Getting A Juicy Pump Before I Nerd Out Again

in #life6 years ago

f1627068-17d3-4b92-aa6f-d667b60ef85b.jpeg


I’m downloading the Ubuntu 18.04 LTS ISO which I’m going to run in Virtualbox and then I’m going to build EOS in there. Now that the jungle testnet is up I don’t need to run nodeos to produce blocks. I can just connect to a node that is already running out there. We aren’t going to get a go/no go on the mainnet launch until tomorrow because they are still testing.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Ubuntu eh? I used to use Ubuntu back in the day but it doesn't work as well as it used to anymore. I suggest using Linux Mint instead. Very stable and works very well out of the box.

Linux Mint is based on Debian and Ubuntu. I have heard good things about it especially detecting hardware in laptops and getting up and running well right away. I have never actually used it.

I run OpenSuSE on the desktop but for the EOS build I decided to stick with Ubuntu since I figured more people probably tried to run with that. But a lot of people are not able to complete the build currently in a few of the options including myself so I'm waiting for that fix to be committed and then I will attempt the build again.

Amazon 2017.09 and higher
Centos 7
Fedora 25 and higher (Fedora 27 recommended)
Mint 18
Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (Ubuntu 16.10 recommended)
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
MacOS Darwin 10.12 and higher (MacOS 10.13.x recommended)

I heard that EOS paid $10,000 or something like that for a bug hunter (hacker presumably) that detected a verified EOS bug. I don't lnow the details but it just means that the EOS project is a serious blockchain technology that aims to serve the world for the better (I hope)

Yeah actually several bugs were found that way and the money was paid out which is great.

It's almost Go Time with the EOS Launch. I have to wait until the issue I'm having is resolved in the code so I can try to build the code again.

I'm like pacing around because I have been waiting for all this for almost a year now.

Sometimes I wish I can just fully understand this blockchain tech stuff.

I am a total noob in this field.
Do one need to be a programmer before he/she can do all these magic stuffs you said you will be doing later?

There is a ton to learn.... sometimes I feel like a noob compared to some of the beast out there. Knowing how to program is a good skill for this stuff but I'm more of a system administrator type guy.

Oooo I see.

I think I will dedicate some time to download some videos to learn about it from scratch

Get them veins pumping my friend. Looking good ;)

wow you are vascular! keep the good work! how come you dont post often anymore? you would get so many likes

I post stuff everyday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95