only have to go to Belgium for 3 weeks, and they didn't let him know (plus didn't pay the money for those weeks) 3 days in advance! So the thought of only the recruitment messing up was wrong, the whole company is an even bigger mess! Until this day (19 months employed there now) and it just doesn't stop.

If I were you I would defo take these days to do some good research about the company, even if they go through with it, to make sure you won't be stuck there (when the contract will end up being signed anyway) with a company that is known for their f-ups ;)

We managed to survive, but it was not easy, I mean we came with a 1 year old, leaving a lot of our stuff behind in Spain, and they just didn't give a fuck about the fact we still had no place to live after months. While they advertise online being a great company being their for their employees and helping them finding homes and also giving them advances for it. They did after 4 months! And we are now still paying that back, because they have been deducting it double for several times, booking those things in their system not as rental advance but salary advance (as a work around of their f-up) so we have to pay those back in 3 times instead of 6 like it should. If we had to do it all over again, this would have not been our first choice.

I don't know if you have a place to come back to in Mallorca when things go wrong, but we didn't and I've seen them mess up a lot of lives acting the way they did to others.. It's not thanks to their help that we still manage to survive, that's actually more thanks to the blockchain (thankgod!) ...

Hope everything turns out well for you though!

Damnnnn. That is some real bullshit you had to deal with right there, I'm sorry about that 😞

So this is the United Nations, and I'm reasonably hopeful there will be a join in the end (as there was last time). I'm still calling out the shit behaviour, but I'm hopefully they can 'beat' your situation. With the child as well, that's some real hassle. Thanks for sharing, people need to know!

Well, I always think like this when things go south: We have been in much much worse situations before, and we all managed to get through them. And then a solution will come to mind, and it will pass :) lol..
But for sure, things are much easier when other people are just doing their jobs ;-)

Luckily this little toddler has been traveling ever since she was 3 months old, that was her first flight to Spain (from Holland) and actually we have been traveling through spain in the first 4 months there, to settle down for a small year at the same place. Then we left to Budapest to also do quite a bit of moving around (we had to lol, not by free will) and after settling down traveling because after all the hardships in the past years we did manage to go on holiday 4 times last year (all short trips, but hey thank you crypto!!)

As soon as my boyfriend has another job, I will talk about the company for sure, until he is employed I will keep it vague haha..

Enjoy the time there, hope things work out, at least you're not worrying too much lol :)

Your child could be a free spirit in the future with the travel bug starting early - born with a backpack!

Yeah I'm trying not to worry, I'm not homeless, or something worse, and the sun is shining today 😎

Lol, I bet she will be.. I love the fact that she's also speaking Dutch, English, practicing Spanish (daily!) with me when I'm practicing with Duolingo on my phone to fresh up my Spanish knowledge and she's doing quite well, actually. And soon she'll be going to a Hungarian school (not my preference, as the language is so useless outside Hungary, but the Int. schools cost 1000 euro and up a month, so.. no choice lol)

She is really a world traveler since she was a baby.. It's so cool!

Enjoy the sun, here it's also sunny as it seems, so going to sniff up some vitamine D soon lol

I would love to be able to speak 4 languages, 2 would be a start! When I get settled I'll take some lessons I think.

Vitamin D is super important, i'm going to get some shortly :)

I was going through your posts because I was curious how the job thing worked out (or not). So I hope you have a good update? (That is good as you feel satisfied with the outcome hehe)

:)

hey :)

Thanks for checking in. I've not written about it exclusively, as they have put the role on hold and i'm back at base waiting, which could be 3/4 months, or never!

So yeah, not ideal. But i'll keep looking and Steeming and see what happens :)

Damn, there goes ('might go') my next possible holliday in Valencia :)

Hope for the best mate.

Still a fair chance to get beers at the beach, only difference is you might need to buy them all 😎😎

Wow, that is horrible. I can't imagine uprooting like that and then being told that I have to sit in a holding pattern until they pull their heads out. It looks like you were able to get some cool shots of the city though! Good luck with however it turns out. Hopefully you will hear something sooner rather than later!

Pretty turd! Imagine if I'd relocated from the UK and not the short trip from Mallorca, I would be fuming right now.

Go to the beach they sat, it's the beginning of March ffs!

Thanks for the well-wishes, hopefully it'll be alright in the end.

:) yeah, that would have been bad if you were travelling from further away!

For sure. Still a pile of turd though, I'm at least 6km from the beach at present! 🙈🙈🙈

What a bummer. You'd expect that a job would be locked down when you have to change countries... Well, nothing more to do than hope it turn all right.

Cool graffiti, btw.

Bummer is the right word!

Stuck in limbo-land until the end of the week I guess. If it does work out, you should get over here for some Valencian 'agua', and sand 👍🏽

Aww man, I'd love to, but I need to get a job too. Though if I could get a job in Valencia... hell, I would come. That would be muy bien and I could also better my Spanish skills which I've been learning recently.

Perfecto!

Throat-singing en español 🌷

Jajajaja (laughs in Spanish).

😂 tu sabes mucho español!

Sí, sí, yo bebo y yo sé cosas.

Damn that blows. Hopefully it gets sorted out quickly. Is this job supposed to be a “permanent” one or is it a temp?

Awesome art. Same shot here...dickbags would totally ruin it. Murcia!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, not ideal!

It's 6 months initially with a 'strong' chance of extension. I think that is likely (based on experience) as long as the thing starts rolling.

So busy.org doesn't upside down your shut, that's good to know.

There's not a blemish on any of the proper graffiti jobs here, some kind of unwritten/unpainted respect going on.

Fingers crossed and beers then 😬

Hi @abh12345!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.874 which ranks you at #102 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

urgh sucks!!! Hopefully "might" turns into "is"....if it helps, enjoy your freedom while you still have it =) crossing fingers for you!

good way to look at it - freeeedom!

But it's chilly and yo tengo no amigos...

opens Tinder

hahaaha well you can always be pathetic and sit in a bar with your cellphone and chat with "the cool kids" LOL =) We're never too far away!!!

Good point! Thanks for keeping me company in advance :D

If the group was smaller (and I knew everyone) I'd be tempted to send over some potential matches for approval!

Brother i have faith it will work out. Even if the job falla through, life is always goi g to present us with new opportunities. Please continue to keep your head up and just enjoy your time there. I wish you the best and hope you at least are able to have a little fun regardless of how it works out.

Thank you John

I will certainly try to do that and make the most of this limbo time.

Wishing you a lovely week!

Ugh, that says a lot already about how "organised" the company is, no?
I hope you won't need to stay there longer than 6 month because you will be able to live of Steem by then :)

Yeah, only the biggest charity organisation in the world!

I like your thinking though, I had a 5-10 year plan on that but will take 6 months!

Oh nooo, it's not gonna take years, only months, I promise!! :)

Venga!! 😁💪🏽

Ooft, that's shit. Hopefully it pans out but it really is a bit late in the process to hear that kind of nonsense!!

It really is!

He went silent when I said 'well I'm in Valencia right now'. Not ideal at all, but I am starting to chip into the advance, they can go bollocks!

I agree with that, smash their advance. If they don't start you they should write it off for the inconvenience!!

I'm with you!

image.jpg

Damn, I missed the picture. That's what I'm talking about! Get in there!!

I do like these ales, one for any weather! Decent bar snacks too, and a tidy barmaid 😎

Valencia sounds like a win. In that respect at least!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99