Care of the modern souls - Can Culture replace Scripture?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

It's not enough to go to a museum.
It is not enough to deal with aesthetically demanding films and literature.
It's not enough to spend a good time on the beach with my beloved.
It's not enough to watch my son's play in the school auditorium.
It's not enough to get together with my family.
It's not enough to work in the garden.
It is not enough to admire an impressive building.
It's not enough to have a romantic encounter.
It's not enough to want to understand the old philosophers.
It's not enough to stand on top of a hill and admire the landscape.

If all this were enough, I would lead a happy, cheerful and balanced life, accept strokes of fate, crises and the loss of friendship or partners simply as given, know how to take illness and the death of parents elegantly and look forward to my own death with humour and serenity. Is it not?

If all this were enough, I wouldn't be terrified if I heard about the suicide of an acquaintance, I wouldn't be shocked if I read about a massive plane crash in the newspaper and I wouldn't suffer if a friend got cancer.

Would I say: "Jeez, you! You had a great life, you were in the museum fifty times in your life, you found comfort and confidence in the pictures of your favourite artist, the author of "War and Peace" gave you a lesson for your whole life and you never had to read another book important to you again afterwards, in the theatre you cried and from now on you understood forever that sadness simply goes away again."

Yes?

No.

Everything mentioned is not enough to consider my life and the hurdles of this life sufficient in relation to the really significant questions. In my life there are crises and questions, I have times of greatest loneliness and insecurity. I see people getting sick or dying, I see couples brake up or struggle a whole lot in their relationship. I look for comfort and guidance when this happens to me.

For years I have been concerned that I see that the gap left by a formerly ruling religion is filled with offers not strong enough.

Photo by gustavo centurion on Unsplash

School of life

Alain de Botton, Philosopher and founder of the "School of life" speaks impressively about the fact that this gap is in principle accompanied by the assumption that it would be filled by culture. In fact, I have followed this approach for quite some time and have always been interested in art, literature and architecture.

It is not at all absurd to receive guidance, comfort and a sense of identification with the great philosophers and their writings. Everyone can do this for himself personally and possibly find more than that. But in general, the arts and those who could, neither offer determined answers to the questions of life nor do they really feel responsible for them. An artist who sees himself as such would not necessarily say that his art seeks to fill the gap left by a religion. Nevertheless, many artists produce works that deal with the dark questions of humanity, that reflect the sad and gloomy sides of human feeling. Just like the other way around.

The question is: Where, except within religions, can people turn when they are penetrated by the deeper questions of human life?

In fact, it cannot be denied that we have interpersonal crises and conflicts, that coexistence is not always a walk in the park, and that issues such as illness, old age, and suffering from losses and deaths concern all people on this planet and do not go away by becoming an atheist. And then ... period?

The majority of people believe that in principle everyone lives their lives relatively damaged and that no one is really good from the ground up. The assumption that people are innocent and good per se doesn't even apply to children and in honest moments we know that we are at least as crazy as the others in whom we notice this.

If we put the examples to the test - that culture can replace scripture or has already done so - then when we go to university we should be able to demand: "Please give me a way of life, I want to learn here how this life business works, I want to explore the deep questions of humanity. How do I learn to deal with challenges of the psyche?"
The people there would - as Alain de Botton points out - want to get you a doctor.

Photo by Alina Grubnyak on Unsplash

What about the museum? Does the curator want to give me a psychological help by focusing his exhibition on a general human need and offer me guidance in questions of relationship crisis?

Are the cultural houses of my city really places of contemplation felt to be common? Do I get something there that takes me out of my felt isolation in the long run, does it feel as if I am finding continuous refuge and hope there?

One would first have to really know what the religions stand for and have stood for.

A religion offers the framework conditions of an ethical kind, it functions as a moral authority for my way of life. I don't need to have endless, subtle debates about what is really good and what is evil. In fact, I also find it quite simple to understand what love means, what it means to treat each other respectfully, to nurture small children and old people, and so on.

For I have been small myself. When I was a child I experienced my share of damage. I know that I, as well, will become old and will die.

There's no comfort in finding that you're an atheist when questions of that matter arise.

No satisfaction is achieved when I declare war on the Church. When your mother, father or child dies, you say to yourself: "How good that I am an atheist!" You don't.

Do you find acceptance in someone who tells you: "Be happy again, life goes on, it is not helpful that you are sad and feel unstable. Be a true atheist and then you will feel better again." If you fear loneliness, well-founded or unfounded, will it help you to continue reading "Science now"? Does it really make an impression on you to read that your need to communicate is to be found in your "cortex where your communication center lights up"?

