You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Review of QDOBA Mexican Eats - An adventure in choosing your own ingredients!

in #letseat6 years ago (edited)

Thank you for that reply, of course I did it this way as my way to try and help, some of my suggestions would be easier to implememt, than others. A full editor would be great,but I suspect that it will be more work and take a bit longer.

I use the following code on every image, whether or not I want subtext:
<center></center><center><sub></sub></center>

Nothing shows if I dont put anything, maybe that can be implemented somehow, though other than a subtext popup (or button to a pop up/open), Im not exactly sure where the subtext would be entered.

The one that surprised me the most was the resized images! Very smart, since phones nowadays take ginormous pics. I had already resized them (with reduce photo size app) which maybe not everyone does, so was surprised to see them re-re-sized. That could probably be a drop down menu, selecting final image size from some options (check out the reducephotosize app I mentioned).

Adding a title tagline could just be another form entry if you dont want to make the main title editable.

The only way I can think of to order the text and images would be to give a marker !1 or something, that the editor would replace with each photo before posting.

I know how to edit in steemit but am stubborn and don't want to. Cheers mate I love this app it has such great potential!

Sort:  

I would love your views on an other thought. Do you think a solution to some of these issues would be for people to have a separate account for using this app?

I like posting in my main account but getting things to look good in an app and online takes a bit of engineering. This is just a thought I had. If users of the app got set up with a Steem account for posting when they got the app do you think that would be a good idea? You could still always resteem from your main account.

I am not planning this, and I am going to see what I can do about your suggestions as soon as possible but it's just something I am throwing it there for your thoughts.

Thanks

Its not a bad idea as a short term 'band-aid' type solution. I think steepshot, zappl, actifit and others are facing this same problem, and maybe this is something that is really solved by SMTs.

The direct answer to your question would probably be, depends on the poster. I personally do my very best to not think too hard about what my followers want to see and to just post what I want/need to post. Not all bloggers can do that, but I blog for me. My followers are just along for the ride.

What is happening now on steem, 'the meantime', (ie the longest beta) is that steemit is an 'everything drawer' (also known as 'junk drawers'). We of course like everything to look pretty and organized when we open the drawer, but that is neither the case nor the reality.

So, in order to build your d.app on the fastest, freest and best blockchain, STEEM, you have to put up with people (in this case me, lol) saying that it doesn't look quite right in the drawer with all the other d.app posts. (Among them, by the way, I think letseat has really real potential, a blockchain log of restaurant reviews available from your phone without a steem account, its brilliant mate).

My suggestions, along with using the app, are my contributions to the project. I'm still a ways out from being able to help you implement the changes I've suggested, though I hope to get there one day.

Thanks for reaching out! Feel free to continue the discussion anytime, I mean it when I say I like your app.

Thank you for those words, every bit of encouragement along the way keeps people building things for the community. There are lots of possibilities and ways to go on this, especially as we open up to a wider non crypto community who may benefit from some sort of automated account sign up. Of course some of these discussions may be mute when we get communities but it's great exploring all the possibilities at this stage.

My suggestions, along with using the app, are my contributions to the project.

These contributions are very valuable, I have a vision for this app and lots of ideas but it really helps to get other points of view and feed them back into the evolving design. 👊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73