You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living in a Material World: the moral conflict of gifts

in #life5 years ago

Yay!
I agree. While I'm not really big on gifts (though I LOVE giving), getting something, even a rock (disclaimer: I LOVE ROCKS) can be so special. Growing up my mom always MADE things, which meant we also got to make things. So gift-giving became spending time REALLY thinking about the person and creating something special... not rushed, not forced, but from the heart.

Now, I can get the same sort of feels if the hubs 'brings home a special treat' when he's been shopping (he's the best for shopping). It's simply the matter of thinking of the other person enough to want to give them something to show your feels.

I do see and understand the fine (sometimes extremely thick) line of people attempting to 'buy affections'. That's weird, and I think has to do with how folks are raised. It's hard to break the cycle, but not impossible. I think those who 'buy affection' still have love and want to share it, they just aren't totally sure how.

I'm glad you started excepting rocks again. ❤️

Sort:  

Thank you @carrieallen.

You make an excellent point about why and where the gift is coming from. Gift giving Abd receiving is a natural instinct, humans have just taken it to extremes.

Greed, definitely a humanly fallback.

Thanks for your comment. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99