When you feel like you are the only person in the world who has a very special problem - that you somehow know is irrational, but it doesn't help you in any way to spot such irrationality with you alone?

Well, I haven't decided for myself yet.
I do not believe in God, I do not go to church, I am neither an agnostic nor an atheist, nor am I otherwise active in the church. And yet I am searching for community, for the fulfillment of my psychological needs, for the confirmation that these needs want to be heard. Can I expect to receive such from a therapist? Emotional guidance, help with the ethical questions that concern me?

The request made by Alain de Botton is nothing less than that culture can replace religions for those who are in a kind of no-man's-land and do not want to enter denominationally.

I am uncertain that this is not a task that religions could already face themselves and that could take advantage of their existing organisation and structure without betraying their virtues. The religions are said to be inflexible and their scriptures obsolete. I must say that I don't find this to be true. It depends on which time frames one looks at.

I have experienced Alain de Botton as a brilliant, inspiring and enthusing philosopher. His lectures on youtube are stirring, full of humour and very convincing. I deeply recommend listening to him.

He could make a damn good Buddhist. Perhaps his reputation is then too important and his leap into the Buddhist religion too radical for him. I could ask myself the same question: Why don't I convert to Buddhism, because in fact I've been able to find the greatest psychological support I've ever sought there. They do not have a God either.

All this also has to do with money. And with effort.

If the curators of cultural sites in modern cities really want to be hosts to schools of life, they will have to spend far more energy and money to ensure this, and they would compete with religious institutions. It takes a lot of courage to address a subject that has so far only been served by religious institutions. How, for example, can an art exhibition express the intention to become a "school of life" without running the risk of including a religious context and thus losing visitors? Would it then be a covert agenda? Hardly, that would be very risky, wouldn't it?

I asked myself the question whether, conversely, the religious institutions themselves would not become art exhibitors, stages for philosophers and writers, painters and therapists, social workers and architects etc. and not have to deceive their virtues and ethical intentions. Can this be achieved?

One thing I think de Botton should make more clear: That the existing religions do not have to be replaced. Though some of them could need a change. But I think: They must and they will. But maybe not in my lifetime. Which is somewhat painful but my pain cannot be the reason I should condemn what there is or become overly impatient. In fact, I am already in the middle of every change a world can go through.

Photo by Marie Bellando-Mitjans on Unsplash

Religions as a great source for exploration

The learning experiences that de Botton himself made through the study of religions and the things he picked out that are of great value to him - and to many many others - that he could not have experienced as significant, would not have been the religions with all their treasures of architecture, art and narrations that are available to us with consummate skill.

The libraries full of writings, the church philosophers, the beautiful sculptures and murals, the ceremonies and rituals. Without this treasure of the sensual, i.e. the visible, the tangible and the audible (Gregorian chants, incense, mandalas, bells ringing, blacksmithing and and and), de Botton would know nothing about the strict disciplined organisation and methodology of religious institutions. Without the traditions of thousands of years this wouldn't have been a source of exploration for him (and many others). What will become of religions and their haptic and psychological materials if they were completely gone?

He said, his own method to not be an enemy to religions is that he picks bits of the grand religious buffet and makes those things available to him and others. He takes the mental food and builds this into his own work and transports ideas to other places and people. Which is good and I find inspirational.

In fact, de Botton is right when he claims that the Church Fathers and others know very well how to convey their messages: By means of sensory impressions, repetition and the calendar. One must give such to people in order to succeed in the mission.

Change ist not accomplished by loners (poets, writers, artists) in their single chambers

No one will, on his own single initiative, spontaneously develop a habit out of a mood of spontaneity and insight, which will then offer him psychological stability throughout his life. People need other people and the framework and the permanent reminders that do so. "Repetition" is a key word here. In theory as well as in practice.

His comparison with the large corporations is also very good. Here he illustrates how the methodology, the use of money and marketing work. Very efficient and sustainable.

I can confirm that. I worked in marketing for more than ten years. I was a PR consultant for Masterfoods, where I was responsible for the M&M's, Snickers and Mars brands. I was trained very methodically to convey the brand characteristics continuously and in penetrating repetition of these characteristics. All press releases had to contain the core elements of the emotional messages. They were written in a kind of brand bible and we PR people couldn't just come up with something of our own. At first I was nosy about this form of work, but over time I realized how effective and intelligent such an approach is.

