You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grandpa Gotta Work—What I Like And Don't Like So Far

in #life5 years ago

I know you probably are not thinking about it, but when winter comes, are you a winter driver? It seems to me the trips to the coast in winter may take a bit longer, does the van have chains or are you allowed to run on studded tires in Oregon?

It sounds like you are getting into the routine of things and those little reset issues will go away in time with muscle memory.

Sort:  

Hey, @bashadow.

I can't say I've done a lot of winter driving outside of locally, but yes, studded tires and or chains are allowed here. We don't get a lot of snow on this side, even in the coast range (but it happens), so that is something to consider. I'm not sure how frequent I'll be going to the coast during the winter time, though, as everything tends to slow down there, while it could pick up closer to home. I guess I'll find out in about four months or so. :)

I was just curious about it. I know that Oregon gets snow, some times a lot, my wife has a friend down there somewhere, and this winter she was talking about the snow a few times. Good to know that they allow studded tires if you do need to venture out.

Central and Eastern Oregon do get quite a bit more snow than we do in the valley. I probably should have mentioned that, too, it's just I don't spend a whole lot of time outside of the western part. For us to get snow, it generally means a cold front is coming down from the north and mixing with some precipitation from the west somewhere. Every once in a while we'll get one of those arctic blasts you folks will send our way, but not very often. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88