You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Millennials and Political Correctness

in #life6 years ago

From what you just said, i am made to understand that political correctness is used to describe language, policies, or measures that are intended to avoid offense or disadvantage to members of particular groups in society. I'm i right? @mikehamm

Sort:  

Yes, you are correct. The way I am using it is to describe language that is intended to avoid offending particular groups in society. One problem with it is that it continuously changes as someone else becomes offended by a certain term. Older people, like me, aren't always up to date and may sound insensitive when that wasn't the intent.

Currently it's my understanding that the term politically correct is not even politically correct.

I have actually been puposefully aware of how I state things here on Steemit as typically I don't care to fancy up what I think when I put it in writing. But, in keeping up with the times....best not to attract any attention. Think before you speak is always good advice but now you have to have a current checklist to see what is proper and what has been deemed offensive.

I'm offended that people are offended. So there.

I think as I was growing up the only time anyone got offended by what others said was when someone was cursing in front of a lady. That one has just gone away completely!

Our family and friends were somewhat lax in cussing. We were the working class. Mechanics, construction, factory. So am not easily offended.

Sometimes it seems it is hard for me. I used to just talk now I have to phrase things. Bummer. Thinking before you speak is a good idea but stopping to hit a checklist before you speak sucks.

I am guilty of poor language but am respectful in public. I am aware of my surroundings and present myself accordingly. It is that easy. Reminds me of a story of my mom (nothing unusual about that) and the 'F' word. Will share with you someday.

But it is nice when gentlemen especially make an effort to curb the language, and/or topic, when ladies are present. It still happens occasionally

More than just being a gentleman back then. I was always told there was a law in Alabama about cursing in front of women. It may or not be true, but it certainly wasn't socially acceptable since no one in any class did it that I remember.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80