What They Forgot To Tell Me About The 'Joys' Of Motherhood--Comedy Open Mic Round 13 Entry

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Most mothers will say that motherhood is the best thing that has ever happened in their lives, and you can see that they really mean it with all that cutesie photos they share. However, they have a deep dark secret they don't normally share on social media--the messier and a lot more emotional side of motherhood. When I became a mother, it felt like I was finally a part of a secret society where everything made sense what it means to be truly a mother.

It's Possible To Love Someone You've Never Met Before

If someone asked me if it's possible to love someone you don't know and have never met two years ago, I would have immediately answered with a resounding 'No!' Well, that was before I got pregnant. Nobody can ever explain to you how much love you'll feel for that speck of life growing inside your womb until you experience it for yourself. So, yes. It is possible to feel unconditional love for someone you haven't met yet.

Your Perspective And Priorities In Life Will Change

Yes, it's true. I used to have so many plans for my career--but it all changed after giving birth. Now, everything I do, I do it with my child in mind. Promotion at work didn't mean much to me anymore, especially if that means taking more of my time away from my son. In fact, I even gave up my career so I can take care of my son--which is something I told myself I'd never do. Actually, I thought it was just me, but I've met other mothers who were also ready to give up their careers at a moment's notice if it becomes necessary.

A Raving Lunatic, You Will Become

I was born on a February and we Februarians are known for our nasty mood swings--but that doesn't compare to the mood swings compelled by motherhood. One minute I'm laughing and the next I'm screaming my head off because of something my kid did--then feel guilty because I screamed. Five minutes later, I'm laughing then screaming again--like a crazy woman! And the cycle continues. Whew! Extreme mood swings take a lot of energy.

Going An Adventure Of A Lifetime--A.K.A. Co-Sleeping With A Toddler

If you don't co-sleep with your toddler, you should. It's actually quite fun. There are days when a random fist or foot will suddenly land on your face while you sleep. Fun!

sleeping3.png

sleeping.png

It boggles the mind how someone so small can take up so much space on the bed.

sleeping2.png

This would have been a really sweet moment--except he was sitting on my neck and slowly choking me to death.

Who Knew That It's Such A Dangerous Profession?

Never have I ever been punched, kicked, scratched, and bitten in my life--until now. Who knew that someone so little can pack a punch? Nobody said that being a mother is like entering a wrestling match that you can never win--because you can't fight back.

Sleep Is For The Weak

They said that a baby's sleep patterns start to normalize at around 6 months to 1 year old. Some lucky parents actually have babies who sleep like angels. Me? Of course, nothing is ever that easy for me. My son still doesn't sleep peacefully through the night. He'd still wake up in the middle of the night asking for milk. I don't know. Maybe those parents with perfect little angels saved the world in their past lives that's why they are so blessed. Me, on the other hand...I probably tried to destroy it that's why I'm being punished with sleep deprivation. I'd be lucky to have 5-6 hours of uninterrupted sleep.

Even on days when my sister promises to keep an eye on my son while I take a nap, this still happens...

nosleep.png

I'm just gonna cover my cellulite. I'm sure you don't want to see that either, especially if you're eating. lol

Who needs sleep anyway?

Who Knew I Can Do So Much With My Feet?

As a mother who has no help around the house, I quickly learned to do everything myself. Even picking things up from the floor while carrying a baby. It took some practice but I finally perfected the pick-throw-catch move. I pick up an object with a foot, throw it in the air, and pray that I catch it with my one free hand. I got so used to using my feet that I was even able to change the bedding while carrying a sleeping baby--and did not wake him up! Achievement unlocked!

Motherhood Is Not An Exam You Can Prepare For

There are tons of parenting class for first-time parents you can join or you can read all the parenting books you can get your hands on but the sad reality remains. No amount of preparation can ever really truly prepare you for the magnitude of your role and responsibilities as a parent, especially as a mother.

Eating Out Will Be Your Greatest Challenge

Bringing a toddler to a restaurant is never a good idea. You will spend 99% of your time NOT eating. Every time we eat out, our son finds it the most convenient time to take a nap.

eating.png

Well, my suffering was partly my fault because I forgot to bring his carrier. But, really? My husband just had to order spaghetti! Argh! What a mess!

What's that? It gets better? Well, now that he's older, he likes to run around the restaurant--checking what other diners are eating and playing tag with the staff. Sooo...uhm...yeah. I don't think 'it gets better' is the right phrase to use. You'll just have to resign yourself to the fact that you will be the designated 'finisher'--finisher of leftovers--because you only get to eat after everybody else is done so they can watch over your kid while you eat.

Motherhood Is A 24/7 Job

My friends and I were just having a chat about how exhausting it is to be a mom. My friend even jokingly asked if she could resign from being a mother. Of course, that's not possible. lol. Motherhood is a 24/7 job without sick or vacation leaves. And, nope. There's no retirement for us, either.

