You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Care of the modern souls - Can Culture replace Scripture?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I wonder (and I'm not the first) are existential speculations the burden that comes with sentience? Do other animals have this ontological insecurity? Does the antelope expiring in the jaws of a lion wonder where it is going?
We humans think not.
Perhaps our wondering is tied to an urge to survive, to propagate, to continue our genetic existence.
Religions answer questions. They bring us comfort. But at what price? Some people may pay too high a price--their intellectual autonomy. For many others, religion just makes the pain of everyday life more tolerable.
Where do I stand, personally? I vacillate. I wonder about essential truth, meaning, purpose. Sometimes I find comfort in the rituals and habits of my childhood faith. Why not? I dabble in other belief systems to find the kernel of truth that gave rise to most of them. In the end, I come up with my own set of spiritual anchors that allow me to rise in the morning and smile.

Sort:  

To be a little provocative in my answer to you I'd say that I couldn't care less about genetic existence, when I seek consolation in the moment a relative dies and I am truly sad. To make it even more funny, I wouldn't ask if my DNA urge me to ask questions about an after life. ;-)

What I experienced with no price tag was the free giving of those people who came to the funeral with the clear intent to share grief, to sing with full capacity of their hearts and to give the last company at the grave. I preferred skilled people instead of clumsy ones who didn't know how to act. A great majority of the people showed up were Christians. There they themselves were reminded of their mortality and I think this is good to be reminded of.

I think both is possible: to remain intellectually autonomous and spiritual. Though I want to confirm that there are nasty speeches and actions within religious people, it's not them I want to concentrate myself on. Maybe that'll give them more peace for themselves.

It's such a good thing that you found your way of dealing with your spiritual anchors and maintain rituals and value life. Also, I do the same dabbling in other belief systems and find that quite inspiring and helpful. Thanks to the Internet and people with whom I stay in a rich exchange, like you:)

I love "talking" to you on the Internet.

:)))) I love it, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42