You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning to live without expectation

in #life6 years ago

This could end up getting really maudlin and Kierkegaard-ish, especially if I let Dead Can Dance accompany my typing...

Expectations. Not really related, for 15 years I kept shop and much of what we sold was blown glass and handmade pottery we shipped all over the world. I had expectations that my packing would be good enough that everything would arrive in one piece because thousands of buyers had expectations that it would be so. I know what that unpacking feels like...

I believe I have fairly successfully settled into a state of not expecting anything... in spite of naysayers who insist that "If you expect nothing, that's precisely what you'll get: NOTHING." To which I counter than maybe I expect nothing, but that doesn't mean I don't hope for something. Expectations and hopes are related... and yet quite different.

Sort:  

Yes, the grand trilogy is: "Faith Hope and Love", NOT: "Faith *Expectation and Love".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87