You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What They Forgot To Tell Me About The 'Joys' Of Motherhood--Comedy Open Mic Round 13 Entry

in #life6 years ago

My wife and I had our first child nearly 29 years ago, so we're past that stage. About a year ago, though, we entered the grandparents stage, and have the granddaughter, along with her parents (my son and his wife), living with us. It's been mostly fun for me, because Granpa duties are quite different than what Dad's duties were for me, or Mom's duties were for my wife. All I can say is, it's good that the majority of children are raised by younger people than I am. The granddaughter is in the process of learning to walk and she still needs some help getting around. Which means I'm in a constant state of bending over if I'm the one she's leading around.

Anyway, I'm sure there will be plenty of stress and mess, but eventually things do get better. They move out and live on their own for a few months before coming back with a spouse and child! Just kidding. That doesn't always happen. You could catch a break. :)

Sort:  

lol. It's the parents' job to raise and discipline their kids--and it's the grandparents' job to spoil their grandkids. My dad used to be really strict when my siblings and I were kids. But, he spoils my son a lot as a granddad--which is a refreshing side of him I got to know.

I know that it will all be over soon because he will have a life of his own...but just the thought of it is already giving me separation anxiety. But then again, it's only normal for kids to stay with their parents until they have kids of their own in the Philippines. lol

I haven't quite made the spoiling stage yet. I play with her for a while, but I don't know that we've really managed to get away with a whole lot yet. I'm not the one buying her toys or new clothes or feeding her stuff she's not supposed to eat yet. That's Grandma. So, I don't know. Maybe I'll get my turn with the spoiling thing. I'm inclined to follow the wishes of my daughter-in-law first, and then see what happens after that. She's been good really good with her daughter so far, which includes some (not a lot) of indulgences. So, we'll see. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85