Photo by Ramakrishnan Nataraj on Unsplash

Now the written dissemination is by far not sufficient.

Just like religious institutions, big companies and their brands are great hosts. People don't just want to read something, they want to hear something, touch something and see something. Therefore larger premises are needed where many people can come together and receive the message the host has in mind. Of course, we all have very good noses for the fact that a company is not interested in our psychological well-being, but in selling chocolate, vacuum cleaners and smart phones.

To the extent that hybrids are to develop that want to provide their cultural offerings within a broader framework - the school of life - the question of how they can accomplish this without damaging their financial resource and making their non-religious visitors feel comfortable with it seems to me appropriate.

Purity of doctrine

One thing strikes me as worthy of criticism. The purity of religious teaching is not considered to be worthless to remain pure. As soon as a doctrine is mixed with other things, it loses its power and clarity. For me as a visitor of a school of life beyond established religion the question would arise: are all people in the room there because they are there as humans and not as art lovers or business people looking for their next clients or consumers? What inner intention do people have when they visit an establishment that does not provide a chrystal clear ethical orientation?

I was recently at an event that wasn't pure about how it should appear. It was a seminar which gave me the impression that I could do something for my psyche, a kind of life training aspect was advertised. But when I was there, I quickly got the sense that the organizers had proclaimed the topic as the main motive, but it was subliminally felt that the visitors were equally either looking for a possible life partner, looking for opportunities to promote their own business or to come up with new business ideas of their own. There's really nothing to say against that and it's also not reprehensible to want to use an evening to fall in love with someone or to exchange business ideas or just to drive away loneliness.

But then I end up back where I started: it's not enough.

The motives of the organizer were not very clearly perceptible. I liked the idea of "bringing people together for personal development and maturation", but the conviction of the speakers was missing. It needs much more charismatic speakers, eloquent and experienced people who stand in front. What is commonly understood today as capitalism and what causes discomfort on such occasions are indeed the missing virtues of those who act as friendly and well meaning hosts.

I would like to see an existing "best practice" example of what de Botton has in mind.

So I started looking for the "School of life". On youtube I listened to a video critique instead and read some comments, including one: "They (School of life hosts) are humanists trying to find common values without the need for religion."

The pros and cons in the comments section made me think: If the School of Life, as an established school, does not want to be a religion, but still wants to convey virtuous and ethical messages, and the world of cultural practitioners is supposed to serve as a catalyst and alternative to religion, how is it supposed to form what Buddhists call their "Buddha, Dharma and Sangha"? In Christianity one could translate that as the "figure of Jesus" as a role model, the "teachings of the holy scripts" and the "community". Wouldn't a circle be completed and a religion established but not called a religion?

The admiration of de Button for certain forms and methods of religious currents in past and present is obvious. He seems to want also to help philosophy to new greatness and meaning - that looks very appealing to me. But whether museums, concert halls, libraries, galleries etc. can ever serve my spiritual needs in the same way as religions - and I have Buddhism in mind here in particular, as well as my Christian background - is a mystery to me.

But maybe my imagination isn't powerful enough. I really wouldn't mind if religions persisted, developed and changed. Will there be alternatives created at the same time for non-religious people that give them inner guidance in a similar way and can become places of encounter?

Photo by Mathew MacQuarrie on Unsplash

Public Relation in it's true sense?

I imagine a PR campaign, such as a coffin parade through the streets by a funeral parlour that is really serious about making the topic of dying publicly visible again.

But then I think of one of my favourite abbots, Ajahn Amaro, who gives regular Buddhist lectures in his monastery in England, and I would ask myself: What answers would he have for the challenge de Botton is giving us? Would he be amused or irritated, would he be interested?

Perhaps over the next century we will lose many more people belonging to a religion. At least on the basis of my own lifetime, I am in a clear majority concerned nonbelongings and nonlived practices of religion.

If I could choose between Amaravati Buddhist Monastery in south east England and a Hamburg Museum where the school of life aspects are on display and between a curator and an abbot for my psychological well being I would choose the Buddhist abbot. But who knows, when things develop and thrive if that would be still the case, once I could physically walk into both and both is appealing and making sense to me.

What do you think about all this?

Sort:  

Seems like you are like me. I am also neither an agnostic or an atheist. And in my case, I believe the reason is that when it comes to religion or the questions of "Why are we here?", "Is there a creator?", I personally don't care. That isn't a problem. It is just not a priority for me.

Religion for me is an abstraction. Meaning we can conveniently add reward factors like fulfillment to encourage ourselves and others to follow the doctrine.

