Those Slimy 'Shrooms, Hygrophorus flavodiscussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

When I first started learning about mushrooms, I found myself under the tutelage of an amazing mushroomer and teacher; ripe in his years, he had spent many seasons in the fields and forests, walking along roadsides, kicking over 'shrooms as a hobby. After retirement, he had gone on to volunteer for the state poison control department offering help in cases of mushroom poisoning. He was also an excellent artist. He has, of course, since passed, but he did not go without leaving me with a wealth of information.

These Yellow-centered waxy caps, Hygrophorus flavodiscus, were some of the first really distinct mushrooms I found in mass quantity that I was quite confident of in my identification. Of course, before I cooked them all up for dinner, I wanted to verify with the master. I emailed him pictures of the 'shrooms, the spore print, and detailed my identification, then said something to the effect of, "I can't wait to cook them up!" His response was typical: "Well done on the ID, but why would you eat that?"

H. flavodiscus is covered in slime. That shiny coating in the photograph is not dew, rain, or melted frost; it is slime reminiscent of a wet slug, and as they like to grow under hemlock trees, they are often coated in shed needles and other detritus, but this did not stop me. I spent hours that night, scraping the slime off with a paring knife and foolishly rinsing them under the faucet. When I had finally cleaned my bounty, I cooked them up and had a heaping mess of something edible, but certainly not worthy of the preparation time. I emailed my teacher back, confirming that, in fact, there is no reason to eat them.

Later that fall, when I was out 'shrooming, I went back to where I found them the first time, and could not help but pick more. (It is a compulsion.) I had learned a bit about cooking mushrooms since I first found them, and I had also dabbled in raising slugs as food. Slugs, like snails, are edible and when cooked thoroughly, are quite safe to eat, but they have that same slimy coating as these waxy caps. You can remove the slimy coating from a slug by dropping them in vinegar, or you can use the slimy coating as something of an egg bath before rolling them in bread crumbs and frying them up; H. flavodiscus would prove to be no different. Rather than spend hours cleaning and preparing the 'shrooms, this time I picked the debris off, rolled them in bread crumbs and fried them up. They were delicious and still remain one of my favorite foraged fair.

Sow seeds of liberty so we can all reap sheaves of freedom together.



bch- 1FnRpoBGLgXMuU6ZvBs64D64D3MYeiKJtK
ltc - MTndBdTmzE9CyPEJak8PJPyZfYE3uCyJFD
btc – 3MTXSsDkhpzDsmPZhxGUj2BRDNS4K6Wnvw

Sort:  

Here to support your post @bpangie, after @pehsteem entered it into our weekly PIFC contest!

Posted using Partiko Android

Slimy stuff, not for me thanks. Nice photo, though.

PS: I also came here because @pehteem featured you in the Pay It Forward Contest

Thanks for stopping by. They are no doubt slimy, but it cooks up, almost like eggs! I swear... :)

I don't care much for slime but loved your story. I found your post because you were featured by @pehteem in this week's pay it forward curation contest.
Check out the @pifc page if you would like to join in the curation.

Congrats you won the daily Gogreenbuddy upvote worth roughly 50 cents! Keep writing like this and you will keep winning!

Thanks again for all you do.

I think I agree with the guy - why would you want to eat that?!
I've harvested/eaten slippery jacks (which have a slimy cap), but that's only after I've washed it well so that there's no slime left!
I also won't try something which requires a spore print for correct identification, lol. I've still harvested/used about a dozen species now, which is so much fun.

Great post! I found you thanks to @pehteem who featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation Contest this week. (I believe he's out of RC at the moment and can't let you know himself!)

Haha. Thanks! He taught me to use spore print as the basis for all mushroom IDs. I've always found it to be helpful, and one of the most telling characteristics.

Also, they're actually pretty tasty breaded in the slime. Just like breaded button mushrooms. (I left behind any that were too far out of the button stage.)

I don't normally pick gilled mushrooms - and the ones I pick are very distinctive without the print. Certainly if you're picking a lot of gilled mushrooms spore prints become very important. I mostly hunt things like chanterelles, cauliflowers, lobsters, hedgehogs, boletes/jacks and puffballs. I have also picked morels and oysters and a few other very easy mushrooms. Of course, it's also very region dependent and now that I'm in the Rockies it's a lot harder, I simply don't see a lot of mushrooms on the dry side.

I'm glad to hear that your slimy mushrooms were very good. :-)
Slippery jacks are often discounted in the edibility stakes, but I found them as good as some of the boletes.

Very interesting. I love mushrooms but I don't think I could try them. I've tried escargot and they remind me of that. It does seem like a lot of prep work.

As you know @pehteem featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. Keep they great work.

Rather than spend hours cleaning and preparing the 'shrooms, this time I picked the debris off, rolled them in bread crumbs and fried them up.

PERFECT! I would do the same if I have the previous experience before 😃 but I'd skip the slimy mushroom if I don't kniw what is that. You're so lucky with the shroom identification learnings.

Found your post through @pehteem entry post in the pay it forward contest this week.. and I think this is not your first time being featured, cmiiw 😊

I wish I could see how you cook it.. though I don't think I'll find any slimy mushroom around my neighbourhood, but thanks for sharing the information so I don't have to learn about mushroom to recognize the slimy one. As you know.. I have featured you in the pifc this week, but run out of RC while I'm trying to let you know.

I saw that. Thanks! Just treat it like an egg bath. Pick the debris off, and roll them in bread crumbs, and the fry them up.

Congratulations @bpangie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93