Don't Live for Other People's Opinions

in #life6 years ago

Many of us are influenced in what we do by the way we want to be perceived by others but this has almost no relevance to our own lives whatsoever. If our decisions are made because of other people, are we really living a life of our own choices?


Yes it is important to make our family, colleagues, and friends happy by the choices we make but by no means does that mean you must change the way you were born to live to keep these relationships growing. Usually we tend to assume if we don't act the way we want to others want us to act, they will shy away from us but this is typically not the case.

Anybody who truly will love you and should be in your life will accept who you really are and the decisions you make in your life, for you!


If you have to act a certain way to keep your relationships from dissolving you are living in a fear based reality. This is not a good place for you to be because you are trying to protect who you truly are and life is about freedom, being exactly who you are with no regrets!


When others are influencing you to do things you wouldn't normally do then you are living a uncontrolled life, the steering wheel is being moved by lower negative emotions. This will ultimately lead you down a path you should of never made your way down. The further you continue this way, the further you will become from knowing exactly who you are and what you want in life.

One day you may wake up and not like what you have become. The environment you are in could be so far from where you want to be it may be painful to start to recognize you are actually there. Some people may never try to get back on track and numb themselves to be able to withstand that place through drugs, alcohol, keeping the mind busy and having depression.


Figure out who you truly are and what you want in life. Be confident in everything that your heart truly tells you and boldly let the world know that's what your all about. The people you want in your life will respect this wholeheartedly and support it 100%!


This is the only way to live a full great life that many will appreciate and look up to. Show the way to others of how you should live life so it gives them the courage to do the same. This is what hero's are made of!

Think for yourself and do not assume what others believe or want.

Live for you and serve this world in the best ways!

@bitdollar

Steemit Writer
atitlan.jpg

My recent trip to Guatemala in Lake Atitlán

Sort:  

You know, I spent quite a lot of time, several years, to figure out who I am... And somehow for me the answer after all was not in figuring out, but in accepting the fact that I actually don't know. Don't know my higher mission, don't know who I am and what should I do best. But when accepting it, it's possible to CHOOSE. Chose who you want to be, try it on yourself and listen to your heart - does it make a beautiful song for you? Thus you accept things you like and just let other things go. And it such a way you're building and creating yourself every day. Thus exploring and getting to know yourself better everyday till the last one.

This is wonderful and I always say life is suppose to be unknown....that is what keeps us going and searching for more.

Also choosing with what you want. You have done some great inner work though I can tell and it has given you some great clarity even if it seems like it hasn't. :)

This was an amazing comment @aleksandraz... I think you should do a whole post on it. Loved it! Thanks and have a great day!!

Very well said @bitdollar
I think people gets so much influence by their society, that they wear "MASK". They are not whom they are. That's why we love the cuteness of the child.Being an adult,They have so many layers of mask for each of them.As if they started hating themselves. That very bitter truth .

Perfectly put @sgupta... I think you are right about the kids and adults wearing masks. So true in my opinion. Thanks for sharing that.

good one bro. really loved reading it. we should not always take decisions to Make others happy . it should have some limits

Yea totally agree! :)

Nice post.
People are so influenced nowadays that they had lost their own identity and are on a path of darkness.
Real and a living example is me..

Yea it can happen and almost happens to everyone. We must redefine our true selves and stick to it. It can happen very easily. Appreciate you sharing @princepr!

Thanks for sharing the post with us.
Waiting for the next.

Well said bro.
Friends that leave you when you start being real are no real friends.
You're better off without them and you'll attract better ones.

100% agree!

In the words of johnny Depp: "Go ahead and not bother about what strangers think about you. Do only what you have to do for yourself." This is a useful phrase that will make you think in moments when the opinion of others hangs a dark cloud over your plans. Care about what people think, deprives us of the opportunity to Express themselves, to Express their opinions and to be what we are.

That is a wonderful quote and great to live by. Very true words you speak here about caring of what others think will deprive us of the opportunities to express ourselves. Thanks @grisotti!

I have a great deal of respect for folks that figure this out when they are young. It took a lot of miles before I figured it out. There's something about growing older that makes it so much easier not to care so much about what others think.

I believe that. I worry about the important things in life, not peoples thoughts. :)

Thanks @qberry!

A post dear to my heart @bitdollar. As a young girl I grow up as a people pleaser it is only in my mature years am I comfortable under my own skin. I have to always remind myself to connect to my courage and self love so I can overpower my fears and self doubt. With that comes respect of self, pride and strength of mind.

I also love the 3 C's below
3.jpg

Thanks for sharing......appreciated.

Connect to my courage adn self love so I can overpower my fears and self doubt.

Love that @donnab! Thanks for sharing!

good article, be yourself better, do not use the mask just to make it look perfect

Some people have always expectations from us to act or to be acted to them by us.. Sometimes they can be a family member or best friend..Years by years I learnt how to be myself and act like how I want..I lost some people on this way but I never regret..We have right to be accepted how we are..

You are so right and on the right path! Thanks @ellaironheart!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61367.99
ETH 2929.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67