If one can easily draw connections between religion and fulfillment, then we draw fulfillment from other ideas as well.

I have other thoughts on this piece but since it is kind of fragmented, it would make more sense for me to make another comment.

Oh yes, totally so. I would express it in the same way you do. I do not care and it has no priority for me. Because why should it? I am certain that we will never know for sure where we came from and how life came into being.

Where I do not think the same is that religion is a mere abstraction. Or better: it shouldn't be one. Religion I attach to practical things as well as to theoretical ones. The practice for me was during my childhood more present, as I was part of the church's activities like playing an instrument and singing in the children's choir.

For people who didn't have the money to educate their kids in arts and music that was a great chance to experience those kinds of things. For me, feeling rewarded through a religious act feels good.

Only in my adult years I started to interest myself in the scripts and methods and theories of my own and other religions. Which is a rich source to think about.

If one can easily draw connections between religion and fulfillment, then we draw fulfillment from other ideas as well.

Interesting. Do you have an example?

Please, share your further thoughts. I really like to get different perspectives or experiences of yours.

Over the years, I believe religion has faced a lot of competition from technology. Before, technology could not sustain our needs from an emotional standpoint. Communication was poor or nonexistent, the emotional experience felt void and empty. Because of this, there was still a void that only religion could fill. Today, thanks to new technogical advancements, we can form connections with people from all over the world. Just like the connections you have built from steemit. Those connections can range from being platonic, professional, financial to even romantic. We can travel easily from place to place. And soon, we will be able to immerse ourselves in fantasy worlds that will feel real. Technology has already advanced to the point where fulfillment can be achieved by the press of a few buttons on a phone.

So yes. Just as how we can draw a connection between religion and fulfillment, we can do the same with technology.

Thank you, I haven't expected this example. It made me think about further scenarios which I haven't thought about in that consequence.

To have emotional experience in full immersion, the technology would have to be far more advanced than it is now. The question I am asking myself here: How do I feel in such a scenario, when a loved one dies or falls ill and I look for contact with sorrow and a need for guidance? Do I then go into some virtual space and describe my situation to a group of people? Can I then assume that this group is skilled and educated enough to give me exactly the guidance and confidence I need?

What if someone has actually died? Is his real body then sterilely disposed of, a coffin ordered from amazon, some strong people then pick up the dead body, cremate it while I hold an online ceremony with a community to honor the dead? Or is everything indifferent and there are no more burials, no funerals, no funeral feast, nothing? Will I then be completely calm due to the technology and agree that others and finally I too will depart happily?

What if a friend's physical body is in the hospital or at home? Do I press the button on my phone and so does he, and we're both in virtual space where we experience psychologically mature support, then log out and feel better in the real world?

But isn't it also the case that two people who are physically present in the same room don't feel connected at all when they both look at their telephones? And wouldn't these two have to open the same app to meet each other? Isn't that a little absurd?

And wouldn't I really much rather have my hospital friend surrounded by real doctors and nurses who treat him and have a sense of compassion and ethics instead of visiting my online community?

Aren't real and authentic encounters usually physically and mentally present?

I ask this question because I was concerned with the issues of life that cause us to stumble emotionally.

Nevertheless, I would like to agree with you in that I watch Youtube videos myself, where people from whom I am willing to accept help give their lectures. In fact I feel partly comforted and understood. But this is only the virtual part, which I think has to be complemented by a real one for me to feel effective.

I hope, you are okay with this rush of questions as they came upon me all over:)

P.S. I do not vote further comments up from the second one, just for your info.

I am going to try my best here to answer these questions.

To have emotional experience in full immersion, the technology would have to be far more advanced than it is now. The question I am asking myself here: How do I feel in such a scenario, when a loved one dies or falls ill and I look for contact with sorrow and a need for guidance? Do I then go into some virtual space and describe my situation to a group of people? Can I then assume that this group is skilled and educated enough to give me exactly the guidance and confidence I need?
We already have online live therapists and suicide hotlines. Most likely we will have online reviews so we know who can be trusted or not. We may not need an alternate reality for this.

What if someone has actually died? Is his real body then sterilely disposed of, a coffin ordered from amazon, some strong people then pick up the dead body, cremate it while I hold an online ceremony with a community to honor the dead? Or is everything indifferent and there are no more burials, no funerals, no funeral feast, nothing? Will I then be completely calm due to the technology and agree that others and finally I too will depart happily?

