You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do the People Make the Place?

in #life6 years ago

You've so beautifully put words to exactly what I've been feeling and contemplating the last few years. In 4 years I've lived in Nevada, Georgia, Oklahoma and now California. I've struggled to find roots and connect with a community but sometimes I deeply yearn for that (physical) tribal welcome (my tribe is scattered and skype doesn't really fill that gap for me). I also wonder if maybe I'm being invited into a new period of maturation, a deepening sense of belonging to the land, to self... or if maybe I just need to force myself out of my comfort zone and join group activities that I'm also not very fond of (fellow hermit here). I don't have any answers, I just hope to live these questions as gracefully as it seems you do. Thank you for sharing, I needed this reflection. Xx

Sort:  

You've moved even more than I have, so I can definitely see how you'd feel this way. One thing I think is worth honing in on is how we tell the difference between retreat that is a part of inner maturation and retreat that is a part of self-isolation because we find it less stressful to simply enjoy our own company. The former we must not run from. The latter we must not hide within.

Yes, such a good point, thank you! I do sometimes have difficulty discerning when I'm isolating versus being asked to engage in healthy and necessary retreat. I learn more and more over time to trust what's unfolding for me and listen deeply to what's most true in any given circumstance. Beautiful post @indigoocean, I always love what you share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70