You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Netflix Nugget: Umbrella Academy

in #life5 years ago

Just knowing the comic is relatively brief, I was pretty sure it would be more “high concept” but not rival the character driven aspect of the show. I’ll still be reading it when I get the time!

I enjoy how the show drops you into this alternate reality but doesn’t feel the need to explain everything. It took me a while to put my finger on it, but I was struck by how they chose to minimize modern day technology. I’m curious if there’s an eventual plot explanation (like the birth event, one of the children, or Hargreaves altering how tech evolved from our version of the world) or if it was simply a conscious worldbuilding choice to create more anachronistic charm and enhance drama by eliminating ubiquitous cellphones and computers.

Sort:  

I believe that this is intended to be an alternate universe where historical events and innovations in technology happened differently in very specific and unique ways.

For instance, they’ve already made reference to the Kennedy assassination. Five was there, but he didn’t pull the trigger.

How does all this time jumping change the world?

Or maybe it’s all just a stylistic choice.

I’m eager to find out as well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84