You think too small. Imagine having your consciousness digitized so you never really die in the first place. The Netflix show Black Mirror did an episode on that. No one would fear death anymore.

But isn't it also the case that two people who are physically present in the same room don't feel connected at all when they both look at their telephones? And wouldn't these two have to open the same app to meet each other? Isn't that a little absurd?

Depends on what they are looking at. If they are looking at the same thing, then yes they are connected. Millions of people do meet each other using Tinder, Bumble and other dating apps so this isn't really absurd at all. In fact, I think one day, it will be considered normal.

And wouldn't I really much rather have my hospital friend surrounded by real doctors and nurses who treat him and have a sense of compassion and ethics instead of visiting my online community?

I think you are overrating the experience. The doctor and nurse are very experienced in these matters so they know exactly what to say. They are fully capable of acting compassionate and ethical, doesn't mean that they are. An online community is no different.
Just because you are not physically present, doesn't mean you aren't emotionally present. And just because you are physically present, doesn't mean that you are emotionally present.

P.S. I do not vote further comments up from the second one, just for your info.

This isn't the first time we spoke. I come in good faith. If I wanted upvotes, I wouldn't be talking to you like this.

Oh, my.
I already imagined that in a slightly different way but it's still the same scenario as you said:

Imagine having your consciousness digitized so you never really die in the first place.

I had this kind of conversation quite some times here on Steemit. I would like you to refer to this article of mine: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@erh.germany/can-gods-become-bored Otherwise this comment would become an article on its own.

Just because you are not physically present, doesn't mean you aren't emotionally present. And just because you are physically present, doesn't mean that you are emotionally present.

Agreed.

Though I am not as positive about technology you seem to be.

Hello Erika! You have highlighted an immensely relevant issue; one that is at the core of nearly all man-made problems, both internal, and by extension, external. All is rooted in knowledge of self and the nature of reality - failure in this arena is responsible for disruption in the natural ordering of personal human experience and broader social circumstances.

Nearly all religions carry within them a seed of Truth. However, that seed is all-too-commonly used as a lure to to snare the individual in a deadly trap. Let's face it, most religions are about control. They serve to make the people docile and subservient to the power structure of their day.

This can only be achieved when the religion takes on an exoteric aspect; subversively altering its message for the popular consumption of the uninitiated masses. This is typically done via the assertion of a literal interpretation of metaphorical mythology.

For those prone to the slightest insight, or willing to engage in the merest of critical evaluations, this type of religion utterly fails to satisfy. People who perceive the deception will often adopt atheism in a reactionary fit of adolescent rebellion. But this is to miss the point entirely; for who should ask of myth, "Is it true?".

This is the wrong question, as mythology is not true or false per se; it is a fictional story intended to convey a very real message. Rather than taking a "Yay or nay" position on religious teachings, many have sought to illustrate how common themes that run through world religions reveal useful insights if approached from the perspective of seeking personal value, rather than seeking factual historic or metaphysical information.

The renowned mythologist Joseph Campbell is most notable amongst these, and spiritual philosophers like Alan Watts have also offered much in this regard. Alain de Botton demonstrates this perspective when "...he picks bits of the grand religious buffet... takes the mental food and builds this into his own work."

This is the method by which we may garner lasting value from religion, without falling victim to its dogma and deceptions. Baby and bathwater need not be discarded together in an indignant atheistic tantrum. There is truth to be found in modern religion, as well as in the ancient mystery schools, and occult societies like freemasonry. But all these may be employed to dark ends - and often are - so it's up to the individual to seek in earnest prudence and to gather information from a wide variety of sources, so as to spot common patterns.

Trinities, virgin births, resurrections, etc. appear in many traditions, and by widening one's view their true meaning may be revealed. We are fortunate to have much information available these days, and there are many teachers who have done this work such that we may have some guidance on this path.

There is more to this life than the blind religionist or materialist atheist would have us believe, but it cannot be found via the mere acceptance or rejection of religious dogma. We must seek the Truth behind the facade, and make our own determinations without the obscuring influences of fear and prejudice.

Loading...

I took some time to think about what you say, and to give an appropriate response, according to what I believe, I foresee that it will be a little long...

You speak of what is not enough, of happiness, of the lack of community, of the need for unity, of culture, you speak of the necessity, the utility, and the function that a religion fulfills. All that is monolithically related, I think. But I also believe that it is necessary to speak of the origin of happiness, of the origin of the community, of the origin of unity and religion, and not of its practical aspects, not of consolation, not of the results but of the cause of such.

