Can Chinese People Understand Me? - Learn Mandarin With Cryptogee - Restaurants

in #learnchinese7 years ago (edited)

I am learning Mandarin, Chinese at the moment; however it is quite distant from any language I've learned thus far. Unfortunately I don't know any Chinese people who speak Mandarin, so I'm interested to know if a genuine Chinese, Mandarin speaker would be able to understand what the hell I'm saying!

So Chinese people please tell me if you can understand me!

As a side note, I did want to upload this to dtube, however it seems like it is broken at the moment; so I will continue to show my support for the app, once it's fixed.

snap_4.jpg

ARE YOU A MANDARIN SPEAKER? COULD YOU UNDERSTAND ME; WHAT'S MY PRONOUNCIATION LIKE? AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Cg

Sort:  

Hi, i'm chinese speaking. I thought you were scolding someone at first. Waiter: fu wu yuan. Say it more gently lol.

Haha, thanks for the feedback, that's good to know! :-) I think because I'm concentrating so hard on getting the right intonation, I get a bit shouty at times, lol :-D

Thanks again!

Cg

Not bad! Cryptogee, although the second sentence makes no sense - you probably need to add yao into it to be "I want to drink a glass of water", or you are just stating the fact that you are drinking a glass of water to a waiter/waitress.

Haha, yes I suddenly realised that, but was so caught up with pronouncing 'cup' and 'drink(ing)' correctly that I forgot :-)

Thanks for the feedback, please come back for the next one :-)

Cg

I'm not a native speaker, but I understand when I hear it :) not bad!

Awesome, thanks Kevin! I was a bit nervous as I feel I've been in the bubble of the app, I've been wondering just how good the voice recognition is. My sentences are slowly getting longer, so the next one will have longer more complex phrases. That's the challenge, to remain coherent consistently :-)

Cg

Pretty good!
Fu wu yuanRRR!!!! Is the Beijing way

Cool; I love hearing about region specific accents, plus one of the things I love about Mandarin is that RRRR sound. This is one of the best things about learning a language, I can decide to take up which regional specific accent I want. So yes, I think the Beijing way sounds pretty cool to me :-)

Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated.

Cg

Hi, there, I'm Chinese. I would said I understood the first sentence and the last one, but the middle one not quite sure. If you already had one glass of water, you Don't need to tell the waiter, but if you would like a glass of water, yeah, that make senses, the way you said was:" fu wu yuan, wo he le yi bei shui." Anyway, your Chinese is not bad at all. Keep it up!!! JIA YOU!!!

Wow that is great feedback @aurora-ca, thank you!

Yes I felt like I messed up the middle one, I didn't mean to say 'he le yi ..' I think I meant to say 'ge wo y bei shui*.

Thanks for the encouragement, I will keep practising and keep posting these videos, hopefully soon I will be able to present the whole 2 minutes in Chinese, that would be amazing! :-D

Cg

really funny, lol. As a mandarin speaker I can understand what you said:

服务员,我要一碗汤。
服务员,我喝一杯水。
服务员,一碗汤多少钱?

and your doughter is so lovely.
Hope all of you enjoy the learning procress.
Best wishes.

Awesome, thank you for your feedback, and putting my sentences in writing. I am just beginning to recognise certain Chinese characters, however I need to learn their names, as I'm just making up what they're called. Apart from the shoulder hook, I don't know any of the names.

We are loving learning Chinese, I have wanted to learn for so long, ever since the movie; Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, it is such a beautiful language, and I hope one day I can do it justice.

Thanks again for your feedback, please come back for the next one :-)

Cg

Thank you for your interest, I do think the Chinese language is very beatuiful, however, it is very difficult to learn. Good luck with it. Your vedio was very nice made and please continue to do so, lol.

Hello, i speak Mandarin, Cantonese and English. it is awesome that you are interested in learning Chinese (its harder when you don't have the similar system of language based) To be honest, i only understand what you said when you speak in English, good job tho! Keep in mind that it's important to pronounce every word separately. Keep on and have fun learning Chinese!!!

Thanks for your feedback! OK it is good to know that you didn't understand me, I will work on pronouncing every word separately, hopefully the next video I will do better!

Thanks again, and please come back for the next one :-)

Cg

I like your post.

Thanks, :-) do you speak any other languages?

Cg

Of course they will understand.

Thanks for your confidence in me, however it is difficult to know if I'm pronouncing some words correctly. So it is hard to say certain words with confidence.

Do you speak Mandarin; or any other language?

Cg

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @blocktrades valued at 91.02 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05