BuzzSteem - Does Security Make Us Safer?

in #libertarian6 years ago (edited)


Happy Thursday Friends!

So last night I went to a Ke$ha/Macklemore concert with my sister. It had been a Christmas gift from her, and even though I am definitely not a Macklemore fan, the sheer amount of glitter during Ke$ha's performance was pretty incredible!

(

#Glitterpocalypse

What wasn't incredible was the song and dance that started before we even got close to the entrance: the dreaded security.

Alright now, let me just say this: it sucks being a woman for a few reasons:

1.) The fashion industry deliberately makes clothing tight and tiny and bereft of pockets so that women

2.) Have to carry a stupid expensive bag around in order to bring her shit everywhere. Having children makes that even more necessary.

I own one new skirt with some pockets, but it wasn't exactly concert appropriate so I brought my purse last night.

Well as my sister and I were making our way to the front entrance, we were flagged down by some security people telling us we needed to go back to the car and that we either had to dump everything into a clear ziplock bag or could only bring what we could fit in our palm.

What the fuck man?

Our privacy was completely annihilated last night. With a clear bag everyone would be able to see my weed, um erm I mean my feminine products (hahahaha). But seriously, security, you're barking up the wrong damn tree as always. Men are the typical antagonists in these attack stories, not women. YET, thousands of men were walking through with their fat-ass cargo pockets and no one was blinking an eye, while women were trying to surreptitiously cover their personal items in their giant clear plastic bags, while being harassed by security about it.

Didn't you know that women are at home building Diva Cup bombs? DIDN'T YOU KNOW THAT????

Dude.

Dude.

We have a problem.

Security in the United States is not and has never been about safety.

This is evident at the airport where you can now buy your way out of the security checkpoint if you have enough money to do so.

Also evident in that my uncle who works for the Dept of Homeland Security, tested the TSA to see if he could get weapons through. Guess what? He did. 10/10 times the TSA failed to recognize that my uncle had packed weapons in his carry ons.

But hey, so long as they are harassing parents of little children, and anally probing grandmas who may or may not have cocaine shoved up their ass, then WE'RE ALL SAFE right?

Let me know what you guys think in the comments. I'm so curious!

Hope you are all having a great day!

I will catch ya later and until then....Stay Steemy my friends!

  • Beth


(Me and My Seestah waiting for the show to start, completely purse-less.)

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Most women are often harassed, I do not like anyone to harass women. Women should be able to take care of themselves. Because women are noble beings, without women we can not be born into this world.
Oa, you are very similar to your sister.
You are very beautiful, you also look healthy.
Have a good day both of you @bethwheatcraft

amazing conten creator dtuber star on trending

Lol I work in that scene, and I was gonn say it's definately to make sure people aren't sneaking booze or food in lmao. So lame. Sorry you had to deal with that, it's complete B.S, I can only Imagine what my Lady would say to them lol. I wanted to add,not sure about where you are, but In Canada, Male Security Gaurds aren't allowed to search a Woman's purse. I more than agree with you about the TSA, The only threats they even attempt to fix are like homeless people with shotguns...

Cheers :)

@bethwheatcraft I agree men are move likely to cause havoc at an event. Security in general can be a total pain in the ass but something has to be done to prevent possible tragedies.

BABY BOMB!!! LOL!

Funny that you get mad that women get discriminated there, and then say that men are more likely to do the crime, so they should be discriminated. A little hypocritical. They should check everybody, or nobody.

And the TSA admitted that it it's just a facade. It is just to make people feel safer, their intentions were never safety, just to scare criminals away and make you feel safe. So yeah, it's truth.

And I don't like Micheal Moore or whatever his name is either, but I don't think he is a racist. Everybody is a racist nowadays. Guess who they called the head of the KKK in England, a black men yes. I'm not sure if he was a migrant or born there. But hey, everybody is apparently a racist nowadays.

I honestly can't take anyone seriously who doesn't know the difference between Macklemore and Michael Moore. Michael Moore is a liberal idiot. Macklemore is a racist douchebag, and if you knew anything about me before you came on here ranting about how I am a hypocrite, you would know that I don't use "racist" lightly.

The man threw on a giant fake "jew" nose wearing a large dollar sign to sing his song "thrift shop". Implying that all jews are cheap asses. So, yeah, he is a racist dick.

I think you are confused.

Men are more likely to commit that crime. Do I really need to provide you examples? Really? REALLY?

No, people should not be searched equally. A grandmother in a wheelchair is undeserving of an anal probing, while you let a few dudes who just came back from Columbia and reek of weed and cologne walk right on by. (Just a silly example, but that's how ridic the TSA is.)

OF COURSE it's a facade. Though, I don't remember the TSA coming out publically and saying that. People really think it's there to make us safer, and it's not.

Israel profiles and it makes sense. Americans are too PC to do it, but it is highly effective. If Middle Eastern and White American men aged 18-35 are the most likely to be responsible for a mass shooting or a bombing, then that is who we should be targeting the hardest. Tough shit for them.

If red-headed, big-boobed 30 year olds were the ones responsible for mass shootings and plowing people down in the street, I can't say I would be offended by being pulled aside and searched or given an extra pat down.

If anything it would make me want to do something about those women doing those terrible things, and speaking out against it. That's just me though.

I see you're confused. You gave two arguments that are not consistent, therefore I called it a hypocrite argument. That doesn't make you as a person a hypocrite. You might be, who knows, but the argument is not consistent. I don't have to know you specifically to know if the argument you presented was hypocrite or not. And that has nothing to do also with the fact of who you call racist or not, that was an unrelated argument.

But on that argument of racist or not. Like you said, I don't know you, so I can not know if you are easily manipulated by the media or the majority of the people and believe everything they say blindly. Most people do believe everything they are told they should believe, so I'm comfortable with my odds of saying that you might be one of those people who calls someone racist with no real logic reasoning.

About that song, no I never seen any Jew themed signs in it. And if there were, like you said, saying that Jews are cheap, it would be racist of you to claim that a certain race shouldn't be made fun of. That means that you treat people different according to their race, and not according to their personality. So I find it racist to put too much weight on someones race. We should see ourselfs as just humans first. That is my take on it.

I never said you are wrong with the fact that men commit more crimes. There is logic in there. Again you said that men should be patted down, but women shouldn't. That is discrimination. And not a good one may I say. Women who do commit crime, get a lesser punishment, so is they do want to commit a crime, there will be less of a mental barricade to stop them to do the crime. All I'm saying is, that women can also be dangerous, don't get confused again. Just that they can be dangerous, and that we shouldn't get that possibility off the table.

And at least, I won't start about the TSA. How they do it, why they do it. Nobody should use them for an example of security. But I will tell you this, some people who don't look dangerous might be the danger itself. How many criminals do you see wearing a big sign saying they are a criminal. That is where the idea comes from to watch for those who look innocent. If you don't want to get caught, you have to fit in.

And the TSA never did it publicly, it was more subtle. By people asking them questions, by investigating them, I might be using the wrong word there. But you get my drift, people have been watching long enough to know they are useless and most of them admit it.

A good piece Beth. I served in the military and has done years of private security work till I realised that I was constantly surrounded by idiots who didn't take it serious and put peoples lives t risk while spending the charm they didn't have on trying to pick up woman who thought them brainless anyway.

Sad state of affairs globally with freedom given to those who can't handle it and taken from those who progress positively with it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99