Streaming killed the Tv star

in #life6 years ago

Yes it is true, every new thing eventually becomes the old thing, and in this case it is the Tv shows turn.

About 3 days ago 19 shows were canceled, lets not be too sad, some of them were complete crap, but some were not that bad. Then I heard a director speak on the issue of the ratings scale not being updated. By that, he meant the only way the stations judge the popularity of a show, is still currently live ratings. So when I wait for Amazon or Netflix to get the complete season, and then bing watch. That does not help them justify if they are going to get another season. I know I am not the only one who does this either, but I can now see how this habit would be a show killer. The stations don't care about the views they get later, they want them now. He really did not have a suggestion except for us to watch live.

Sort:  

I stopped watching live TV a long time ago. The reason? Ridiculous cable prices and the fact that I have absolutely no control over what I am buying. If there are just a few channels that I want, I have to purchase a full bundle of channels that includes them. This means that I pay for a crapload of channels that I don't want and won't watch. Why can't I just select the channels I want and pay for them? Well, too bad cable companies. I just took my ball and went home. I can get so much content from Netflix and anything else is super easy to stream.

Ya kinda like the internet too. I really only go to like 3 websites maybe google something random and then done. We are in the age of over stimulation.

Hmm...that director was a little misinformed. It's true that waiting for a season to show up on Hulu or Netflix doesn't help a show, like you said. But, delayed viewing does count for a show's ratings. The standard metric for ratings right now is Live +3. That means a show's ratings from the night it airs along with 3 days of DVR viewing from a Nielsen household. Some shows have huge bumps in viewers over those 3 days. Networks have been pushing for Live +7 but some advertisers claims their ads aren't effective by 7 days so they don't want to pay for it. Of course, none of this matters if you aren't a Nielsen household. But I've often thought, a smart way to have an impact and help a show you like is to go to Hulu or a TV network website and watch a show you love there the week after it was broadcast since they can measure people who stream from their website.

That is interesting that there is a live plus 3. Makes sense, and since you are in the business you would be the guy to know that. I probably need to correct myself. He did not ever mention watching it a day later, his main point was that if you waited for the whole season to be done and come out. That was what he called the show killer. It always comes back to the money, and the return for advertisers.

This has really been the downside of television shows, a program I love so much was taken down. It seems they don't care. With streaming the stars don't have that same popularity as when its a t.v show. Don't know why they do that though

Ya, the days of waiting and everyone looking forward to a night for their show has kinda gone away.

Yes, easy nowadays. One can easily pick up his/her and stream the show

Gave up cable quite a while ago. I missed it at first but there are so many better things to do and, quite honestly, to consume content. I'm not much of a video person because I am on the go and that stuff crushes my data, so I have been listening to podcasts for about 10 years now. I feel I can find anything, including info on TV shows without having to watch the whole darn thing. Cheers!

Thanks, and I never have had cable, but I agree there are so many more things to do in life than video content

mobbyn.jpg

Mobbyn's route gained unexpected turbulence this weekend - Belmondo in its channels announced the cancellation of both concerts, which surprised both Doniza and the organizers...

On Friday in Toruń half of the line-up was already in place, when everyone learned about the absence of Young G - he sent a statement at his Instagram, the following day adding the information about the cancellation of yesterday's show as well, pointing out that they will "make up for it". However, the opposite could be suggested by Oyche Doniz's comments, who stated that "Young G solved the perpetuum mobile on Friday".

The whole course of the weekend commotion you will find on the screens below (we borrowed them from newonce, who collected them all for sale), and tomorrow we are going to receive a statement from the organizer, Stage agency, which should shed a little more light on the whole situation.

I don't even think the guy on the right has a shot glass in his hand....

upvoted ! also you can check my last post :)

This is a bad way of communication. You can do better with honest comments

Yeah lots of shows had been replaced by streaming not intentional but it’s called evolution in TV media

Hello! Here in my country that is called rating and is measured with the views of a program at the moment, that is why people like us who watch recorded programs do not count as part of those viewers. It is important to make a blog in those pages of the programs where a survey is made and can be measured there.

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85