The rites, the traditions, the community, the association, all these are only manifestations, things of an irreplaceable and indispensable nature, but that happen for an original cause, and without this original cause, everything else is useless, lacking in meaning, and destined to death.

The human being is social and needs to relate to others, but can't relate to anyone, if that were so, then we would go out and talk to any stranger we met, but it is not, we need a reason for the association, without that reason, the association is useless and sooner or later, it will vanish. The reason I think that is always the similarity, of the similarity is born the association, and therefore the society, of people who have common interests, who seek the same things, who want the same objectives, in short, of people who are directed towards the same direction. This makes them approach and communicate, help each other and create from here the rites, traditions, customs, etc., which are always related to the interests and objectives of their creators, to the original members, and which can't be taken from others. What we call moral is nothing other than the custom of our ancestors, and it varies depending on them.

But, what is the reason for the unity? Is not it the good? Is not the common good sought by union? It is in fact good the origin of all association, it is not by chance that it is said that happiness consists in the practice of virtue, that the purpose of man is the good, and that only of to do good and to achieve good, you get happiness as a result. I would like to develop this idea here so that it does not seem arbitrary, but I have already taken care of that in a conversation I had with soo.chong163 a few days ago, and repeating it would be unnecessary since if you are interested you can read it here.

From the search for personal good comes the association with our peers, because in effect, we need other people, from the association with other people the common good is born, personal happiness is obtained from obtaining personal good, and personal good is achieved from the satisfaction of the common good. Am I wrong to talk like that?

For religions, most of them, heaven or union with God was the objective, which happens after death, so that the man was prepared throughout his life acting good, and every time he did it was a step closer. My religious position is complicated, but I believe in good, and I know that if I do the good, my results will be good, and I know that wherever I go, I will do it good as long as I think about good and act with it. If you always do the right thing, there is no wrong step, surely there may come a time of confusion in which one say that one could have done something better, but it does not really matter, because at the time I made that decision, that was what I thought was right and I did.

Maybe this is not the kind of response you expected to find, and maybe you wanted something more personal or specific, however, this is the best I can say, and I think a general definition like the one I have given is of the type that can be useful in any situation and not in one or two specifics. I don't know if it will be useful to you.

Oh, and I don't think that one can choose the religion, I don't think you can choose your beliefs, nor the culture, I don't think you can choose likes and preferences. When we believe in something, when we believe it is better, when we believe it is real and true, it is because it convinces us, it is not a decision.

Certainly we can choose if we ignore what seems to be true or if we recognize it, that is a decision, but factually it will not change anything, we will only be deceiving ourselves. There is only choice while there is confusion, but when you perceive the truth, the truth is irresistible, you cannot oppose it, it convinces you. You don't choose the truth, you just realize.

That is why I believe that what I have heard many times to say to Christians is true, that deep down in oneself all answers are found, that there is no need without cause and that man can't have the longing for spirituality if spirituality does not exist. Man can't need something that does not exist. Religions have all something true, but you don't need to look at them, it is certainly very helpful, I think, but the important thing is to look for oneself, because good is in us.

Loading...

I am not sure? Sounds to me you're experiencing the pulls of both--religious and non and nothing wrong with that.
One thing that does strike me with groups wanting communion, but opposed to a God per say, is that they're very close--opposite ends of a spectrum that when pulled together in a natural circle wind up lying right next to one another.
I say do away with too many rules! Take what works for you when it does and when you've learned that lesson move towards what is full of energy for you. And, not a teenage rebellion in which we do only what is easy or enjoyable, but hold sacred and true to our own rituals and ceremony. Forgive me if it seems I'm doling out advice. You know, as a psychologist, all about projections and perhaps I am just writing this response back to myself?
I don't want culture to replace scripture or vice versa. I like the fact that they are in dialogue and informing one another--religion's evolve and culture is most definitely influenced.
I for one am happy for my religious upbringing, if for no other reason than it has been like a foreign language in interpreting and understanding art, music, film, history--a skill I notice those around me w/o that training aren't as elevated or drained (moved) by the art or culture. Or, understand the do-or-die mentality of politics in countries where God is everything.
Lastly, I am not in agreement with your sentiment Change is not accomplished by loners (poets, writers, artists) in their single chambers.
I see these people as the forerunner's and often enough their work (see Jung for example) requires this introversion and self-focus in order to take human consciousness to another level. Yes, I guess staying alone might not have been sustainable throughout an entire lifetime, but he did make it through the dark night of the soul and returned with religious/psychological/artistic information that has greatly informed culture.