And just when you thought you've it all figured out--the dog poops--the baby steps on it--and walks all over the floor you just cleaned. Aaah...the joys of motherhood.

If I'm going to list down all of my realizations as a mother, this post will never end. But, I guess, the most important realization I've had is that motherhood is the most difficult job in the world but also the most rewarding.

200w_d.gif

gif source

This is my entry for @comedyopenmic's comedy open mic round 13. Thank you @beeyou for letting me know about this contest. I nominate @guri-gure and @filnette to join the contest.

@chineyes

mamalogo.png

chineyes.jpg

Sort:  

HI @chineyes,

Please do not use bots to upvote your entries, this includes @minnowsupport.

Whoops. Sorry about that. Won't happen again. :)

My toddler doesn’t like to sleep alone yet so I end up with purple bruises on my leg not knowing how it got there! So true about many things. Being last to eat at a restaurant? Yes, join the party of looking at everyone eat first before you can enjoy that yummy pasta yourself. 🙂

Glad to see you writing again. It’s actually a humorous post. You should use it to join the @comedyopenmic contest. They’re a good bunch of people. Just stop by their blog, resteem their latest contest, change one tag to comedyopenmic and edit your post to nominate two people. Add your link to their contest post. I don’t think I’m funny but they seem to like my last entry. You can give up the NRD tag on this one, we’ll forgive you.

lol. It has been awhile since my last post, hasn't it? The past couple of weeks had been really hectic for me. Actually, I had been drafting this post for the last two weeks but never really had enough time to complete a paragraph...It was kinda surreal that I was able to finish it just in time for mother's day. I'm sure I'll have more 'realizations' in the coming months, especially since I'm gonna start to potty train my son. lol

Btw, thanks for letting me know about @comedyopenmic's contest. :)

It was written equally, further more about the story was great!

My wife and I had our first child nearly 29 years ago, so we're past that stage. About a year ago, though, we entered the grandparents stage, and have the granddaughter, along with her parents (my son and his wife), living with us. It's been mostly fun for me, because Granpa duties are quite different than what Dad's duties were for me, or Mom's duties were for my wife. All I can say is, it's good that the majority of children are raised by younger people than I am. The granddaughter is in the process of learning to walk and she still needs some help getting around. Which means I'm in a constant state of bending over if I'm the one she's leading around.

Anyway, I'm sure there will be plenty of stress and mess, but eventually things do get better. They move out and live on their own for a few months before coming back with a spouse and child! Just kidding. That doesn't always happen. You could catch a break. :)

lol. It's the parents' job to raise and discipline their kids--and it's the grandparents' job to spoil their grandkids. My dad used to be really strict when my siblings and I were kids. But, he spoils my son a lot as a granddad--which is a refreshing side of him I got to know.

I know that it will all be over soon because he will have a life of his own...but just the thought of it is already giving me separation anxiety. But then again, it's only normal for kids to stay with their parents until they have kids of their own in the Philippines. lol

I haven't quite made the spoiling stage yet. I play with her for a while, but I don't know that we've really managed to get away with a whole lot yet. I'm not the one buying her toys or new clothes or feeding her stuff she's not supposed to eat yet. That's Grandma. So, I don't know. Maybe I'll get my turn with the spoiling thing. I'm inclined to follow the wishes of my daughter-in-law first, and then see what happens after that. She's been good really good with her daughter so far, which includes some (not a lot) of indulgences. So, we'll see. :)

Your post it's funny and cute, i love the way you describe motherhood, well you have a new follower, good job!

Thanks so much! Glad you liked it. :)

Always enjoy your writing!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day!

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thank you so much!

You're welcome!!

Why I don't want to be a mom... maybe... yet... who knows. :D

lol. try it! It's fun---despite the zombie mom episodes from lack of sleep and getting random bruises from wild punches and bites. lol

Nooooo! Hahaha.

lololol But seriously. Motherhood is the best thing that has ever happened to me. Just one smile from those little monsters can melt your heart and forgive them everything. haha

To be a mother is not a day job. Interesting post, I can so relate with some of them especially the sleep deprivation, the mood swings(lol @raving lunatic), sleeping arrangement and picking things from the floor.

I think the first taste of motherhood everybody gets is sleep deprivation. It's almost like an initiation or a rite of passage for mothers. lol

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chineyes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Ahahahahaha! You know we can relate to this!
The many struggles!
Why dont I see your charming husband in the pics? Lol!
Huwaat!? You nominated me too? Hahaha! Sorry I just saw this.

Chief, baka ma jinx post at hindi kumita kapag isasama ko sya. lol

You can join the next one. hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99