You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Those Slimy 'Shrooms, Hygrophorus flavodiscus

in #life6 years ago

I think I agree with the guy - why would you want to eat that?!
I've harvested/eaten slippery jacks (which have a slimy cap), but that's only after I've washed it well so that there's no slime left!
I also won't try something which requires a spore print for correct identification, lol. I've still harvested/used about a dozen species now, which is so much fun.

Great post! I found you thanks to @pehteem who featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation Contest this week. (I believe he's out of RC at the moment and can't let you know himself!)

Sort:  

Haha. Thanks! He taught me to use spore print as the basis for all mushroom IDs. I've always found it to be helpful, and one of the most telling characteristics.

Also, they're actually pretty tasty breaded in the slime. Just like breaded button mushrooms. (I left behind any that were too far out of the button stage.)

I don't normally pick gilled mushrooms - and the ones I pick are very distinctive without the print. Certainly if you're picking a lot of gilled mushrooms spore prints become very important. I mostly hunt things like chanterelles, cauliflowers, lobsters, hedgehogs, boletes/jacks and puffballs. I have also picked morels and oysters and a few other very easy mushrooms. Of course, it's also very region dependent and now that I'm in the Rockies it's a lot harder, I simply don't see a lot of mushrooms on the dry side.

I'm glad to hear that your slimy mushrooms were very good. :-)
Slippery jacks are often discounted in the edibility stakes, but I found them as good as some of the boletes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63491.36
ETH 3082.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86