Thank you to contribute to this topic. And also, that you mention:

I don't want culture to replace scripture or vice versa. I like the fact that they are in dialogue and informing one another--religion's evolve and culture is most definitely influenced.

I too have my doubts that one can replace the other. Hence my criticism of Alain de Botton. I think he's trying to reinvent the wheel by believing that people's psychological needs can be transferred to the cultural sites accessible to the public. I would think that in many cases this would fail because of the entrance fee alone.

So I am on the same line with you as having hope that the religions can change and that the influences of culture can be used for it. Culture-creating individuals, like C. G. Jung, I agree with you, have become outstanding personalities and thus role models, whom we may conjure up as an inner orientation for moments in which we urge guidance.

In the majority, however, individual artists, writers and philosophers are very limited, have limited access to the general public and sink into the multitude of media events in business and politics. I could no longer name a single contemporary name, an artist, philosopher or writer, a living role model that spontaneously comes to mind, which would be known as such a revered and honored role model. In the last hundred years we have increasingly lost the generalists and the high specialization in the modern age makes it extremely difficult to maneuver through the jungle of news and distractions.

Those who are active in religious institutions are as dependent as the common man on gaining knowledge of role models such as Ghandi or Mandela or Martin Luther King or Mother Theresa. It seems to me that the only known contemporary figure in the world is the Dalai Lama.

I think that the loss of such outstanding personalities contributed to the spread of anxiety, and man seems to think that evil is threatening him from those who too rigidly cling to their religious dogmas, while those feel threatened by overarching "godlessness".

Here in Germany I experience a kind of weakness due to a lack of community that offers a general refuge for emergencies and deaths and that therefore the individualists simply believe they have no one but themselves. The German then compares himself with the believing Muslim and it pains him that such believers seem to be superior to him and endanger his way of life. Such fears are therefore not unfounded, quite simply because many are possessed by them. But not because it would be reasonable to feel so.

But we need them all: the poets, artists and all those who want to make a difference in their chambers. But they alone will not be able to win back what we have lost together. I think there are very big differences between your and my country and I don't want to speak lightly for you because I think those differences are indeed significant. For example, I have never met a single Christian fanatic in my entire life (and I don't want to). But: people are embarrassed by those who even begin to talk about their spiritual needs. That alone would not be so tragic, but even the smallest actions of ritual are observed with great discomfort and embarrassment. A grace prayer or even an expression of gratitude is considered superfluous. So those who consider it valuable have often gone into their own isolation, because it takes a lot of courage to show oneself publicly grateful in a small ritual. I also share my own experience here. I guess, I need help and reassurance in that.

I agree with you: If rules are enforced, damage is inevitable. But I probably need much more often than I always want to admit to myself, a reminder that I want to gain the insight that a voluntarily accepted rule is not the worst thing.

Maybe you are even more grounded than I and have found more refuge and consolation in what your life experience and upbringing could do for you.

Sorry, that got really long.

Please don't be sorry for the length of your response--yet another aspect of our modern day society in which we want everything in sound bites.
What you mention about differences in society in Germany and the U.S. and never having met a Christian fanatic is a conversation we've had before. I agree our countries are different in that way, after all, this one began with a bunch who wanted to do their own thing. Just look at all of the churches/religions that began in the U.S. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_religious_movements_that_began_in_the_United_States
There are times when I've participated in public display's of ritual and felt some unease about what others might think of me, but after holding groups and seeing how people respond, I am no longer. My dream teacher told me that people are starving for ritual in their lives right now and I saw it firsthand when I'd direct and people responded and then afterwards thanked me profusely.
When you talk about there being no role model's you can think of and the highly specialized and digitized world we live in, I think that might be true and also that this has to do with the sheer number of people in the world.
I'm going to a dream workshop week next month and am excited to be around these like-minded people. Perhaps, you look for a Buddhist retreat to attend? Or, start your own religion? :)
I haven't watched this video, but maybe he's got something wise to offer?
I do agree with him saying religious/spirituality is individual to each person, but also know what you mean about being a member of a supportive community with like values.

Thank you so much, Kimberly.
I feel that what you say has so much powert and clarity. I would like to be a member of your group.

You see, here in Germany kids grow up and learn in school about Hitler and World War II. There is still so much shame to be felt about our horrific past that it overpowers what spiritual longings people might have. People wanted to place so much distance between them and what happened, that in the race of renewal and building up the cities from scratch we forgot that we are not only survivors but also lovers. In a sense, we became an American dream but without the rich heritage of convinced people but defeated ones. So we compensated as a whole through materialism, science and production. I know I am over simplifying this. But this thoughts just occurred to me after you gave me the link with the churches.

After you suggested to look for a retread I started to seriously think about it. This will be my plan for the next year, as this summer is already planed. Thank you!

I am looking forward what you have to tell about the dream workshop you will attend.

Haven't watched the video so far, but will maybe do that.

All in all I would like you to share more of the experiences you mention here:

My dream teacher told me that people are starving for ritual in their lives right now and I saw it firsthand when I'd direct and people responded and then afterwards thanked me profusely.

A hug from the far!

Hugs, Erika!
Makes sense what you've said about the German people coming out of such trauma. I really do believe in psychology of place. I live in the oldest town west of the Mississippi, its beginnings very modern in European terms, but the place most definitely carries some shadow. It was a sort of booming, wild west town with a lot of corruption and greed.
Though there are many staunch Christians in this area there are many who are entirely opposed to organized religion here as well (very educated, left-leaning liberals). You mention Buddhism and that seems to be the belief system many of the "non-believer's" in my area are attracted to. I'm not so sure why? Perhaps, because they do long for spiritualism, but are not about to have themselves confused with the fundamentalist? For it seems to me many of the basic tenets of the large spiritual line of thought, Christian, Buddhist, Islam are the same and the stories of Buddha, Muhammad and Christ very similar.
I've got much to do today, so better end for now.
Yes, I'll have to write about my experiences at the dream workshop :)
Happy Valentine's day!

Very much so, yes, I agree that this is what people state about the similarities of religions. I am not a scholar enough to prove that but what I find true myself are indeed many of the virtues (the simplest to find in all religions) mean the same but use different expressions and names/languages.

Jesus could very well had been in India, they say, and followed the freshly paved path by his "brother", the Buddha, Gautama Siddharta. Funny imagination, I find. I find both of them are Superstars:)

Yes, I can imagine too that those attracted to Buddhism long for spirituality and cannot find it so they turn to the less offensive religion - which from my perspective is indeed Buddhism. They manage also to enter the realm of the academics which is a smart turn. I feel myself that I immediately would visit also a buddhist monastery if there was one near me. My all time favorite abbot is Ajahn Amaro. What a humorous guy he is!

I had a great valentines day, indeed. Got some of my favorite chocolate, flowers for the coming spring and a tiny tiny bottle with an even tinier ship in it. Also, my summer plans are now scheduled and I am so delighted that it will go to Italy this July. I can't wait!

Hope, you had a beautiful day, too & enjoy life. Sounds like.

I wonder (and I'm not the first) are existential speculations the burden that comes with sentience? Do other animals have this ontological insecurity? Does the antelope expiring in the jaws of a lion wonder where it is going?
We humans think not.
Perhaps our wondering is tied to an urge to survive, to propagate, to continue our genetic existence.
Religions answer questions. They bring us comfort. But at what price? Some people may pay too high a price--their intellectual autonomy. For many others, religion just makes the pain of everyday life more tolerable.
Where do I stand, personally? I vacillate. I wonder about essential truth, meaning, purpose. Sometimes I find comfort in the rituals and habits of my childhood faith. Why not? I dabble in other belief systems to find the kernel of truth that gave rise to most of them. In the end, I come up with my own set of spiritual anchors that allow me to rise in the morning and smile.

To be a little provocative in my answer to you I'd say that I couldn't care less about genetic existence, when I seek consolation in the moment a relative dies and I am truly sad. To make it even more funny, I wouldn't ask if my DNA urge me to ask questions about an after life. ;-)

What I experienced with no price tag was the free giving of those people who came to the funeral with the clear intent to share grief, to sing with full capacity of their hearts and to give the last company at the grave. I preferred skilled people instead of clumsy ones who didn't know how to act. A great majority of the people showed up were Christians. There they themselves were reminded of their mortality and I think this is good to be reminded of.

I think both is possible: to remain intellectually autonomous and spiritual. Though I want to confirm that there are nasty speeches and actions within religious people, it's not them I want to concentrate myself on. Maybe that'll give them more peace for themselves.

It's such a good thing that you found your way of dealing with your spiritual anchors and maintain rituals and value life. Also, I do the same dabbling in other belief systems and find that quite inspiring and helpful. Thanks to the Internet and people with whom I stay in a rich exchange, like you:)

I love "talking" to you on the Internet.

:)))) I love it, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85